We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Epic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of R. Tucker Thompson

R. Tucker Thompson
Maritime Building | Marsden Road, Paihia 0241, New Zealand
64 9 402 8430
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$115*
and up
Ranked #2 of 38 Activities in Paihia
Type: Tours, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Come sailing on Northland’s own tall ship! You can help set the sails, ride on the bowsprit, climb the rigging, or alternatively you can relax while our crew does the work. Morning cream tea and a delicious BBQ lunch are included. The ship is a member of the Northland Sustainable Tourism Charter and operated by a charitable trust. Profits from day sails are used to develop youth in Northland.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Epic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

There is only one thing to say about this, EPIC!
All of the dolphin trips were completely packed and very impersonal. with only a limited amount of people on the ship you had loads of space to walk around the deck and see what you wanted without other people being in your way. And we did get to see dolphins. For the braver people you can even go all the way up the rigging which I would recommend to anyone as the peacefulness is something else. The food cooked on board was great and all the crew where fabulous and more than willing to help, or tell you how things worked. We would definately go on one of the tours again

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RTuckerT, General Manager at R. Tucker Thompson, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Kia ora from the sunny Bay of Islands and thanks very much for your review! So pleased you got to see dolphins on your day sail and thanks for the lovely photos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    11
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“High adventures on the high seas!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

If you're looking for a relaxing day around the bays, then this is the trip for you. If you're looking for adventure and excitement then this is also the trip for you!!My husband and I had such a great time that we can't recommend the R Tucker Thompson day sail enough.

Skipper Steve and crew-mates Rob and Wayne were great fun and encouraged us to participate as much or as little as we wanted in day's activities. Highlights included climbing out over the bow of the ship, suspended in the rigging while dolphins swam below. We also climbed right up the mast which was thrilling!

Lunch was tasty and a vegetarian option was available (book in advance). We weighed anchor in a pretty bay and afterwards had the option of jumping off the boat and swimming to shore or hitching a ride on a motorised dinghy.

Best of all though was knowing that our ticket money was going towards a good cause - helping troubled teens learn leadership and teamwork skills through sailing. The crew were passionate about their cause and it felt good to have such an enjoyable day out and be able to support them in the process.

Best day trip in the Bay of Islands!!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RTuckerT, General Manager at R. Tucker Thompson, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Kia ora, thank you for your lovely review and great photos! We're very glad you enjoyed your day out with us - we like to think there is something for everyone whatever age but sounds like you had it all.... dolphins, climbing the rig and swiming too. Hope to see you back again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Wonderful Day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

One of the best experiences during our trip to new Zealand. We were the only couple to book a trip that day - so we had our own private charter tall ship!
The crew were absolutely wonderful - super friendly and just enough talk of "scurvy sea dogs" to keep it fun. They served delicious fresh scones for morning tea and chicken and salad for lunch.
We had the opportunity to get our hands dirty hoisting the sails. My brave husband climbed up the mast and I got to steer the ship for quite a while (I'll tick that one off the bucket list!)
All in all it was a wonderful way to see such a beautiful part of the North Island and I would highly recommend to anyone visiting the area.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RTuckerT, General Manager at R. Tucker Thompson, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
We promise to sail every day rather than disappoint - even with two passengers - but it is the exception rather than the rule!! But fantastic you got a private charter on a tall ship , glad you had fun :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Magic day on the water”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Just do it!!, if you want a fantastic day out in the Bay of Islands you won't be disappointed. We went out on the R Tucker with our 2 children (7 yrs and 9 yrs) and we all had a wonderful, memorable day. We got to climb the rigging and steer the ship and the crew were friendly and fun - also the weather was perfect for sailing (you can't take the credit for that though boys). The food was very tasty - and there was plenty of it, and the coffee wasn't instant! Sitting in the netting under the bowsprit with the dolphins surfing a few feet below us had to be the highlight. Awesome.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RTuckerT, General Manager at R. Tucker Thompson, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dolphins under the bowsprit netting - magic! You obviously had perfect timing and it's lovely when they play below you! Hope to see you and the family another time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“The way to appreciate the Bay of Islands”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

As an ex-pat living in NZ, I have to say that this was one of the best day-activities we've done. And it's a non-profit so you learn about their education programs and feel good about where your ticket money goes. We had perfect weather, which was not hard to come by this summer, and enjoyed hanging out on the deck, climbing the riggings, helping with the sails, eating (twice!), swimming, and chatting with the crew. Helpful to bring a towel and something dry in your bag if you want to swim. Can get chilly when the wind picks up--you're sailing, remember! The opportunity to be both on the water and the beach in the same trip was a nice combination. You really appreciate the islands from a different perspective. Getting back by 3:30 pm also means some time for relaxing/a swim before dinner.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RTuckerT, General Manager at R. Tucker Thompson, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Kia ora and thank you for your feedback. Yes, it's been a wonderful summer weather wise and although a bit chilly, the afternoon sea breezes make for a pleasant sail on the way home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed R. Tucker Thompson also viewed

 
Paihia, Bay of Islands
 

Been to R. Tucker Thompson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage R. Tucker Thompson, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.