We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of GREENS

GREENS
96 Marsden Road, Paihia, New Zealand
09-402 8388
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 44 Restaurants in Paihia
Price range: $5 - $21
Cuisines: Indian, Thai, Ice Cream, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: We have been one of Paihia’s most popular restaurants since 2006 serving the finest Thai cuisine under the name ‘THAI GARDEN CAFÉ’ now rebranded as ‘GREENS’. Keeping the same Thai chefs, we are proud to announce that we have introduced full Indian meal, which will be served by a new team of highly experienced Indian Chefs.Lovingly prepared, authentic Thai and Indian cuisine, with a few surprisingly Kiwi twists – that’s what we have on menu at GREEN’S. With a wonderful mix of Thai and Indian dishes, you will enjoy the fusion of spice and flavour. From traditional dishes like Pad-Thai to Indian Butter Masala Chicken and new fish dishes which are closely guarded, using the finest quality ingredients is the speciality at GREENS.At GREEN’S, the dining experience is as important as the food itself. Take a seat in our modern and stylish water-front restaurant, and enjoy great service from our waiting staff.Whether here for lunch, dinner or a private function, enjoy an atmosphere that combines the Indo-Thai warmth with the friendliness Paihia is famed for.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Past experiences of meals in Paihia have been disappointing so I had mixed expectations.

But what a surprise, friendly helpful service followed by an awesome Indian meal.
This would be one of the best Indian meals I have had.

The location opposite the water is great.

I thoroughly recommend eating here.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    66
    19
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyable Indian banquet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

A chilly winter evening was warmed up with friendly service and tasty Indian food with a delicious balance of spices.
We enjoyed a banquet selection of entrees on a sizzling plate, delicious naan and rice with four main curry dishes - butter chicken, vindaloo beef, vegetable korma and lamb rogan josh.
The friendly staff checked how we wanted our selections and the heat and spiciness did not disappoint.
For just $5 we enjoyed the wine we brought with us.
We would definitely recommend this cosy little eatery on the seafront.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Options galore - for Thai and Indian quinine lovers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We chose Greens because of the positive reviews we read - and the food lived up to expectations. Greens is a quaint little restaurant at the end of a block of restaurants. We found it to be warm and inviting with friendly staff and a fantastic menu. We enjoyed a mix of starters, including Indian bharji and garlic naan with thai spring rolls. Dinner was also a mix - hubby enjoying an Indian vegetarian curry whole I tucked into Thai honey duck. Simply delicious. A lovely experience and one we will repeat again when we are next in Paihia.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Hutt, New Zealand
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Indian and Thai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We ordered the Beef Curry (very tender and tasty), The Chicken Do Pyaza which was quite spicey and the Goan Fish Curry which I enjoyed. As there was a delay with the food, we were offered free pompodoms. Staff had a good sense of humour and the service was reasonable. They are fully licensed but we only had water.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dungiven
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Good but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Really enjoyed the food which was cooked from scratch, always good, and just the right amount of spice for what we wanted, but,... found a hair in the veg curry accompaniment, which spoiled what was otherwise a lovely meal.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed GREENS also viewed

Paihia, Bay of Islands
Paihia, Bay of Islands
 
Paihia, Bay of Islands
 

Been to GREENS? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage GREENS, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.