We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great campervan park, neary by to many activities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bay of Islands Holiday Apartments and Campervan Park Ltd

Save Saved
You added Bay of Islands Holiday Apartments and Campervan Park Ltd to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bay of Islands Holiday Apartments and Campervan Park Ltd
3.5 of 5 Villa   |   52 Puketona Road ( Black Bridge Road), Paihia, New Zealand (Formerly Waiora)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
3 for 2 Nights
Ranked #3 of 25 Specialty lodging in Paihia
Rotorua, New Zealand
Top Contributor
452 reviews 452 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
“Great campervan park, neary by to many activities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We spent one night here last week in our campervan. Great site amongst the olive trees. Hosts were very welcoming and helpful. Nice to get a discount being a NZMCA member. Nice roomy site that was near to amenities. Free wifi which was great. Showers are huge and spotlessly clean. I think they are the biggest showers I have seen in a camp. Very close to supermarket (across the road almost). Only about 15 mins walk to Treat Grounds and a little furtner to the main shopping area of Paihia. Great beach only a few mins walk away. Road could be a little noisey/busy at times as it is the road through to Kerikeri, but not a problem. Nice to have water available right outside the motorhome, which many camps do not have. A great camp and great hosts.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary L, Owner at Bay of Islands Holiday Apartments and Campervan Park Ltd, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you very much for a great review - we appreciate you taking the time; and also of course that you enjoyed the amenities and ambiance of the site. I hope we will see you again - we will continue to make improvements as time goes along.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed in the camp site among the olive groves in our campervan in April 2014. The site is lovely and the amenities were immaculately clean and well presented throughout our visit. The site has free wifi which worked perfectly and it was so nice to not be faffing about buying vouchers or setting up accounts with service providers to get Internet access like many of the other campsites. The site is in an ideal location a short walk from the main centre (most of the other sites we saw around Paihia were a long way out and would require us to yake the campervan into the centre each time wewanyed to go!) & the site also has a small supermarket a short walk away which was very convenient.The most notable thing though was the lovely couple who run this site. They were on hand whenever we needed them, helpful and chatty. They were willing to help with any excursion bookings but were not pushy with this like some of the other sites (especially some of the big name sites). This was also one of the most reasonably priced sites we stayed at. We would certainly recommend and hope to one day come back. Thank you!!! :)

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary L, Owner at Bay of Islands Holiday Apartments and Campervan Park Ltd, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you Hazel for your superb review of our site, we certainly are very pleased you enjoyed it so much. We are trying to offer all the things we have wanted on our own travels and offer them to our guests, and will keep improving the site and apartments as we go along
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

This is an excellent site! It's a gem set amidst tranquil olive groves. It is located 3 mins walk from Countdown and the Coffee shed (great coffee) by the Caltex garage. 5 mins walk to the beach and takeaway and an easy 10 min approx walk to Paihia and foot ferry to Russell. We walked to the Treaty grounds in about 15 mins.

There is an amazing children's playground next door with climbing and trapeze type equipment and giant slide. Not connected to the site.

We looked at the apartments and they are very well furnished and beautifully kept.

There is UNLIMITED free internet! The toilets, shower and laundry facilities are well kept. There is a covered BBQ area with 3/4 BBQs .

We had the most restful holiday aided by a most helpful campsite team. The sites are bordered by olives which gives you a feeling of your own space. Well worth a visit!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary L, Owner at Bay of Islands Holiday Apartments and Campervan Park Ltd, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
It was great tp meet you and your wife Patrick, as well as Jasper the dog! Thank you for your great review here; we very much appreciate it. Hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matakohe, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Wow what a lovely spot away from it all with heaps for children to do. The cabins were spotless and well laid out. Can't fault it. There was a lovely park, flying fox and great little playgound for children. Very impressive.

Room Tip: Any of the cabins or studios are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary L, Owner at Bay of Islands Holiday Apartments and Campervan Park Ltd, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you very much for your great review. We are lucky to have Action World next door - they provide great entertainment for children of all Ages. Great to learn circus trapeze skills.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We stayed in a studio holiday apartment for 2 nights and thought the place amazing! Not to spoil for anyone else but this place is charging well under what they should be. The cleanliness and space of the apartment was first class and was by far the best place we've stayed in New Zealand so far (in 6 wks!). The balcony along with the furniture and bbq was an added bonus. A perfect place to chill out while my husband went diving for the day, gutted to have left ; ( Clean, modern, spacious, lovely hosts, laundry, internet,, what more could you want.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waiora_valley, Owner at Bay of Islands Holiday Apartments and Campervan Park Ltd, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank you for your great review - we appreciate it. Very glad you had a great stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

We recently booked a summer holiday for 7 nights to visit the Bay of Islands. The apartment was spacious, very comfortable, tastfully fitted out and everything you would need for a holiday for 2 people (or family). Our hosts Lesley and Gary were most helpful with sugestions of day trips and restaurants in the area. What a delightful couple. The apartments set in beautiful gardens are located near a large supermarket and walking distance to the water. It is a good 20 minute walk to the main Paihai centre, a beautiful walk on walking paths along the Bay. We recommend this accomodation. Thank you again for making our holiday comfortable, relaxing and memorable.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waiora_valley, Owner at Bay of Islands Holiday Apartments and Campervan Park Ltd, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to offer Trip Advisor a review, we appreciate it. It was a pleasure to play a small part in helping you relax and enjoy your precious week away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We decided to stay here driving straight from Auckland after arriving from the Uk. The long drive was well worth it. Fabulous little log cabin with absolutely everything you could wish for (including free Wifi, a laundry with drying area and extra outside wc!!)
Extremely comfortable and spacious for the 4 adults in our party.

Both Lesley and Gary came to introduce themselves and stopped for a chat to ensure we had all that we needed. Brilliant hosts, a credit to the park.
Great value for money too and we loved the personal postcard and hand made sweet treats that greeted us on arrival!! (Milk was also greatly appreciated too)
We'll be back and will definitely recommend you. Thanks alot again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waiora_valley, Owner at Bay of Islands Holiday Apartments and Campervan Park Ltd, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our Apartments - we appreciate it. You seemed to have a great multi - nation get together :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bay of Islands Holiday Apartments and Campervan Park Ltd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay of Islands Holiday Apartments and Campervan Park Ltd

Address: 52 Puketona Road ( Black Bridge Road), Paihia, New Zealand (Formerly Waiora)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 Specialty lodging in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bay of Islands Holiday Apartments and Campervan Park Ltd 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Far from the pace of the city, Bay of Islands Holiday Apartments sit on a gentle hillside in Paihia with views over the beautiful Bay of Islands.PAIHIA LUXURY HOLIDAY APARTMENTSJust minutes from Paihia’s main beach, and a gentle walk away from the town and wharf, we offer a warm hospitality and a tranquil atmosphere. It’s the simple, stylish touches that make Bay of Islands Holiday Apartments different. Polished wooden flooring, stainless steel kitchen facilities, and a modern sense of style combine to make us the perfect place to return to after a day out in the Bay of Islands sightseeing, or sunbathing on the beach. We offer a lovely Spa Pool set in the bush to iron out any remaining stress wrinkles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Tingo, Venere and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Bay of Islands Holiday Apartments and Campervan Park Ltd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Of Islands Holiday Apartments And Campervan Park Ltd Paihia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay of Islands Holiday Apartments and Campervan Park Ltd, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.