We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ten out of ten!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of River Retreat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added River Retreat to your Saves list
River Retreat
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   838 Puketona Road, Paihia, New Zealand (Formerly RiverRun Retreat)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 24 Paihia B&B and Inns
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Ten out of ten!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

My husband and I and our dear friend enjoyed an amazing stay at the River Retreat B&B. beautiful setting with all the luxuries that you would expect at a five star lodge. As per the other comments the only negative is location but as long as you have a car it's not a problem.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

My partner and I have just had a fantastic weekend at the River retreat. Not being regular b&b people we are now convinced as it offer so much more than a hotel or motel. The rooms are just luxury and being semi detached from the house (connected by covered glass walkway) they are very private. The place offers more than you would expect. We even went kayaking down the Waitangi river on kayaks supplied. Not only was the property stunning (river, gardens, birds) but the hosts were so friendly and knowledgeable on everything in the area. We had a great breakfast in the morning and a wonderful chat and glass of wine on the decks with Jan and Roger( the hosts) in the evening. Couldn't recommend highly enough

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

My partner and I stayed at this stunning boutique bed and breakfast as a last minute, spontaneous decision whilst in Paihia. We were given such a warm welcome by Roger and Jan who went out of their way to ensure we were relaxed and catered for. The rooms were really special with small, gorgeous touches that were thoughtful like a jar of homemade biscuits and an eiderdown duvet. The place was immaculate, homely and impressive all in one go. The breakfasts were delicious too. The whole experience was outstanding and great value for money. It is further out from Paihia but well worth the extra 10 minute drive to experience such a tranquil little haven.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

What an amazing place. My girlfriend and I stayed here just after a new year. We dont normally stay in b and b's but due to the amount of them in the area we tried this one and we werent dissapointed. The rooms were detached from the house so you had your own space. Waking up to the view from river room was amazing in itself. Roger and Jan made us feel like we friends who had come to stay for a couple of days, going out of their way to make us feel comfortable. The only thing I could pick was that the traffic noise does get up a bit during the day but you cant hear anything at night. I guess it was also peak holiday season too. Location was great too. Far enough out but close enough to town. I high reccomend anyone to stay here!

Room Tip: Go for the river view room if you can get it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

We stayed in the Garden room for my wife's birthday visit to Paihia and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The rooms are very well appointed and Roger and Jan open their gorgeous home for a fantastic breakfast each morning and lovely chat. They are excellent hosts and could not do more to make us feel welcome and help point us to interesting local attractions. River Run is ideally suited to access Paihia or to head north and visit KeriKeri and beyond for day trips. We would certainly recommend this B&B for your next stay north.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2010

Hi, just got back from a fantastic weekend in the BOI, great weather for labour weekend every day (for a change) and good cos' we were touring on motorbikes. Just wanted to put a word in for the accommodation that we stayed at which was River Run Retreat, absolutely great. They do have website but I can tell you that we (2 couples) loved the place it really is a bit of luxury and the hosts are really nice and friendly, couldn't do enough to help us. It's not in central Paihia, but not too far out, maybe 7 - 10 minutes, so tranquil too. We woke in the morning to the sounds of birds and the sheep from across the river, magic!!. If you're looking for a special spot to stay you won't go wrong with this place. The main house is seperate from the guest accommodation, but you go through a covered walkway to the house for breakfast, just in case the weather isn't great. Plenty of parking too

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to River Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Retreat

Address: 838 Puketona Road, Paihia, New Zealand (Formerly RiverRun Retreat)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — River Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magical riverside setting, private and tranquil. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your River Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Retreat Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.