We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and welcoming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Outrigger Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Outrigger Motel to your Saves list
Outrigger Motel
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   45 Williams Road | PO Box 239, Paihia 0252, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Warm and welcoming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We had such a nice stay here. The hosts were so friendly and welcoming and we were made to feel at home. The unit we had was immaculate. It was so modern and comfortable.
Its just a 5 minute walk to the main street, buts it also in a quiet spot.
I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
outriggermotel, Owner at Outrigger Motel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Wow, thanks for those great comments Wade. We are so pleased that you had a lovely time with us in Paihia and would love to see you again sometime. Have a great summer and all the best - Suzi and Greg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    16
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
46
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Great value and great location!.......clean and quiet ....I found this place easily and it was just a short walk from the drop off bus location.....I was close to the restaurants and tourist shops.....

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
outriggermotel, Owner at Outrigger Motel, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Glad you had a great time and thank you for staying with us at Outrigger. Kind regards
Suzi and Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Six years ago, 5 of my running mates and I decided to run the Kerikeri half Marathon. We chose to stay with our partners, at the Outrigger Motel in Paihia and were not disappointed returning annually for the next 5 years. The units have all the facilities one requires and are immaculate. There is also nice spa for soothing our bodies after our 21km run and the location is superb. Only a couple of minutes walk to the township where there is a supermarket, plenty of restaurants, a variety of shops and the wharf where one can catch the ferry to Russell or take tours around the bay.
Last but not least, our hosts Suzi and Greg were outstanding, nothing being too much trouble and always looking to help if we had a problem/question.
Would recommend as the place to stay in Paihia

Room Tip: We have stayed in a variety of rooms which were all excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
outriggermotel, Owner at Outrigger Motel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thanks for the fine words and we soooo appreciate your loyalty!!! Wishing you all, our best wishes, Suzi and Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Right in the heart of Paihia - easy walking to everywhere. Very clean - something I was most impressed about.
Helpful and friendly - I would stay there again without a doubt.
We enjoyed our stay and would recommend this to anyone travelling up that way.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
outriggermotel, Owner at Outrigger Motel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the team at Outrigger - we appreciate it! Have a great day and see you again.
Kindest regards, Suzi and Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Wonderful Motel, very warm and welcoming with lovely owners, very clean and very central, you can save on gas and walk everywhere.. Nice spa for relaxing in after your days activities. We enjoyed our stay here in the sunny Bay of Islands and will absolutely be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
outriggermotel, Owner at Outrigger Motel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for your time to review Outrigger Motel. Glad you had a great time and yes, we'd love to see you again! Cheers Suzi and Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We had the pleasure of spending 5 nights recently at the Outrigger with Suzi, Greg and their family. The warmth of their hospitality was evident right from the moment of arrival. Nothing was ever too much trouble and their local knowledge was invaluable.

The motel is delightful with beautiful clean rooms and manicured gardens. Their location is so central to the towns amenities yet is very peaceful and relaxing.

Paihia's location enables easy access to the Far North of New Zealand and coupled with Greg and Suzis assistance, a holiday at The Outrigger is the complete package.

Thank you for a lovely stay, we hope to return one day.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
outriggermotel, Owner at Outrigger Motel, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
We are glad you had a great time and thank you for your kind words - we really appreciate your review. We hope we see you again in Paihia.
Kind regards, Suzi and Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

We spent 7 nights here in May we were made very welcome. Our room was very comfortable and serviced everyday. Suzi & Greg were very helpful with suggestions on things to do up north and booked some of our activities for us. The Outrigger is very central to shops, resturants and the wharf we enjoyed our stay and would not hesitate to recommend to our family and friends a great place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Outrigger Motel, responded to this review, June 24, 2012
Thank you Colin and Sara for your very kind compliments and we are so pleased you enjoyed your time in Paihia and the Bay of Islands. Thanks for taking the time to do a review and we hope we see you again sometime.
Cheers
Suzi and Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Outrigger Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Motel

Address: 45 Williams Road | PO Box 239, Paihia 0252, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Paihia
#11 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Outrigger Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our quiet location in central Paihia is only moments from the shops, cafes, restaurants, beach and the wharf. All our units are spacious, clean (serviced daily) and comfortable with full kitchen, en-suite and outdoor seating to soak up the sun. In the evening you can relax in our private spa pool, dine alfresco in our BBQ area or enjoy one of the many fine restaurants just walking distance away. Qualmark Three PLUS STAR and ENVIRO awarded! FREE wireless internet and free parking. Experienced, friendly kiwi hosts, Suzi (Life membership NZ Motel Assoc.2014) And Greg (NZ Local Heroes Award for community) welcome you to Paihia and the Bay of Islands ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Outrigger Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outrigger Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.