We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Bay of Islands Holiday Apartments and Campervan Park Ltd to your Saves list
Bay of Islands Holiday Apartments and Campervan Park Ltd
3.5 of 5 Villa   |   52 Puketona Road ( Black Bridge Road), Paihia 0204, New Zealand (Formerly Waiora)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
3 Nights stay for $ of 2
Ranked #6 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Greater London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent site”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2015

Visited 6th and 7th February. Lovely site. Very near treaty grounds and ferry to Russell. Excellent showers and facilities however a hairdryer in the showers would be useful. Very helpful staff. Loved the ducks and chicks waddling across from the pond.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary L, Owner at Bay of Islands Holiday Apartments and Campervan Park Ltd, responded to this review, April 5, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review us; we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
14
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

We were rapt when we were shown our apartment with amazing views and bush clad surroundings. Felt like we were sleeping in the tree tops! And then we found the spa in the trees where we spent the evening under the stars with an owl swooping through the trees above us! Absolute Magic. We loved it so much and were so well looked after by the host Gary that we ended up staying twice as long as we initially planned!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary L, Owner at Bay of Islands Holiday Apartments and Campervan Park Ltd, responded to this review, March 17, 2015
Absolute pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us so much, thank you for taking the time to submit a review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015 via mobile

Large pitches and tall trees made this amongst the best sites we stayed at. Plenty of bird life on the park and on the river. Facilities not a good as many we stayed at and the men's urinals were out of action throughout our stay. Was however cheapest pitch price of our stay. Staff helpful about local attractions, the highlight being the treaty grounds.

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2015

Stayed in a studio apartment. Check-in was friendly and thorough, papers to sign and maps to look at, the host was also very good in explaning the layout of the property and the town, as well as giving instructions on using the apartment, including free WiFi.

Apartment is huge! The sleeping area has a queen size bed, good beddings, four pillows (two semi-firm and two soft), two bedside table with overhead lamps, a CD player, inside the wardrobe there is a removeable dyring rack and hangers.

The bathroom has a bath tub, glass shower box, heated drying rack, a hair dryer, and plenty of bench space. The cleaner's cupboard is right next to the bathroom with a vacuum cleaner, mop/bucket, etc, should they be needed.

The kitchen is very well equiped with a variety of cooking and dining utensils, pots and pan, glass measuring cup and mixing bowls, an electric kettle, a small fridge, an electric stove with two hotplates, a microwave oven, it also supplied tea/coffee sachets and salt/pepper sets.

The sitting area has two rattan arm chairs, a glass-top coffee table, medium size TV with cable channels, mounted-on-wall heater, and cushioned wooden sitting area.

The large balcony has a good gas BBQ, a round table and two chairs. There is a wooden wall separating the two apartments but it is possible to see/walk over to the next apartment (ie. no privacy).

Also hidden among the vegetation and steep/tight driveway, there is a spa pool for apartment guests to use.

The apartments are located at the back of the property with the office situated in between the campervan park and the apartments, although away from the main road (between Kerikeri and Paihia), traffic noise really take the tranquility out of the place. It doesn't help with the property is located right by the 100/50 speed limit sign, the sound of vehicles breaking or reving was a nuisance during my stay, thankfully the traffic noise quieten down at night.

The apartment was not 100% clean. The floor was greasy, perhaps this is due to pets being allowed at this property, I had to vacuum and mop the floor immediately after check-in. I should also note that the bedding smell like cooking, unfortunately not all the windows can be open to ventilate the place due to lack of mosquito mesh on them. There are only two mosquito mesh in the apartment - one on the small kitchen window and one on the bathroom window.

Speaking of which, do bring mosquito repellent! It was impossible to sit on the balcony after sunset otherwise.

Smoking is not allowed inside the apartment but was permitted on the balcony, it can be a nuisance for non-smokers when the occupants from the neighbouring apartment light up.

I would not stay at this property again.

Note on Paihia - the main parking lot behind Countdown/opposite Four Square on the town area may look free with a "P" sign but is a pay-and-display parking, it is not obvious to many as I saw parking tickets on almost half the cars.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary L, Owner at Bay of Islands Holiday Apartments and Campervan Park Ltd, responded to this review, March 17, 2015
Thank you very much for taking the time to submit such a thorough opinion, which I am sure future readers will find very useful. We have had a very busy summer this year and on occasion some smells may linger from a previous guests cooking though we do open up the room to freshen as we clean the apartment after each guest stay, we of course apologize that you had these concerns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalaheo, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2015

We stayed two nights here. Staff were pleasant and helpful. Location was great allowing us to walk into Paihai and explore then catch the ferry to Russell. Also only minutes from Waitangi treaty grounds. Shower and toilets kept tidy. Place for washing dishes wax also provided so we didn't have to use our camper van water. Definitely recommend this place

Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary L, Owner at Bay of Islands Holiday Apartments and Campervan Park Ltd, responded to this review, February 9, 2015
Thank you for your great review - we really appreciate it
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2015

My partner and I we just reflecting on holiday to New Zealand during 2014 which we spent three great weeks traveling New Zealand in a camper van and without doubt this was the best caravan park we stayed at. Our only regret is we didn't put a review on sooner.

Upon our arrival we were greeted by Lesley's happy smiley face and her genuine interest in people came across throughout our two night stopover. She gave us a tour of the facilities and offered us a choice of pitches we would like to suit our personal needs. (Cleanliness was excellent and consistent across the park).

In terms of value for money it was fantastic and the best for value in area as we checked out all of them out first. It was the only caravan park which offered free WIFI (others charged) which has excellent speed.

There was a small charge for the shower but I genuinely think this was to conserve the amount of water rather than make a few dollars, also take into consideration it is still cheaper than other caravan parks in the area. The facilities were clean and consistently so throughout the day too.

Location was a short stroll to the beech and the across the road is a huge supermarket which is perfect for camping so you can pick up a few things for the BBQ and of course sample the New Zealand wines.

We cannot thank you enough Lesley and team for a very welcoming stay and hope to see you again on a return trip to New Zealand, your caravan park is on our list!!!

Mark & Darren

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary L, Owner at Bay of Islands Holiday Apartments and Campervan Park Ltd, responded to this review, January 11, 2015
Thank you so much for your fabulous review - we really appreciate you taking the time - and especially that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Unfortunatly the Supermarket opposite us is currently closed and there is no news on if and when it might reopen. Future guests may choose to shop before getting to Paihia, the small Countdown is good but sometimes is running out of supplies.

We do find that the $2 charge for a good 5 minute shower works for most guests and allows them to be available as we do only have 2.

We look forward to welcoming you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

This is a nice campground. Clean bathrooms and sites.

The wifi is free but you have to get a voucher from the staff every time you run out of data. We stayed four nights and needed to do this four different times.

Showers are $2 and there is no separate indoor kitchen facilities for campers. The only cooking area is a little outdoor area with two tables and three BBQ's. It rained quite a bit during our stay so we found this a bit wet and cold. It was our first NZ stayed and we eventually found out that most campgrounds have a full keep kitchen facilities.

In the end I would say this is pretty average for campers and may only be good for one night stopovers. I think the high rating is due to the quality of their apartments. These are separate from the campground and seem pretty good based on the reviews.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary L, Owner at Bay of Islands Holiday Apartments and Campervan Park Ltd, responded to this review, November 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our site, we appreciate it.

We have owned the site for just over a year, and are aware of the demand for a full service kitchen to supplement the facilities in most campervans and our BBQ's - and plan to do that. We do mention to guests arriving that we don't currently have a kitchen and some choose to move on accordingly.

Internet until recently has been limited by our suppliers maximum provision, and generally we have found 500mb per free wifi voucher to be adequate for most guests - however we have recently secured a data capacity upgrade and so will be able to offer larger data amounts in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Bay of Islands Holiday Apartments and Campervan Park Ltd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay of Islands Holiday Apartments and Campervan Park Ltd

Address: 52 Puketona Road ( Black Bridge Road), Paihia 0204, New Zealand (Formerly Waiora)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bay of Islands Holiday Apartments and Campervan Park Ltd 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bay of Islands Holiday Apartments & Campervan Park is located in Paihia, offering easy access to all of the Bay of Islands charms. It has an outdoor hot tub set in a private bush setting. All modern apartments at Waiora feature polished wooden flooring and a stainless steel kitchen. The bedrooms are spacious and the bathrooms feature hairdryers and heated towel rails. All rooms include a stereo, CD player and TV. Most apartments also have a private balcony. Wi-Fi internet access and free car parking is available. Bay of Islands Holiday Apartments are set amongst beautiful gardens in a quiet location. Well behaved dogs are welcome. The property is 450 metres from Paihia Beach, ideal for sunbathing and safe swimming. The ferry to Russell departs from the village whar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Bay of Islands Holiday Apartments and Campervan Park Ltd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Of Islands Holiday Apartments And Campervan Park Ltd Paihia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay of Islands Holiday Apartments and Campervan Park Ltd, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.