We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Combo deal a value for money twin trip well worth doing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fullers GreatSights Bay of Islands Day Tours

Fullers GreatSights Bay of Islands Day Tours
The Maritime Building | Paihia Waterfront, Paihia 1045, New Zealand
+64 9 402 7421
Website
Improve this listing
Visit like an insider
$46*
and up
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Fullers GreatSights Bay of Islands offers Northland’s most comprehensive range cruises and tours. The Fullers name has been synonymous with cruises in the Bay of Islands since 1886. Today the passionate and knowledgeable local team are proud to showcase the wonders of the region including cruises to the famous “Hole in the Rock”, dolphin watching/swimming cruises and day tours to the Hokianga, Kerikeri, Russell and Cape Reinga via 90 Mile Beach.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Combo deal a value for money twin trip well worth doing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I wasnt sure what to do but after a long talk with the Aussie guy at the Peppertree Lodge where i stayed he talked me into to doing a Combo as he seem to know so much about it all (which is great for the combo owners) but its funny like in a good way he just gave me no option in my head other than to purchase a combo only when i was going to do a walk to the waterfalls only. But hey turned out to be a truely great 2 days the Cape was just so much fun and the day felt like it wasnt rushed just so well run and so much fun & great commentry then to the Dolphin cruise which we say great dolphins just a treat ( lucky as the person who sold me the combo told me he would buy me a beer if no Dolphins ) and then we went on to the hole in the rock so pretty the views of everythig out there then off at Russell with free return tickets to Paihia at my leisure to get back overall a 100% rating for a 2 day combo i never intended buying so thats all involved.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    377
    108
    30
    9
    12
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A good way to see the BOI”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

We did the hole in the rock half day tour from Pihia. Big boat but not many people because of the time of year. Was good for us as it meant there was plenty of space in the indoor bit for our double pushchair. Saw a massive pod of dolphins, some of which swam along with the boat very closely. Also saw some seals and the hole in the rock. A little expensive but a good way to see the BOI. Staff friendly and knowledgable. Glad we did it.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Long Day - Great Cruise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We took this tour from Auckland which meant we had a really long day - over three hours drive each way, which was pretty uneventful - we could have taken a lot more time getting to Paihia and actually seen some of the sights which the driver was telling us about. Instead, we arrived in Paihia with over two hours until the cruise and there wasn't really that much to do there.

The cruise itself was great - we were lucky enough to see dolphins and a seal, as well as the "hole in the rock". The commentary on the boat was entertaining and informative.

I think the better way to do this would be to hire a car and take your time driving to the Bay, perhaps staying a night or two, then do the cruise when you get there. It's definitely worth doing!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
439 reviews 439 reviews
254 attraction reviews
Reviews in 159 cities Reviews in 159 cities
273 helpful votes 273 helpful votes
“A great half-day cruise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

This is a great half day cruise. Although it seems initially to be a bit pricey, it was quite enjoyable. The views and scenery in the Bay of Islands were as imagined (we had a lovely fine day). There were lots of dolphins that followed this boat and the boat of another tour operator. The two boats certainly got their fill of dolhins on the trip. The staff on board were very friendly and the boat was clean and in great shape. The commentary about Bay of Islands, marine life, etc was very interesting and informative. When we arrived at the Hole in the Rock, the sea was a bit rough and the captain opted not to take a chance to go through the hole. However, he backed the boat into the hole as far as he dared so that we could experience the feeling a little. The stop over at Otehei Bay was OK, but not quite long enough to do the more scenic walks and too long to sit and do nothing. On the return the boat stopped at Russell and leave the boat and catch a public ferry back to Paihai later. Russell is definitely worth the stop to explore this lovely old town.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“My First 5star Rating for a time well had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Okay arrived in Paihia was told by a few other backpackers not really worth staying more than a night, well thanks to a lovely person at the Peppertree Lodge (Rosie) where i stayed lucky i took his great advice & did 3 tours through him with Fullers Greatsights, so a great big thanks again to him and the time spent with me & explaining and pointing out all the pro's +'s and Con's -'s on the different companies & there types of tours. So what i was talked into doing was a two in 1 combo or cobo pass 1st day The Cape Reinga daytrip just a day of views & more views & more stunning thngs t do & eat - nextday Dolphins + Hole in the Rock + island stop 1/2 daytrip this also totally outstanding exactly what i was told about by Rosie it all happened to the letter (he the man) then fews days later did the Hokianga daytrip and how relaxing & stunnng was this it was all made by the driver & the Moari guide to the Big Kauri tree. So all i can say is money well spent even though it was early in my 1 year trip spent more than wanted but hey this is what i travelled for memories and luckily found the right man with the right answers for all of the Tours. plus the crew & drivers all tops No1 run outfit, so the rest of my trip now has its benchmark set for value for money & salesman, sad to leave Paihia and to those who said boring must have been on grumpy pills or something as i had 4 days here then back for 3 more days all within 2 weeks. Thanks to all

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fullers GreatSights Bay of Islands Day Tours also viewed

 
Paihia, Bay of Islands
 

Been to Fullers GreatSights Bay of Islands Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fullers GreatSights Bay of Islands Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.