We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of YHA Paihia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added YHA Paihia to your Saves list
YHA Paihia
4.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Corner Kings Road and MacMurray | Roads, Paihia 0200, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Paihia
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“good place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

very good clean hostel and staff very very helpful. above and beyond there position.
Andy the manager was on site all the time to help with queries.As we had car problems they photo copied everything for us to send to the AA.

Room Tip: all rooms en suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    24
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
4
20
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Spent three nights here in a double room with en-suite. Great room, great atmosphere and close to everything, food, drink and tourist trips from the wharf. Outside area downstairs was great to sit and chill with a Corona and use our computers with the free WiFi for YHA members.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brevard, North Carolina
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

We were very happy with the YHA in Paihia. It was clean, quiet, well located and convenient. We were able to park our car on the property near our door. The staff was helpful and efficient. The only negative was the small bathroom sink: it wasplastic and the bowl was about six inches deep and 18 inches wide. To complicate matters, a soap dispenser was installed directly over it, so you couldn't get you head/face over it. Otherwise we had no complaints

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

I had a wonderful experience in Paihia. From the clean kitchen with plenty of storage space to the beach that is only a stones-throw away. Clean linens friendly staff, fast internet and loads of new people from all over the world to meet. I had an absolute blast. Great bars and restaurants in the area and a tasty sushi place downtown. I was there off season but there is clearly loads to do in the summers scuba diving and dolfin tours. As a photographer I found the area absolutly beautiful. The staff is very friendly and eager to share their knowledge about the area, help with bookings or just friendly chat.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I stayed here for a couple of nights while touring the Northland. I shared a 4-bed dorm with ensuite (shower, sink and toilet). This hostel is pretty small.

Positives: Room and shower were clean, communal areas pretty clean and tidy with a cosy lounge area. Only a short walk to restaurants and the waterfront. There is car parking and good-quality pay wifi.

Negatives: I am not tall, and I could not even sit up half-way on the bottom bunk because the top bunk was so close. There were no lockers in the room, just a few outside in the communal area (not enough for one per guest). I took a shower in the evening on both nights I stayed, but the water was completely cold - I'm not sure whether this would be better in the mornings.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

As we were away for 7 weeks we mixed our accommodation as founds don't last forever, our room was en-suit on the ground floor car parked outside the staff were brilliant nothing to much trouble their knowledge of the area was first class and precise, we took the ferry over to Russell there wasn't a great deal to do we had walk around my Wife visited the old Church and we had lunch before returning. we opted for the flight to Cape Reinga far Northland it was fantastic over 90 mile beach landing on a grass air-strip onto a mini bus to the Cape this is where to Maori spirits are said to leap from then onto some very scenic areas and coves. Places to eat 35 degree's South a Restaurant on the waters edge and 35 degree's South of the equator, the price you paid wasn't just for the location but the extremely gorgeous food also on King Street just round the corner form the YHA was Tito's a family run restaurant excellent vale for money. moving onto Rotorua.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

I stated here four nights and found it pleasant and well run. Set back from the beach frontage in a quiet location I wish I had stayed longer and will definitely return. Although small with a matching sized kitchen it was well run by the pleasant helpful staff. All rooms are en suite with an additional shower/wc downstairs off the computer room. Good washing/drying facilities and a short walk to the 4 Square local supermarket. A security guard locks up at 11pm and unlocks early morning and safety levels are high, good lighting and a good area. This was one of the nicest hostels in New Zealand .. Well done!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to YHA Paihia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Paihia

Address: Corner Kings Road and MacMurray | Roads, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Paihia 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YHA Bay of Islands Paihia Located in the Far North of New Zealand , the Bay of Islands is renowned for its rich cultural hsitory and magnificent scenery and is a must-see when visiting New Zealand. Paihia, the gateway to the Bay of Islands, is a bustling seaside town with superb safe swimming beaches and is the starting point for a wide range of activities and attractionsThe YHA Bay of Islands Paihia is a purpose built two-level hostel in the heart of Paihia offering affordable, comfortable, quiet and secure accommodation for singles, couples, families and groups. It can accommodate up to 50 people in rooms ranging from single, double and shared twin to four and eight-bed dormitories, a six-bed cabin and a female-only dormitory room. All rooms have their own ensuite bathrooms.Our cosy hostel has a fully-equipped kitchen , lounge, laundry facilities and plenty of outdoor dining space. There is car parking on the street outside and tennis courts next door.Amenities, including a food market, shops, information centres, and restaurants and bars are all located within easy walking distance. The beach is 100 metres from the door and the Paihia wharf, the beginning of many of the Bay’s water-based activities, is a short stroll along the waterfront. While you are close to all the action, our hostel is secluded enough for you to enjoy a quiet and uninterrupted night’s sleep.Our staff are committed to ensuring that you have a comfortable stay and a memorable visit to our special part of the world. They will happily answer any questions, offer suggestions and assist you in planning and booking activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your YHA Paihia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
YHA Paihia Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage YHA Paihia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.