We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed four nights in Spaceship” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bay of Islands Holiday Apartments and Campervan Park Ltd

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Bay of Islands Holiday Apartments and Campervan Park Ltd to your Saves list
Bay of Islands Holiday Apartments and Campervan Park Ltd
3.5 of 5 Villa   |   52 Puketona Road ( Black Bridge Road), Paihia 0204, New Zealand (Formerly Waiora)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Paihia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Stayed four nights in Spaceship”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

This is a nice campground. Clean bathrooms and sites.

The wifi is free but you have to get a voucher from the staff every time you run out of data. We stayed four nights and needed to do this four different times.

Showers are $2 and there is no separate indoor kitchen facilities for campers. The only cooking area is a little outdoor area with two tables and three BBQ's. It rained quite a bit during our stay so we found this a bit wet and cold. It was our first NZ stayed and we eventually found out that most campgrounds have a full keep kitchen facilities.

In the end I would say this is pretty average for campers and may only be good for one night stopovers. I think the high rating is due to the quality of their apartments. These are separate from the campground and seem pretty good based on the reviews.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary L, Owner at Bay of Islands Holiday Apartments and Campervan Park Ltd, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to review our site, we appreciate it.

We have owned the site for just over a year, and are aware of the demand for a full service kitchen to supplement the facilities in most campervans and our BBQ's - and plan to do that. We do mention to guests arriving that we don't currently have a kitchen and some choose to move on accordingly.

Internet until recently has been limited by our suppliers maximum provision, and generally we have found 500mb per free wifi voucher to be adequate for most guests - however we have recently secured a data capacity upgrade and so will be able to offer larger data amounts in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

Stayed in apartment 4 for 3 nights. 2 of us and our 1 year old Staffy. Very easy walk to town. Next door to Action World - ideal for families.

An olive grove/camping ground form the lower end of the park. Pay-as-you-go showers and laundry. Main office is here - as is the main refuse/recycling area. BBQ area next to the nearby pond.

Landscaped gardens and native bushes rise up the slope forming the upper end of the park. The 5 apartments are situated amongst this bush land. The owners and their dog reside in the house at the top of the park. There is a separate and complimentary laundry for apartment guests. There is an outdoor spa, running at all hours, which is also exclusively for the use of apartment guests. All apartments have their own BBQs.

At the bottom of the hill are apartments 5, 1 and 2. Shared front yard. 1 and 2 are adjoined. Ample parking. The apartment guest laundry is located between these 2 buildings.

Further up the hill are apartments 3 and 4, which are again adjoined. These are king studio apartments. Bed can be split into 2 if need be. Balcony is only blocked approximately 2/3 of the way so is good for 2 couples who wish to have their own living quarters but share the outdoor area. As it was only us 2 and our dog, we chose to block this gap on the balcony with the BBQ. This was more about keeping our dog contained than not wanting to mingle with our neighbours.

Bay window seating in TV lounge/coffee area. Heat pump also. Bathroom has separate bathtub and shower, heated towel rail and extra large vanity. Optional mesh windows in the bathroom and kitchen help to keep the bugs out and the apartment well-ventilated. Kitchen is well equipped. Range hood, ceramic cooktop, microwave, fridge etc. There is an oil heater with laundry-drier attachment in addition to an a-frame laundry airer.

All-in-all, we would highly recommend this place. I could imagine returning here with my dozens and dozens of extended family members and book out the ENTIRE complex! So great that they welcomed our dog as well! We are already imagining out next visit. Thanks so much!

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary L, Owner at Bay of Islands Holiday Apartments and Campervan Park Ltd, responded to this review, October 30, 2014
WOW!! Thank you so much for taking the time to put forward such a comprehensive review of our Apartments & Campervan Park - we really appreciate it. As you have covered, we are doing our best to see things from our guests perspective and make the environment as comfortable as possible. And of course super pleased you like it so much! You have given us an idea - we have some child Stair Gates - we can offer those for future guests to 'plug the gap' on the balconies between apartments when they have dogs. All the best, hope to welcome you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

We stayed for 6 nights in October, we could not have been happier, We got a lovely welcome from Lesley, the room was better than shown on the web site, quiet, lovely bushland setting, the deck with bbq was a bonus, friendly staff, we could not fault this place, we didn't wanna leave.
Easy walking distance to town and pier, just an all round great place for a holiday.
Thanks Tony & Maureen

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary L, Owner at Bay of Islands Holiday Apartments and Campervan Park Ltd, responded to this review, October 30, 2014
Thank you Tony & Maureen for a fabulous review, after 6 days and nights you really had chance to check out any foibles we might have; so we we are really pleased you enjoyed it so much. Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2014

We stayed at the Bay Of Islands apartments for 3 nights in a 1 bedroom apartment. I wasn't sure what to expect, as it had great reviews, but seemed to cheap to be so good. We were so pleasantly surprised. The apartment was wonderful. It is two levels, with 3 single beds in the room beneath the main room, which had the kitchen, dining, king size bed, and the bathroom. The bathroom was very spacious and modern. The dining area was great, and we loved the window seats where we could sit and watch the rain come down (ah, NZ weather!) the kitchen was reasonably well equipped, although missing a couple of key items (potato masher and peeler....) Free wifi, with a really good connection. Good location, opposite a Countdown. It is a few km's from the main part of Paihia, but I think that is one of the reasons why the price was so good. We didn't get a full service each day, which was fine with us. They did come and empty the rubbish though. Full suite of sky channels. Fantastic balcony space with a BBQ. Great for pre dinner nibbles and drinks if the weather is good.

Absolutely 100% recommended. Reckon it would be crazy busy in Summer!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary L, Owner at Bay of Islands Holiday Apartments and Campervan Park Ltd, responded to this review, September 21, 2014
Thank you for your fabulous review.

We'll go and inventory check the apartments - there certainly should be a potato masher and peeler, they must've been 'moved' and we haven't spotted they were missing.

Our rates are like airline seats, they go up and down according to demand - and as you travelled in our quieter season we offer what we hope are attractive rates. We hope to welcome you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paihia, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

We three sisters needed nice, central accommodation in Paihia. After having this property recommended, we booked an apartment for two nights. Two beds upstairs and three downstairs -
perfect. The apartment was delightful, deck off the lounge area with a barbeque, TV with SKY including movie channels. Very roomy and tastefully furnished, huge bathroom, with bath and shower, full facilities heatpump downstairs and very effective heater upstairs. The tropical gardens (from our deck) were well maintained, beautiful and private. Our hosts were unobtrusive, friendly and available.

Thank you very much Gary and Lesley, your standards are very high and we loved staying with you.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary L, Owner at Bay of Islands Holiday Apartments and Campervan Park Ltd, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Thank you very much for your great review - it was great meeting you. We're very pleased you 3 sisters had such a great re-union; and enjoyed the Apartment so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Stopped here with my family in two campervans for a couple of days. First up..lovely people, very helpful and friendly! Great location as you can walk to town or the Treaty Grounds. Nice size pitches and top loos and showers although limited in quantity. Would visit again.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary L, Owner at Bay of Islands Holiday Apartments and Campervan Park Ltd, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Hi Peter, thanks for the great review - glad you enjoyed the facilities. Our powerful gas showers have a 5 minute limit and are a great size - so we find that our guests are very happy with them, but don't linger too long. Over the next summer peak season we are going to hire in some extra facilities to ensure folk dont have to wait too long. Hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Top Contributor
475 reviews 475 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We spent one night here last week in our campervan. Great site amongst the olive trees. Hosts were very welcoming and helpful. Nice to get a discount being a NZMCA member. Nice roomy site that was near to amenities. Free wifi which was great. Showers are huge and spotlessly clean. I think they are the biggest showers I have seen in a camp. Very close to supermarket (across the road almost). Only about 15 mins walk to Treat Grounds and a little furtner to the main shopping area of Paihia. Great beach only a few mins walk away. Road could be a little noisey/busy at times as it is the road through to Kerikeri, but not a problem. Nice to have water available right outside the motorhome, which many camps do not have. A great camp and great hosts.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary L, Owner at Bay of Islands Holiday Apartments and Campervan Park Ltd, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Thank you very much for a great review - we appreciate you taking the time; and also of course that you enjoyed the amenities and ambiance of the site. I hope we will see you again - we will continue to make improvements as time goes along.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bay of Islands Holiday Apartments and Campervan Park Ltd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay of Islands Holiday Apartments and Campervan Park Ltd

Address: 52 Puketona Road ( Black Bridge Road), Paihia 0204, New Zealand (Formerly Waiora)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bay of Islands Holiday Apartments and Campervan Park Ltd 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bay of Islands Holiday Apartments & Campervan Park is located in Paihia, offering easy access to all of the Bay of Islands charms. It has an outdoor hot tub set in a private bush setting. All modern apartments at Waiora feature polished wooden flooring and a stainless steel kitchen. The bedrooms are spacious and the bathrooms feature hairdryers and heated towel rails. All rooms include a stereo, CD player and TV. Most apartments also have a private balcony. Wi-Fi internet access and free car parking is available. Bay of Islands Holiday Apartments are set amongst beautiful gardens in a quiet location. Well behaved dogs are welcome. The property is 450 metres from Paihia Beach, ideal for sunbathing and safe swimming. The ferry to Russell departs from the village whar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Bay of Islands Holiday Apartments and Campervan Park Ltd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Of Islands Holiday Apartments And Campervan Park Ltd Paihia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay of Islands Holiday Apartments and Campervan Park Ltd, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.