We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“allview's a hit!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Allview Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paihia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Allview Lodge
Save Saved
You added Allview Lodge to your Saves list
30 H Sullivans Road | PO Box 357, Paihia 0247, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 23 Paihia B&B and Inns
wirral
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“allview's a hit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

This was our first stay in nz out of 11.We rate it joint best with one in kaikoura. Lovely situation, clean and bright with very welcoming hosts If you want to stay in Pahia - this is it! Thanks Robyn and Peter.
Richard and Diana Morris and Olga Cannan, U.K.

Room Tip: We has a suite of 2 rooms connected = ideal for me, my wife and sister in law
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allviewlodge, Owner at Allview Lodge, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thanks for your great review. Hope all is well with you all and we really enjoyed getting to know you. Kind regards, Robyn and Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
35
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hollingbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights at the end of our New Zealand trip. What a place to stay! And what a view! There are only two appartments which means we received very personal service. The owners are lovely, and having lived in the area for over 30 years, are very knowledgable. There is a private lift to get directly to the appartment from parking level.

Our appartment (Pohutikawa) has a double and a twin bedroom (the twin behind folding doors off the lounge area). The lounge area is large with a 3 piece suite and dining table and chairs. There are three French doors leading to the rage balcony overlooking the spectacular bay and islands. The kitchenette area has plenty of crockery etc as well as microwave, sink, fridge, freezer, toaster, cafetière etc. There is a fully equipped laundry shared with the other appartment and also wine, beer and champagne which can be drunk and paid for on departure.

There are steps down to the secluded beach, which is only eaily accessible by neighbouring properties. There are kayaks which may be used by guests, as well as a rowing boat.

We would certainly return again, and highly recommend the appartments.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allviewlodge, Owner at Allview Lodge, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thankyou so much for your great review, it was a pleasure having you all stay and we do hope to see you again. Hope your trip home was okay. Kind regards, Robyn and Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Allview Lodge is the nicest place my wife and I have ever stayed. We read all the reviews and no one is exagerating. The owners Robyn and Peter are lovely people and make every effort to make your stay memorable. The accomodation and views are 6 star. There is a great choice for breakfast which is served on the balcony. Piahia is 2 minutes drive away but forget about the car and walk along the beach into town. There is a good choice of bars and restaurants in the town centre. There is a regular ferry service to Russell which has some interesting shops and a walkable beach. There are numerous walks in the Piahia area and a magnicent coastal drive to the North of Piahia.Go to the Allview Lodge, relax and you will definately enjoy it.

Room Tip: Both the rooms are fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allviewlodge, Owner at Allview Lodge, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thanks for your great review, it was a pleasure getting to know you both. Thanks for the fun times. Hope to have a few ales with you again sometime. Kindest regards Robyn and Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

After almost four weeks of now stop travel including three walking tours our four nights at Allview Lodge was pure heaven. The view was fantastic but the hosts Peter and Robyn are what make this place so special. They were so helpful and gave us a lot of helpful advice for trips around the area. But in the end we just relaxed with no set plans enjoying the view and sunshine before leaving to return to Scotland. I can't recommend enough staying at the Allview Lodge.

Room Tip: There are only two rooms and the view from both is fantastic over looking the Bay of Islands.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allviewlodge, Owner at Allview Lodge, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Thanks for your review, so glad that you had a relaxing time with us after your hectic walking adventures. It was lovely getting to know you both. Kind regards, Robyn and Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We had been four weeks in New Zealand driving north to south and then finally flew north for three days on the beach before returning to cold, snowy, grey England. Oooops. It was grey and drizzly for our three days with Robyn and Peter in Paihia.

And that is a great test of a seaside B&B which Allview passed with flying colours.

We had the Island View suite. This had great views - the web site doesn't lie. The room was very large and very comfortable. We could leave four suitcases worth of clutter around in our room and there was still loads of space. Great bathroom with a twist that I shan't spoil. The balcony had a nice table and chairs so that we could just sit and chill out and enjoy the view. We stayed three nights. On our first full day we 'did' the Treaty Grounds and Russell (really enjoyable visit to the Pompallier Mission at Russell). On day two, the weeks of travel had caught up and we just sat on the balcony and read books. We had a walk along the beach in the rain, and we used Peter's kayaks and paddled around for a bit. I think it is a great test of a place if, when the weather is lousy, you can still feel relaxed and have the space to lounge about.

Robyn and Peter are great hosts. They are not 'in your face'. If you want to be left alone they will (but are always there to help, or give hints on restaurants etc.) On the other hand, if you want a chat, they are great company. I am a fanatic bird watcher and we had visited the wonderful wildlife reserve Tiri Tiri Matangi island early in our holiday. It transpired that Peter had grown up there. his father had been a lighthouse keeper. Great to hear his tales, and I think he was getting the birdwatching bug by the time I left.

Robyn does a very nice breakfast. The only downside I can think of is that the balcony of the two apartments is shared. So if you had rowdy neighbours, that might be a pain (ours were delightfully quiet, nice Americans). But I guess rowdy neighbours are a risk anywhere.

Despite the lousy weather, this was a wonderfully comfortable and relaxing final location for our hols.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allviewlodge, Owner at Allview Lodge, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thankyou so much for your fantastic review, we have already got in place a division for the deck area and have finally got the screen made for this. Glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, sorry about the weather. Kind regards, Robyn and Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Our family enjoyed a three day break at Allview. We arrived tired and stressed and felt ourselves relaxing within minutes of arrival. The water views and beautiful two bedroom apartment were just what we needed. We were welcomed by our friendly hosts and breakfasts were amazing. So glad we trusted previous reviews. Would highly recommend this beautiful place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allviewlodge, Owner at Allview Lodge, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thanks for a grest review, we were so glad that you and the boys enjoyed your stay it was a pleasure having you at our place. Hope to see you again sometime. Kind regards and have a very happy Christmas. Robyn and Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bright, victoria
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We have just returned from a ten day holiday in the Bay of Islands, staying at the magnificent Allview Lodge. It was simply THE BEST!! After considering many destinations and forms of accommodation, as we were travelling with three teenagers and wanted the ability for everyone to do what they want without looking at each other asking 'what are we doing nowwww?'! Proximity to the beach and bedding configeration were most important, along with being in a place that had enough activities to occupy everyone for ten days...Allview came up on top while planning and certainly didn't let us down :)
From waking on the first morning to a pod of dolphins swimming just off the shore to the day we left nothing could have improved our stay.
Clearly the view is to die for, to get a view you have to accept the property will be elevated, 99 easy steps from the beach for those who care about these things!
In the evening you can lie in bed and listen to the waves lapping the shore.
The property is beautiful, in practical terms (and in relation to another reviewers comment) obviously the property is fitted out with 'hard surfaces' due to its proximity to the beach, and ease of cleaning... We had no problems with noise, we were travelling with three teenagers who occupied the larger room and even at 'teenage volume tv' we only had to shut our door to cancel the noise out.
The walk around the bay to Paihia can be done easily at low and high tide with a tiny bit of clambering around the rocks at high tide.
Breakfasts were AMAZING, there is a fantastic choice, and its ALL delicious!
The kayaks provided by Robyn and Peter were put to good use nearly every day, a great facility as you would be less likely to hire them as regularly, cost would mount up.
The activities we did (and recommend are: tandem skydiving at Kerikeri, walk to Waitangi, kayak to Hururu Falls 3 1/2 hours round trip, put on sunscreen! Dolphin Cruise to Hole in the Rock, Horse Ride 90 Mile Beach, Ferry to Russell and walk up Flagstaff, dinner at The Duke of Marlborough, Chocolate shop in Russell...
Thank you Rob, Peter, Anne-Marie, Louis, Clio and kitties for giving us a family holiday that we will remember for ever. We would LOVE to come back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allviewlodge, Owner at Allview Lodge, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Thanks for giving us such a great review, it was a pleasure having you all stay with us and we hope that have enjoyed the rest of your stay in NZ. Love to see you again some time in the future. Kindest regards, Robyn, Peter, Cleo, King Louie and cats. Sorry we had to dash away and leave you in Ann-Maree's capable hands.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Allview Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allview Lodge

Address: 30 H Sullivans Road | PO Box 357, Paihia 0247, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Absolute beachfront, 5 min stroll along beach to cafes, shops and tourist pier. We have 2 suites, 1x1 bedroom & 1 x 2 bedroom both with en-suites, large walk-in showers, spacious lounge/dining areas with kitchenette, and private patios. 1 suite has a 2 person bath. Guests laundry adjacent to both suites. Private beach access, superb sea views, complimentary Kayaks and just a short paddle to some of the most outstanding beauty that the Bay of Islands has to offer.Start of the coastal walking track. Off street parking. No traffic noise. Private entry by internal lift or external stairway. Free pick-up from Paihia Bus depot or Kerikeri airport. Generous full breakfasts menu Warm friendly hosts. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Allview Lodge Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Allview Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.