We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great place to stay in Paihia-Bay of Islands” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Outrigger Motel

Save Saved
You added Outrigger Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Outrigger Motel
45 Williams Road | PO Box 239, Paihia 0252, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 44 hotels in Paihia
Tamworth, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“What a great place to stay in Paihia-Bay of Islands”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Our second visit in less than 12 months further proved what a gem of a place the Outrigger is. Greg & Suzi would have to be the most professional,attentive & friendly proprietors of any hotel that we have stayed at worldwide in our 30 years+ travels. Nothing left to chance,they really care for their guests in ensuring all needs are fully met wherever possible.Units are spotless,beds are comfortable & units well furnished with quality fittings.Outside each unit is a comfortable table & 2 chairs where you can sit,enjoy the sunshine & often meet other guests doing similar.Hotel is well located in a quiet area of Williams Road,with a supermarket & a bakery virtually next door, varied restaurants,shopping, ferry terminals & the bus depot only a short 2/3 minute walk away. Greg & Suzi were only too happy to discuss & recommend/suggest local attractions of which there are many to cater for all tastes.Accommodation is moderately priced when compared with what alternatives exist in a far less convenient location. So if you want a place to stay that is like a home away from home with caring & friendly owner - operators,you won't choose better than this. If you are travelling without a car, as we were, nowhere in town is more convenient to all local day to day town amenities.Thank you for another great stay Greg & Suzi. Hopefully we will be back sometime during 2014.

Room Tip: We prefer Unit 11-next to office which is bright with a good layout.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
outriggermotel, Owner at Outrigger Motel, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Wow John who are those people you are talking about?....thank you very much for the kind words and we really appreciate you both coming back to us. Sorry Sassy cat was a bit shy in coming out to start with but I think she made up for it.
Hope you both had a great trip and safe return to NSW. Love having you both and hope we see you again next year.
Kindest regards
Suzi and Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    12
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
42
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Central, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We had a lovely time staying at the Outrigger in Paihia. Greg and Suzi, our hosts, were lovely, most hospitable and made us feel right at home. We had wanted an overnight escape away from Auckland City, but were on a budget. We stayed in an eco room, which was great for our budget and very comfortable. We loved how close the motel was to the centre of town. Would happily stay here again. Very clean. The Eco room was perfect for the two of us. Thanks so much for having us to stay. We hope to be back again soon!

Cheers, Jenna and Kieran :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
outriggermotel, Owner at Outrigger Motel, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Thank you very much Jenna and Kieran for taking the time to review us and we are so happy you enjoyed your stay. The Bay of Islands is the perfect Auckland get away and we are glad you make the choice to do so.
Hope to see you both again and have a great week.
cheers
Suzi and Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
255 reviews 255 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

One of the great things about this motel is its proximity to most of the things in Paihai. It was only a short stroll to some of the best eating places as well as to the wharf for cruises. This meant that one could have a short respite from driving to get around. The owners were very helpful with good advice as to the local attractions and operators. The rooms were a good size with a small kitchenette for breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
outriggermotel, Owner at Outrigger Motel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thanks for the great review and yes we love our close proximity to everything too. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the great restaurants in Paihia.
Thanks for being with us at Outrigger and we enjoyed your company also.
Cheers
Suzi and Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

this friendly motel offered a great stay in a happy environment. rooms were spacious, clean and well fitted out. the owners were helpful and friendly, nothing was too much trouble. quiet spot very handy to town centre with its many coffee spots and great eating places.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
outriggermotel, Manager at Outrigger Motel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thanks guys, we are very pleased you enjoyed our village ambience in Paihia that we ourselves love so much. Thanks for the great review and hope we see you again.
Many thanks
Suzi and Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for our wedding anniversary. The rooms were very clean and quiet despite being so close to the centre of paihia. The location is awesome. You are within a one minute walk of all the shops and restaurants. The spa on site was also fantastic after a long day. The hosts were also exceptionally friendly and very welcoming. A definite winner for paihia!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
outriggermotel, Manager at Outrigger Motel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thanks very much for the review guys and for taking the time to do so! We hope we see you again soon.
Cheers
Suzi and Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

The motel is centrally located and has ample parking. The owners are obliging and knowledgeable. Would recommend this motel to anyone. I marked this daon because of the small size of the room and the cooking facilities. This motel does not reach the same standards regarding being self contained as other NZ motels. They are part of the Host Accommodation chain and this chain is excellent value if staying for a couple of weeks in NZ.

Room Tip: Get a ground floor room and not one at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
outriggermotel, Owner at Outrigger Motel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you Jim for your comments and glad you had a good time. Yes our Eco units are smaller units than the deluxe studios and price reflective (and you can still swing a cat!). Our kitchens contain ceramic stove tops and microwave ovens and full set of cutlery, plates and cooking pots and instruments etc therefore definetly the same as NZ motel standard as reflected in our Qualmark standard and Motel Assn memership. Have a great Easter break and thank you again. Kind regards
Suzi
PS Glad you enjoyed "Host Accommodation" hope you tell all your friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberystwyth,
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We had a lovely weekend stay at the Outrigger and this was due in no small part to the friendly and exceptionally helpful owners.Nothing was too much trouble for them .The Outrigger is excellently located near the shops.restraunts and ferry terminal in Paihia ,all of which are within very easy walking distance of the motel.
Onsite parking is available whilst the accommodation is more than adequate for travelling visitors.
The accommodation was also spotless and overall we found the Outrigger perfect for our needs.
The likelyhood is that we will visit Paihia and the Bay of Islands again on our next trip to New Zealand which will probably be in February of next year.
We will certainly wish to stay at the Outrigger again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
outriggermotel, Owner at Outrigger Motel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thanks Mike for your review and we are pleased you enjoyed your time in Paihia. Hope you enjoyed our village in the beautiful Bay of Islands as much as we do!
Have a lovely Easter holiday.
Kind regards
Suzi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Outrigger Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Motel

Also Known As:
Outrigger Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands
Address: 45 Williams Road | PO Box 239, Paihia 0252, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Paihia
#4 Best Value Hotel in Paihia
#17 Family Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our quiet location in the heart of Paihia is only moments from the shops, cafes, restaurants, beach and the wharf. All our units are spacious, clean (serviced daily) and comfortable with full kitchen, en-suite and outdoor seating to soak up the sun. In the evening you can relax in our private spa pool, dine alfresco in our BBQ area or enjoy one of the many fine restaurants just walking distance away. Qualmark FOUR STAR and ENVIRO awarded! FREE wireless internet and free parking. Experienced, friendly kiwi hosts, Suzi and Greg welcome you to Paihia and the Bay of Islands ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Outrigger Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outrigger Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.