We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent place to stay in Paihia NZ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Outrigger Motel

Save Saved
You added Outrigger Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Outrigger Motel
45 Williams Road | PO Box 239, Paihia 0252, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 44 hotels in Paihia
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“An excellent place to stay in Paihia NZ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This Motel was first rate from the wonderful hosts, the spotless unit, the well organised recycling, the locality, and the equipment, from cutlery to ironing board that was provided to make our stay very comfortable. There is a laundry for guests.

If you are mobility challenged ask for a downstairs unit.
In spite of its proximity to the centre of Paihia, it was quiet, whilst providing easy walking access to all that Paihia can offer.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
outriggermotel, Owner at Outrigger Motel, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and we are very pleased you enjoyed your time in Paihia. Be safe and have a fantastic 2013. Many thanks
Suzi and Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    12
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
42
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

It was a home away from home! Great hosts! Comfy beds! Our tv remote was missing when we arrived but Greg found it no worries! Spa was relaxing! It's a very short stroll down to great restaurants, bars, and shops! Although we've stayed several places in Paihia we now found somewhere we can take the kids! :)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
outriggermotel, Owner at Outrigger Motel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thanks guys for your great review and thank you for being with us here in Paihia. We appreciate it and yes I hope we do see you again. Have a great 2013 Kind regards
Suzi and Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Point, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We thoughly enjoyed our stay here! We had a large bedroom, large living area with kitchen and a large bath...all extremely clean. The hosts were very welcoming, and assisted us, several months before our arrival, in offering suggestions on where to spend New Year's Eve. The motel is very quiet and close to all of the things we wanted to do in and around Paihia. I would stay here again in a minute and highly recommend it to anyone. Great job Suzie and Greg...keep up the good work in Paihia!!

Room Tip: Get a room with the kitchen. There is a small grocery store next door and you can buy stuff for bre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
outriggermotel, Owner at Outrigger Motel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you very much Leigh and love your tips for future guests. Thank you! Wishing you all the best for a fantastic 2013. Kind regards
Suzi and Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Shore, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We were very happy to stay here. We had one family unit for ourselves and one studio upstairs for my parents. They both nice, clean and cosy. Good service. very handy location. Actually excellent location. close to restaurants, ferry station, shops. play ground, police station next door. Great stay. we will go back next time. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
outriggermotel, Owner at Outrigger Motel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we so sppreciate your review. Have a fantastic 2013. Kind regards
Suzi and Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We had such a nice stay here. The hosts were so friendly and welcoming and we were made to feel at home. The unit we had was immaculate. It was so modern and comfortable.
Its just a 5 minute walk to the main street, buts it also in a quiet spot.
I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
outriggermotel, Owner at Outrigger Motel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Wow, thanks for those great comments Wade. We are so pleased that you had a lovely time with us in Paihia and would love to see you again sometime. Have a great summer and all the best - Suzi and Greg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Great value and great location!.......clean and quiet ....I found this place easily and it was just a short walk from the drop off bus location.....I was close to the restaurants and tourist shops.....

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
outriggermotel, Owner at Outrigger Motel, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Glad you had a great time and thank you for staying with us at Outrigger. Kind regards
Suzi and Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Six years ago, 5 of my running mates and I decided to run the Kerikeri half Marathon. We chose to stay with our partners, at the Outrigger Motel in Paihia and were not disappointed returning annually for the next 5 years. The units have all the facilities one requires and are immaculate. There is also nice spa for soothing our bodies after our 21km run and the location is superb. Only a couple of minutes walk to the township where there is a supermarket, plenty of restaurants, a variety of shops and the wharf where one can catch the ferry to Russell or take tours around the bay.
Last but not least, our hosts Suzi and Greg were outstanding, nothing being too much trouble and always looking to help if we had a problem/question.
Would recommend as the place to stay in Paihia

Room Tip: We have stayed in a variety of rooms which were all excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
outriggermotel, Owner at Outrigger Motel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thanks for the fine words and we soooo appreciate your loyalty!!! Wishing you all, our best wishes, Suzi and Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Outrigger Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Motel

Also Known As:
Outrigger Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands
Address: 45 Williams Road | PO Box 239, Paihia 0252, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Paihia
#4 Best Value Hotel in Paihia
#17 Family Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our quiet location in the heart of Paihia is only moments from the shops, cafes, restaurants, beach and the wharf. All our units are spacious, clean (serviced daily) and comfortable with full kitchen, en-suite and outdoor seating to soak up the sun. In the evening you can relax in our private spa pool, dine alfresco in our BBQ area or enjoy one of the many fine restaurants just walking distance away. Qualmark FOUR STAR and ENVIRO awarded! FREE wireless internet and free parking. Experienced, friendly kiwi hosts, Suzi and Greg welcome you to Paihia and the Bay of Islands ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Outrigger Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outrigger Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.