We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good way to spend an evening” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Darryl's Dinner Cruise

Darryl's Dinner Cruise
Paihia Wharf, Paihia, New Zealand
64 9 402 7127
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 38 activities in Paihia
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Enjoy a leisurely two-and-a-half hour cruise up the Waitangi River as you dine in style on board the unique 'Ratanui'. Join Darryl and his friendly crew for a calm-water cruise to the gorgeous Haruru Falls. Marvel at the abundant bird life and historic points of interest, and relax as you take in the tranquil beauty of your surroundings with a sumptious dinner as the sun goes down.
Arrowtown, New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good way to spend an evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

It was my dad's 80th birthday week, so rather than spending another night in the unit or in the restaurant we went for a cruise. Initially I was a bit suspect, as the boat isn't exactly lavish, but the two staff were very friendly, capable and communicative.

My only suggestion would be some better wine options or take your own!

We hopped off having had a fun evening and having learnt a little more about Paihia and the local wild life.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    6
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baulkham Hills, Australia
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Levely Evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012 via mobile

We booked this after spending a day apart (Lady went dolphin watching and I went scuba diving) so it was great to be together. Grabbing a bottle from the local (good suggestion if you enjoy a good wine), we boarded and there being just 11 guests it was a wonderful entertaining evening with simple but tasty food. Guy view average, her view wonderful and romantic. Not cheap however eating out in NZ seems to cost us $50-80 per head anyway so it was OK value.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerikeri, New Zealand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Fun, interesting, and delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

We've been meaning to go on the Dinner Cruise for ages; we recommend it to visitors, but we've never quite got round to it ourselves. But it was Laura's birthday last week, so we thought we's get it booked. And it was just as well we booked; it was packed!

The boat has been well designed from a long "cat" to be stable, spacious, and with all-round views. The Cruise lasts about 3 1/2 hours, goes from Paihia wharf, under the Waitangi bridge and up the mangrove-lined river to Haruru falls, returning via the Copthorne to drop off any guests there, then back to Paihia. Throughout the trip, Darryl could be relied upon for information, wit, and drinks, never sounding like he has done this same trip for 15 years (even though he has!).

The food is cooked to order; after a self-serve appetizer of mussels and prawns with garlic toast, the main course is Fish, Rack of Lamb or T-Bone steaks, barbequed to your own liking. And it was excellent; served with Kumera, Potato, and huge salads, it was plenty for everyone.

Whilst the cost is quite steep ($95 per head), I suspect it does reflect the high cost of providing a mobile floating restaurant, really good produce, really helpful and attentive staff, and an excellent experience!

We would certainly go again, especially with overseas visitors; it's a great way of seeing this little bit of coastline.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Genuine good fun!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

This had been pitched to me as a 'romantic dinner cruise' by my hubby so I was initially disappointed BUT once on board and the trip got underway it turned out to be one of our most memorable nights in NZ. We met lost of lovely, interesting people from all over the world. It was a wonderfully hosted cruise - the staff were lively, engaging and got everyone in going. The food was simple (BBQ lamb or fish, potatos and salads), but yum! And we got to see the falls from their best angle - the water, (the falls otherwise really aren't the spectacular - as one Latin American chappy said, 'These is not so big a falls!'). A great one for people of all ages. FYI you can BYO wine for a measley $3 corkage - worth going out to Marsdens during the day and stocking up!

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful cruise, wonderful secenery, wonderful food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

We spent a great few hours in Paihia on a lunchtime cruise meandering in & out of all of the islands & bays of the Waitangi River. Darryls boat is quite flat bottomed so can cruise even in very shallow water, which gave us the opportunity to get great views both on the water & of the many homes & vineyards nestled in the valleys leading down to the water. We also had a look at the oyster farms (which we later sampled at dinner, yum!). The lunch cruise take about 2.5 to 3 hours, & are so relaxing. Although Mike & Mike :) the crew that day managed to share a lot of interesting information, they did it in a very natural chatty style rather than keeping up the type of running commentary that can be annoying on this type of cruise. The real bonus was the lovely lunch they cooked for us, most unexpected because for the price of the cruise ($55 per adult) we had expected something of the 'sausage & salad' variety. Instead we had the choice of venison, deep sea fish or rack of lamb served with both hot vegetables and salad. There were 4 of us & we all agreed the food was excellent. Instead of returning to Paihia with the boat, we took the option of getting off in Russell for the afternoon & then used the ferry ticket that was included in the cruise fare to return to Paihia later in the day. We thouroughly enjoyed the cruise, thanks Mike & Mike!

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Darryl's Dinner Cruise also viewed

Paihia, Bay of Islands
Paihia, Bay of Islands
 
Paihia, Bay of Islands
 

Been to Darryl's Dinner Cruise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Darryl's Dinner Cruise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Darryl's Dinner Cruise to your Saves list