We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great spot for a relaxing week” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Outrigger Motel

Save Saved
You added Outrigger Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Outrigger Motel
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   45 Williams Road | PO Box 239, Paihia 0252, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 44 hotels in Paihia
Toowoomba, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“great spot for a relaxing week”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

this friendly motel offered a great stay in a happy environment. rooms were spacious, clean and well fitted out. the owners were helpful and friendly, nothing was too much trouble. quiet spot very handy to town centre with its many coffee spots and great eating places.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
outriggermotel, Manager at Outrigger Motel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thanks guys, we are very pleased you enjoyed our village ambience in Paihia that we ourselves love so much. Thanks for the great review and hope we see you again.
Many thanks
Suzi and Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    63
    13
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
44
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leigh, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for our wedding anniversary. The rooms were very clean and quiet despite being so close to the centre of paihia. The location is awesome. You are within a one minute walk of all the shops and restaurants. The spa on site was also fantastic after a long day. The hosts were also exceptionally friendly and very welcoming. A definite winner for paihia!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
outriggermotel, Manager at Outrigger Motel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thanks very much for the review guys and for taking the time to do so! We hope we see you again soon.
Cheers
Suzi and Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

The motel is centrally located and has ample parking. The owners are obliging and knowledgeable. Would recommend this motel to anyone. I marked this daon because of the small size of the room and the cooking facilities. This motel does not reach the same standards regarding being self contained as other NZ motels. They are part of the Host Accommodation chain and this chain is excellent value if staying for a couple of weeks in NZ.

Room Tip: Get a ground floor room and not one at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
outriggermotel, Owner at Outrigger Motel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you Jim for your comments and glad you had a good time. Yes our Eco units are smaller units than the deluxe studios and price reflective (and you can still swing a cat!). Our kitchens contain ceramic stove tops and microwave ovens and full set of cutlery, plates and cooking pots and instruments etc therefore definetly the same as NZ motel standard as reflected in our Qualmark standard and Motel Assn memership. Have a great Easter break and thank you again. Kind regards
Suzi
PS Glad you enjoyed "Host Accommodation" hope you tell all your friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberystwyth,
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We had a lovely weekend stay at the Outrigger and this was due in no small part to the friendly and exceptionally helpful owners.Nothing was too much trouble for them .The Outrigger is excellently located near the shops.restraunts and ferry terminal in Paihia ,all of which are within very easy walking distance of the motel.
Onsite parking is available whilst the accommodation is more than adequate for travelling visitors.
The accommodation was also spotless and overall we found the Outrigger perfect for our needs.
The likelyhood is that we will visit Paihia and the Bay of Islands again on our next trip to New Zealand which will probably be in February of next year.
We will certainly wish to stay at the Outrigger again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
outriggermotel, Owner at Outrigger Motel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thanks Mike for your review and we are pleased you enjoyed your time in Paihia. Hope you enjoyed our village in the beautiful Bay of Islands as much as we do!
Have a lovely Easter holiday.
Kind regards
Suzi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Had a great time at the outrigger, from the moment we got there to the moment we left we had fantastic service. nothing was too much trouble. Accommodation is excellent, high standard of cleanliness and decor is very modern. it is very close to the shops, bars and restaurants. perfectly located. would highly recommend and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
outriggermotel, Owner at Outrigger Motel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Appreciate your review Stephen and gald you had a great time in Paihia. We really liked having you here also! many thanks again for being with us and hopefully see you all again soon.
Cheers
Suzi and Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Ideally situated Motel for touring around the Bay of Islands area either independently or organized,the Information centre for all your tour bookings & pier for your boat trips is only about 400yds down the road. Motel is also close to shops and good restaurants, . Host Suzi & Greg couldn't be more helpful, very clean and comfortable rooms. The optional breakfast were very good and always delivered on time. We all fully enjoyed our stay (2 couples, 2 units).Would Highly recommend .
Ed & Maggie UK. Graham & Jen OZ

Room Tip: I would assume the rooms to the back of the Motel (away from the road) are quieter, but its not a bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
outriggermotel, Owner at Outrigger Motel, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thanks for being with us in Paihia and for taking the time to write a lovely review. It was lovely to get to know you all a little and so glad you had a great reunion again. Many thanks
Suzi and Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

The hosts Greg and Suzi provided a great clean modern unit with excellent service. The motel is quiet yet so close to everything especially bars, shops and the supermarket.

The guest BBQ was put to good use and the free internet was much appreciated

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
outriggermotel, Owner at Outrigger Motel, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Thank you Bernie for choosing to stay with us here in Paihia - we appreciate it and we appreciate your fine review. Come again! Cheers Suzi and Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Outrigger Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Motel

Address: 45 Williams Road | PO Box 239, Paihia 0252, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Paihia
#10 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
#18 Family Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Outrigger Motel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our quiet location in central Paihia is only moments from the shops, cafes, restaurants, beach and the wharf. All our units are spacious, clean (serviced daily) and comfortable with full kitchen, en-suite and outdoor seating to soak up the sun. In the evening you can relax in our private spa pool, dine alfresco in our BBQ area or enjoy one of the many fine restaurants just walking distance away. Qualmark FOUR STAR and ENVIRO awarded! FREE wireless internet and free parking. Experienced, friendly kiwi hosts, Suzi and Greg welcome you to Paihia and the Bay of Islands ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Outrigger Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outrigger Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.