We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely staff at Jimmy Jack´s” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jimmy Jack's Rib Shack

Jimmy Jack's Rib Shack
9 Williams Rd, Paihia, New Zealand
09-402-5002
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 47 Restaurants in Paihia
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Östersund Sweden
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely staff at Jimmy Jack´s”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Excellent food and superb service from the staff. The ribs are huge and the burgers are really tasty. I loved the Tui ale beer.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    203
    78
    21
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Great ribs, refectory cooked, great atmosphere and excellent service. This restaurant is very popular so don't forget to book. We booked about midday on the same day and had no difficulty. However with no booking, many were asked to wait.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Ok, but nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

We were a party of five and three of us had ribs and the two kids had items off the kids menu. While no one was complaining about the food, none of us were blown away either. Two of us had half racks of ribs and one had a full rack. Of the four 1/2 racks served, only one was really juicy and good. The other three were drier and not that great. We watched the people at the table next to us have a lot of trouble getting their drinks and we waited ages to get the water we asked for twice. The kids enjoyed their meal and the wait staff was nice enough, but I can't really recommend the place.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Meat Lovers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

If you are after a total meat feast, this place is for you. They do BBQ ribs like no one else.
If size matters that is the place to go!! Bigger is better there. The staff are friendly and funny.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Good value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Ribs are excellent! Service is casual but good. Like the atmosphere. Very good value for money. We came here for a late night snack and the place was packed. We could not get a table straight away but staff offered us to have some drinks by the bar while we wait for a table. Minutes later we were escorted to a table and we had one the best meal (in Paihia). We thoroughly enjoyed the ribs and liked that we were offered drinks as soon as our glasses were empty. Thank you to the team of Jimmy Jack's Rib Shack!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jimmy Jack's Rib Shack also viewed

 
Paihia, Bay of Islands
 

Been to Jimmy Jack's Rib Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jimmy Jack's Rib Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.