We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunseeker Cottages Motel

Save Saved
You added Sunseeker Cottages Motel to your Saves list
Sunseeker Cottages Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sunseeker Cottages Motel
4 Ash Grove Circle, off Puketona Rd | 5 minutes drive Paihia, Paihia 0247, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Paihia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“What a gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

We needed two bedroom accommodation (2 couples holidaying together) , which was a little difficult to find in Paihia. We found and booked this place online as all the photos looked fine, but we were a little worried as the price seemed too good and we've been caught before with websites not showing the true picture.

However, I was tempted not to write this review as we would love to keep this little gem to ourselves. It really is as good as it looks on its website.

On check-in Jill was very friendly with plenty of advice on what to do in the area. The cottages are wonderful little homes and we really appreciated touches like the gas bbq on the veranda. The only improvement that could be made is air-conditioning. Thoughtfully two fans are provided but they only circulate the very warm air. Please Jill, aircon would make these cottages perfect.

We will certainly stay here again and will tell all of our freinds of this great find.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Herefordshire
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We found this lovely place through the owners of the Ash Grove Motel which is next door. We had been very disappointed by our original booking in Paihia and decided not to stay. The two bedroom cottage was a godsend and as different from the first place as could be and all at the same price.

Jill was so welcoming and when we saw the cottage we were absolutely delighted. It was beautifully appointed with good quality furnishings, a lovely sun deck and space under to hang washing. We were able to borrow DVDs free of charge and there was also free Wifi. The views across the hills were magificent and it was only a few minutes drive into Paihia and the local shops.

It was an real pleasure staying there and I would definitely come again if holidaying in the area.

Thanks Jill for making our stay in Paihia perfect. Chris, Jade & Charlie

Room Tip: All four cottages have wonderful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Great value immaculate cozy cottages. The only down side (plus for us) is it is 5 mins out of town, quiet and peaceful. Great warm friendly service our hosts could not do enough for us. the cottages are superb and great value. Lovely hot and strong showers, something we haven't had often on our trip to date. Well stocked kitchen with good knives ( we like cooking). Perfect!

Room Tip: Last two not applicable
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Great apartment, jill was really helpful, really clean with lots of extras and a great terrace BBQ.
Kids loved the playarea!! Good laundry facilities.
When we are in paihia again, we will be back! Tony, Holly, Charlie & Esther

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

We stayed at Sunseeker for 2 weeks in mar/april 2012 and was so impressed with the cleanliness and amenities offered we would have no hesitation in recommending any of our friends to stay there.The two bedroom units are more than adequate for a long holiday as everything conceivable item needed to make our stay comfortable was there. Jill the owner could not do enough to help and was very knowledgable in recommending places of interest. With wireless internet it meant while being a long way from home you were always able to keep in contact with friends and family. The units are ideally situated being away from the busy town of Paihia but conveniently close enough to pop down to shop and enjoy a meal.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jillsunseeker, Owner at Sunseeker Cottages Motel, responded to this review, June 10, 2012
Thanks so much for your review. It was a pleasure to have you stay.
I trust the rest of your trip was enjoyable also
Hope you can come this way again one day.!
Kindest Regards Jill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

We stayed two nights at the Sunseeker cottages while attending a wedding in Feb 2012 as a couple plus 7 month old baby.

The cottages are modern Lockwood type construction two bedroom units with plenty of space. Furnishings are comfortable.

The manager was really helpful and found an excellent babysitter for our son while we were at the wedding reception.

You will need a car however as the cottages are about 5 min drive from Paihia.

Would definately recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights at Sunseeker in January 2012 and were really impressed with the 2 bedroom spacious units, the cleanliness, lovely facilities and helpfulness of Jill the owner who offered to help with advise on local attractions. The location is only a few minutes from Paihia and in a nice quiet area. Our young kids loved the playground. Overall our family were wrapped with the location, price and service provided. We would recommend Sunseeker as a great place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunseeker Cottages Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunseeker Cottages Motel

Address: 4 Ash Grove Circle, off Puketona Rd | 5 minutes drive Paihia, Paihia 0247, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 separate private self-contained cottages. Ideal for a longer stays. Two bedroom, queen in one bedroom, and two singles in smaller second bedroom. Sleeps 2 - 4 and 1 child on couch. Additional d=fee for extra persons over 2. Full kitchens, incl Fridge/Freezer, and full oven. 32" LCD TV, CD, DVD (no Sky) Large private outdoor deck with rural veiws. Outdoor table and chairs and BBQ. Great for families. Children’s playground. No daily maid service. Private and set well back from road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Sunseeker Cottages Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunseeker Cottages Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunseeker Cottages Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.