We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value for the area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aarangi Tui Motel

Aarangi Tui Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Aarangi Tui Motel to your Saves list
Aarangi Tui Motel
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   16 Williams Road, Paihia, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“good value for the area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

This is a basic no frills motel, staff are very helpful. It's ticks the boxes two bedroom units, ok kitchen , decent shower and decent sleep quality, and it's very clean.
The down side walls are little thin, we heard everything going on next door as they got up earlier than us.
Wifi is free but further away from the office you are the slower it gets, plus there are only a few free power points.
Location is only a few hundred yards from the front.

Room Tip: Get a room by the reception for good wifi
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athena6629, Owner at Aarangi Tui Motel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Hi, Thanks for your review and are glad to hear the positive points of the Aarangi Tui. We feel our location can't be beaten, being only a short flat stroll to town and the wharf, while being away from the busy waterfront road. I am sorry the guests next door disturbed you, unfortunately being a motel where rooms are adjoined this sometimes cannot be avoided. Please note however that one of our policies, which we strongly enforce, is no loud noise or visitors after 10pm. Thanks again, Rochine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    16
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
11
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bolton
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I booked this for a nights stay for my mum, over from the UK. She was going on a cruise from Pahia and needed 1 nights accommodation before. She was very pleased with the Tui and was pleasantly surprised with the quality "especially for a motel". We will be booking this again for the other in laws when they are over! Location, staff and room quality are superb...only negative...no iron, but i did remind her it is only a motel!!! Even though its a good one!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athena6629, Owner at Aarangi Tui Motel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Hi, We are glad your Mum enjoyed her stay at the Tui Motel, and apologise for the lack of information about our laundry. We should of explained to your mum that our laundry has a washing machine, dryer, iron and ironing board for our guests use. I hope she enjoyed her cruise and we look forward to hosting your other family members when they are here. Kind regards, Tony.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Good place to stay for Bay of Islands as Pier and small town of Paihia very close.
There were 5 of us so space a little tight, however the sofa bed is quite ok for a couple of days.
Trip to Russell is very good.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

A special thanks to Rochine from Gary from England. Thanks for a wonderful stay at your motel and making me feel extra special as a guest. Your motel was extremely clean and loved every minute i was there. I would recommend this motel for anyone coming to Paihia

Room Tip: any room!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athena6629, Owner at Aarangi Tui Motel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
A special thanks to Rochine from Gary from England. Thanks for a wonderful stay at your motel and making me feel extra special as a guest. Your motel was extremely clean and loved every minute i was there. I would recommend this motel for anyone coming to Paihia

Hi Gary, You are most welcome, we love it when a guest leaves as happy as you and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again when you are next back in New Zealand. Cheers! Rochine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwen
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Aarangi Tui Motel is situated very close to the pier with ferry boats over to Russell. The units are functional and comfortable. The hosts are more than happy to book trips which include Hole In The Rock cruises, swimming with dolphins, sailing, parasailing etc. and they do get advantageous rates. The motel is a flat walk to the sea with plenty of shops, cafes, eateries in that area. This is a good place to stay if you want to leave the car in a safe place while you go off on a trip.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

My family spent 2 days in Paihia and stayed at Aarangi Tui Motel as our base while we did some fun activities including The Rock! We had the most amazing time together in the clean, tidy, self contained unit. The owners were more than accomadating to us and had lots of knowledge and information to share with us to make our holiday more enjoyable! It is just a short walk to Paihia township and The Wharf. We would most definately stay here again and would very higly recommend to others. Thanks again for a very wonderful break away ...

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012 via mobile

Old, dated, tired furniture and beds. Basically the same fixtures and fittings as when built in the 80's, but with a fresh coat of paint. I've travelled to many places around the world and haven't come across such a mediocre establishment for quite some time. On the upside, it is well located and budget priced. But so are other better nearby hotels. Sadly v. Disappointed

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aarangi Tui Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aarangi Tui Motel

Address: 16 Williams Road, Paihia, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aarangi Tui Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Aarangi Tui Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aarangi Tui Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aarangi Tui Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.