We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fullers GreatSights Bay of Islands Day Tours

Fullers GreatSights Bay of Islands Day Tours
The Maritime Building | Paihia Waterfront, Paihia 1045, New Zealand
+64 9 402 7421
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 38 Activities in Paihia
Type: Tours, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Fullers GreatSights Bay of Islands offers Northland’s most comprehensive range cruises and tours. The Fullers name has been synonymous with cruises in the Bay of Islands since 1886. Today the passionate and knowledgeable local team are proud to showcase the wonders of the region including cruises to the famous “Hole in the Rock”, dolphin watching/swimming cruises and day tours to the Hokianga, Kerikeri, Russell and Cape Reinga via 90 Mile Beach.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Amazing!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Best Cream Trip ever!! we saw soooo many dolphins up close and they had a calf with them as well. We also saw orcas which where incredible. Even going crazy for food and coming so close to boats and people. Our captain was the best tour guide ever as well. Best trip ever on the 29th December 2013 and one that my family and I will never forget! Thank you so so much Fullers!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    287
    74
    22
    5
    10
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
india
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice way to see the Bay of Islands... But...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Went for the afternoon cruise... Even though we reaches half an hour in advance found it very difficult to find parking. All of the paid parking was full, street parking full, got shouted at by a rude lady for parking in a place that belonged to her little establishment... Offered to pay her but were rudely refused. Finally with mins to spare finally found one parking from where we had to run to catch the cruise. With two small kids it was a rush ! Wish Fullers could provide a paid parking area of their own.
The cruise itself was very crowded... All the viewing decks filled to its brim... Had to perch ourselves on a staircase for decent views.
However, was all smoothed out by the wonderful commentary by the captain who tried very hard to find some dolphins for us. Found a pod but so many ships hovering around that it was hard to catch a proper view.
But hats of to him for showing us wonderful views of the hole in the rock... Allowed for numerous photo ops.
He even took out extra time to find some more dolphins... But alas.... Not our lucky day !
A nice way to spend an afternoon cruising the islands...

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Cape Reigna Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

EX CELL ENT !! Did this 3rd January 2014: despite a slight problem with the coach (a 2 hour delay only 3 hours out of Paihia, NOT the drivers fault!) all on board had a great day. Weather fantastic, Cape Reigna unbelievable, sand-boarding, a 60 mile beach ride in the coach, Puketi Kauri Forest awesome. Chris (our driver) very knowledgeable, MADE the day, especially when he got the different nationalities to sing THEIR national anthems..... especially the U.S. of A 'Star Spangled Banner' by Veronica !

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Dolphin Eco experience-dissapionted”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

I was very dissapointed. We booked this trip thinking we would be swimming with wild Dolphins but instead just zoomed round the bay of islands for 4 hours! We found dolphins but we was not allowed to swim with them. Apparently if there's a youngster under 3 around you can't get in the water, as there are lots of dolphins in the bay I think we would be lucky if there wasn't a youngster around, also if you see the same pod twice in one trip your not allowed to stop, you can't bother the dolphins from 11.30 til 1.30 as they have a dolphin lunch break??? And only 3 charter boats at a time are allowed near the dolphins.
If I knew all this I wouldn't have bothered wasting my money as the odds are against you! In fact I would have asked what percentage of trips does actually get to go into the water with them.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FGSBOI, Manager at Fullers GreatSights Bay of Islands Day Tours, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Hello BridgetG916,

We are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your tour and that swimming with wild dolphins was not possible on your trip. The reasons that you outlined above as to why you were unable to swim (given to you by the crew) are those stipulated by DOC and are a condition of our dolphin license: we cannot swim with dolphins when they have juveniles and we do indeed give the dolphins a "lunch break" between 11.30 and 13.00.

DOCs guidelines are for the protection of the 500 dolphins that make their home here in the Bay of Islands, and to ensure that they continue to do so.

We wish you happy and safe travels,
Warm Regards,
Rachel and the team at Fullers GreatSights.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taree
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“New Zealand Coach Tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We barely made it away from Paihia when the boat had a mechanical failure and we limped over to Russel where we sat for over an hour while it was repaired. This along with an extremely low tide meant that we didn't get our planned Island stop , however we did manage to see a pod of dolphins and cruise with them for a time before arriving at the hole in the rock. The commentary and appologies from the skipper made up for lost time and island visit.A refund to all passengers by the company will probably not be seen by our party as we were on a coach tour and the Coach company will probably pocket that instead of passing it on to the participants.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fullers GreatSights Bay of Islands Day Tours also viewed

 
Paihia, Bay of Islands
 

Been to Fullers GreatSights Bay of Islands Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fullers GreatSights Bay of Islands Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.