We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect time away...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Allview Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paihia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Allview Lodge
Save Saved
You added Allview Lodge to your Saves list
30 H Sullivans Road | PO Box 357, Paihia 0247, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 23 Paihia B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect time away...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Our family enjoyed a three day break at Allview. We arrived tired and stressed and felt ourselves relaxing within minutes of arrival. The water views and beautiful two bedroom apartment were just what we needed. We were welcomed by our friendly hosts and breakfasts were amazing. So glad we trusted previous reviews. Would highly recommend this beautiful place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allviewlodge, Owner at Allview Lodge, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thanks for a grest review, we were so glad that you and the boys enjoyed your stay it was a pleasure having you at our place. Hope to see you again sometime. Kind regards and have a very happy Christmas. Robyn and Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
35
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
bright, victoria
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We have just returned from a ten day holiday in the Bay of Islands, staying at the magnificent Allview Lodge. It was simply THE BEST!! After considering many destinations and forms of accommodation, as we were travelling with three teenagers and wanted the ability for everyone to do what they want without looking at each other asking 'what are we doing nowwww?'! Proximity to the beach and bedding configeration were most important, along with being in a place that had enough activities to occupy everyone for ten days...Allview came up on top while planning and certainly didn't let us down :)
From waking on the first morning to a pod of dolphins swimming just off the shore to the day we left nothing could have improved our stay.
Clearly the view is to die for, to get a view you have to accept the property will be elevated, 99 easy steps from the beach for those who care about these things!
In the evening you can lie in bed and listen to the waves lapping the shore.
The property is beautiful, in practical terms (and in relation to another reviewers comment) obviously the property is fitted out with 'hard surfaces' due to its proximity to the beach, and ease of cleaning... We had no problems with noise, we were travelling with three teenagers who occupied the larger room and even at 'teenage volume tv' we only had to shut our door to cancel the noise out.
The walk around the bay to Paihia can be done easily at low and high tide with a tiny bit of clambering around the rocks at high tide.
Breakfasts were AMAZING, there is a fantastic choice, and its ALL delicious!
The kayaks provided by Robyn and Peter were put to good use nearly every day, a great facility as you would be less likely to hire them as regularly, cost would mount up.
The activities we did (and recommend are: tandem skydiving at Kerikeri, walk to Waitangi, kayak to Hururu Falls 3 1/2 hours round trip, put on sunscreen! Dolphin Cruise to Hole in the Rock, Horse Ride 90 Mile Beach, Ferry to Russell and walk up Flagstaff, dinner at The Duke of Marlborough, Chocolate shop in Russell...
Thank you Rob, Peter, Anne-Marie, Louis, Clio and kitties for giving us a family holiday that we will remember for ever. We would LOVE to come back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allviewlodge, Owner at Allview Lodge, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Thanks for giving us such a great review, it was a pleasure having you all stay with us and we hope that have enjoyed the rest of your stay in NZ. Love to see you again some time in the future. Kindest regards, Robyn, Peter, Cleo, King Louie and cats. Sorry we had to dash away and leave you in Ann-Maree's capable hands.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch NZ
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

We would recommend Allview Lodge to anyone who wants the best of relaxed, friendly Kiwi hospitality in a stunning setting, overlooking the Bay of Islands. The suites are extremely comfortable and tastefully furnished. Very quiet and peaceful, in an exclusive cul de sac.Only a five minute walk around the beach to Paihia township. The breakfasts are excellent, set out on good quality china and cutlery. There is a great variety of breakfast food, all fresh and appealing. Comfortable bed.
Robyn and Peter are kind and helpful hosts. The best Kiwi experience possible and very good value.

TonyJane

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allviewlodge, Owner at Allview Lodge, responded to this review, May 4, 2012
Thanks for your lovely review, it was a pleasure having you both stay with us and hopefully we will get to meet again. Robyn and Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

We chose to stay at Allview for the last two nights of our whirlwind travels around New Zealand. It was the perfect ending for our holiday. The only problem was that we could not stay for a longer period. Robyn and Peter were amazing hosts and great company. We were greeted with drinks on their fantastic terrace which we enjoyed whilst starting to relax and soak up the stunning views. Our apartment was really luxorious with two double beds, large leather armchairs and a table and chairs, all glass fronted leading out onto our balcony and views over The Bay of Islands towards Russell. There was also a well equipped kitchen with separate equipment for each of the two apartments and laundry facilities. We returned to Robyn and Peter's terrece each morning for a great breakfast. There is a wide and generous choice from which you make your selection the night before and there is absolutely no need to eat again until the evening! The day can be spent on the beach which is reached via steps leading down from the apartment, and we used the kayaks that were provided to explore some of the little islands in the bay. We had a truly memorable stay and know that you will too. Remember, two nights is not long enough! Gail and Varinder

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allviewlodge, Owner at Allview Lodge, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Thanks for your great review, glad you had the time to write it for us. So glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and thanks for the photo. Robyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

We arrived at Allview Lodge after a 4 hour drive from Auckland and were immediately won over by the amazing views from our wonderful apartment

The apartment was huge with two double beds, two lounger chairs a dining room table and a bathroom which my wife labelled "the best of our trip". It included a huge two person bath and a great shower, even the view from the toilet was good!

But the the best bit about this accommodation is the view. You can lay on your bed or sit on the veranda and look out on to a peaceful bay with a few boats bobbing in the water and simply watch the world go by. We chilled some champers (we were on honeymoon) in the fridge in our shared kitchen area and then sipped drinks while watching the sun drop over Paihia. Very relaxing and truly amazing

The breakfasts are also very very good. Robyn and Peter offer an extensive choice of foods which you choose the night before and then you get to enjoy them on their own private balcony which again looks over the bay. One of the most amazing views we have had while eating eggs benedict and smoked salmon (the filter coffee was really good too)

The other great thing about this accommodation is that you have a staircase that leads directly to the beach, a very quiet beach too. This is a lovely touch, particularly after using the complimentary kayaks, so you can simply wander back up to your accommodation whenever you feel like it, no need to drive to the nearest beach

I would recommend anyone visiting Paihia to stay at Allview lodge. Its location is truly memorable and the quality of accommodation and service is first class

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allviewlodge, Owner at Allview Lodge, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
So glad you had the time to write a great review for us and that you had a lovely stay with us. Robyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

If you are looking for a B&B in Northland, look no further - this will be the highlight of your New Zealand travels as it was ours. The location is the best - 5 minutes walk from town along the water, on its own private beach, kayaks ready to hop into, and THE VIEW! is to die for. The suites and breakfasts are superb, everything down to the smallest detail is a 6* and make you feel very pampered. Last but not least, Robyn and Peter are the best hosts ever - incredibly welcoming, accommodating, helpful, warm, caring, with a great sense of humour. They really treat you like family and if you play your cards right you might even get invited to one of their yummy BBQs. We stayed in many magnificent B&Bs in New Zealand but none quite measured up to the standards and hospitality at the Allview Lodge. Treat yourself - you are worth it!

Room Tip: Both are superb and the view will leave you speechless.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

Allview is a jewel. The purpose-built home is private, luxurious and hosts Robyn & Peter went above and beyond in every way. We highly recommend this very special B & B in beautiful Paihia.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Allview Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allview Lodge

Address: 30 H Sullivans Road | PO Box 357, Paihia 0247, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Absolute beachfront, 5 min stroll along beach to cafes, shops and tourist pier. We have 2 suites, 1x1 bedroom & 1 x 2 bedroom both with en-suites, large walk-in showers, spacious lounge/dining areas with kitchenette, and private patios. 1 suite has a 2 person bath. Guests laundry adjacent to both suites. Private beach access, superb sea views, complimentary Kayaks and just a short paddle to some of the most outstanding beauty that the Bay of Islands has to offer.Start of the coastal walking track. Off street parking. No traffic noise. Private entry by internal lift or external stairway. Free pick-up from Paihia Bus depot or Kerikeri airport. Generous full breakfasts menu Warm friendly hosts. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Allview Lodge Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Allview Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.