We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable accommodation!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of River Retreat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added River Retreat to your Saves list
River Retreat
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   838 Puketona Road, Paihia, New Zealand (Formerly RiverRun Retreat)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 23 Paihia B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable accommodation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We arrived mid-afternoon, after driving from Waipoua Forest on the West Coast. Roger was busy with maintaining the extensive and very beautiful grounds, but soon appeared to welcome us, and offer a refreshing drink.

The guest rooms are in a separate wing of the architect designed building, and are connected by a covered walkway. There is direct, level access from the car parking space, so unloading/loading was easy. We stayed in the Garden Room which was well fitted out and had an innovative walk-in wardrobe/luggage space which was out of the way yet instantly accessible.

The bed was very comfortable and bathroom was well laid out with a great shower and twin hand-basins. There was a private deck on the East side of the room which overlooked a verdant green lawn with a variety of local fauna. The property is on a river front, so we were concerned about mosquitoes and other bugs, but there was an automatic citronella dispenser in the room and we had no mosquito/bug problems.

The delicious breakfasts were served in the common area in the main building. This is a wonderful open area, with striking curved beams and a magnificent view over the terraced grounds, down to the river.

Roger and Jan were a wonderful source of local knowledge, which they freely shared, and were genial hosts. They strongly recommended that we had a meal at “The Duke” (Duke of Marlborough, in Russell), which turned out to be excellent advice.

WiFi was available, and worked very well, plus there is also good Mobile Broadband coverage in the vicinity As we were staying for four nights, we also took the opportunity to use the washing machine in the common area – as it was sunny we chose to air dry our clothes on a drying rack that Roger kindly provided.

Very enjoyable accommodation!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We spent five nights at River Retreat, a good amount of time to tour the Bay of Islands, all of which are within driving distance. The room was spacious and immaculate set in a beautiful garden visited by many varieties of native birds, looking down to the Waitangi river. Our hosts Roger and Jan could not have been more kind and helpful, giving us a big breakfast each morning and helping us plan our day-trips. We even received a Christmas present! We thoroughly recommend this blissful retreat. Thanks to our hosts from Susan and Satish.

Room Tip: River room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Limerick, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

We were welcomed to the retreat by Roger who was hard at work manicuring his beautiful lawn. The fruit of Jan and Roger's labor is apparent both inside and outside the property which is as immaculate, as it is stunning. This type of detail one would normally expect in a five star hotel. I would highly recommend it for couples who appreciate the personal touch.

Room Tip: Book if you have your own transport to and from the town of Paihia
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanTurnbull, Owner at River Retreat, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Thank you so much. We really appreciate your recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

The most luxury B&B we've visited during our trip. Jan and Roger are wonderful hosts. The daily cooked breakfast was delicous with a great variety of fresh fruits! The calm room is genorously sized, in a seperat house. The garden is extremly beautiful and is localized next to waitangi river.
If you are looking for a quiet, lovely place in the surrounding of Paihia, this should be your first choice!
Florian & Kurt

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
centre france
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Arriving in the middle of Jan and Roger's lunch made no difference. We were warmly welcomed offered tea or coffee and shown our room. One of two purpose built ensuite rooms ours was decorated in white and green with lots of little touches such as chocolates by the bed, cookies in the jar and bath robes. The bed is comfortable, there is plenty of well designed storage for clothes and bags and a lovely place to sit out and enjoy the garden. The garden is huge with access to the river for bathing if you want. In the morning Roger cooks breakfast and chats about what to do in the area ( he'll even provide tomato ketchup if pushed!!) This is a great base as it's more or less in the middle between Paihai and Keri Keri. It's also within easy reach of ninety mile beach if you feel like a road trip up along the coast and back across country. In the evening Roger and Jan are always ready to help plan your day. We stayed here three nights and could have easily stayed longer.

Room Tip: One room has a view over the river the other is more private. Both are fitted out the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Roger and Jen were very lovely hosts and the location and setting is just serene and lovely. They make sure all the comforts of home are there for you to enjoy and no stone is left unturned in the detail including chocolates by the bed and a luffa cloth in the bathroom. Brilliant spot of heaven when travelling in the Bay of Islands. All there suggestions for dinners and excursions proved the best. You cannot do wrong. I'll defiantly book again next trip up North.

Room Tip: All rooms (Only 2) are great. Great breakfasts
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

My husband and I and our dear friend enjoyed an amazing stay at the River Retreat B&B. beautiful setting with all the luxuries that you would expect at a five star lodge. As per the other comments the only negative is location but as long as you have a car it's not a problem.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to River Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Retreat

Address: 838 Puketona Road, Paihia, New Zealand (Formerly RiverRun Retreat)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — River Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magical riverside setting, private and tranquil. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your River Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Retreat Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.