We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our recent 5 day stay in Paihia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Outrigger Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Outrigger Motel to your Saves list
Outrigger Motel
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   45 Williams Road | PO Box 239, Paihia 0252, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Tamworth, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Our recent 5 day stay in Paihia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

We enjoyed another great stay with Greg & Susi at the Outrigger. A spotless,comfortable & very well appointed unit with cooking facilities. Greg & Susi both have excellent people skills & were most informative & helpful in outlining all available activities in the Bay of Islands.Being without car, they even offered to drive us up hill to the Waitangi Treaty House for sightseeing with suggestion we could easily walk the downhill short trip back to Paihia township.The Outrigger Motel is very conveniently located to the township's central business district & is an easy 5 minute walk from the wharf & bus depot. Highly recommended establishment.

Room Tip: We have always preferred to stay in Unit 11 next to the office.This is slightly elevated from ground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
outriggermotel, Owner at Outrigger Motel, responded to this review, March 2, 2012
Thanks guys - we appreciate your kind words and glad you had a great stay. It was lovely to have you both again and we wish you a great year ahead. Kind regards
Suzi and Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    15
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
46
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

We spent 2 nights here at the end of January, We'd never stayed in a motel before and this gem of a find surpassed our expectations by a mile. The accommodation was well presented and spotless with everything provided that you would need for a short stay. The bed was very comfortable too!

The location is perfect, on a quiet side street yet only a short stroll to the seafront, shops and restaurants. The well stocked supermarket is also very near for all your essentials.

The staff were very friendly and helpful - we just called in on spec after walking by and liking the look of the place from the outside. The motel is just next to the small Police station so I think a quiet night is guaranteed!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
outriggermotel, Owner at Outrigger Motel, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review us - we appreciate it. Thanks! Greg and Suzi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

Great little place with all you need for a stay in Paihia, central, helpfull hosts, clean and tidy room and good bed too!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
outriggermotel, Owner at Outrigger Motel, responded to this review, February 5, 2012
Thanks Colin - much appreciated comments when you are busy and on the road so much as a corporate. Hopefully we see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

My husband and I spent a week at Outrigger Motel. The service was outstanding in both efficiency and friendliness with the hosts going the extra mile without even being asked. The location is excellent; close to everything you could possibly want but it was also beautifully quiet, just slightly away from the hustle of the main road. The cleanliness couldn't be faulted. However the highlight for me was their adorable cat !

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
outriggermotel, Manager at Outrigger Motel, responded to this review, February 5, 2012
Ah yes - Sassy cat takes good care of all the cat lovers, but only if she's in the mood .....of course! Thanks guys we appreciate your kind comments. Take care, Suzi and Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Outrigger Motel over New Years and I have never been so impressed with a motel in NZ! Greg and Suzi are the most incredible hosts, so friendly and helpful, and Suzi must be the nicest lady I have ever met! :)

We booked last minute (by literally walking into the office and asking) and we were able to stay 4 nights by moving to different rooms. As we had our car with us this was not a problem at all and we got to see 3 different rooms at the Outrigger. All were spotlessly clean, light and airy with everything you need. The beds were comfortable, the showers were clean and had great pressure, and the kitchens were well equipped.

Overall we had an amazing trip to the Bay of Islands and this was largely due to staying at the Outrigger! Thanks Greg and Suzi for your wonderful hospitality, we will no doubt be back!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
outriggermotel, Owner at Outrigger Motel, responded to this review, January 15, 2012
Thank you for your fine compliments and glad you enjoyed your time in Paihia! You are lovely people and your comments are very much appreciated. Hope to see you again! Wishing you both a great 2012, Greg and Suzi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

Myself & 3 mates stayed at the Outrigger Motel for 8 nights & thoroughly enjoyed it.

As they say, when looking for accomodation its Location, Location, Location.....
It is right in the heart oh Paihia, the room was light & bright & spotlessly clean.

We were fishing everyday, and couldnt wait to get back to the Outrigger for a hot shower & a nice clean comfy bed.

Greg & Suzi are the best hosts we have ever encountered, nothing was too much trouble for them, and always so happy & friendly, except Greg kept on wearing that bloody all blacks shirt!!

I will be booking in again for next November.

Cheers Craig Stevo

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
outriggermotel, Owner at Outrigger Motel, responded to this review, December 1, 2011
Hey thanks guys, it was a pleasure to have you and glad you had an awesome time. There is nothing like being out on the Bay is there?
Yes, very proud New Zealanders here - Go the All Blacks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

I stayed at Outrigger Motel with friends in a one bedroom unit. Everything was fantastic - hot showers, clean room, BBQ available and hot tub.
Suzi and Greg were amazing hosts (and Georgie their dog too), always a friendly smile and helpful when asked touristy questions.
1 min walk to shops, jetty and restaurants.
I will definitely be back and be recommending to family and friends.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
outriggermotel, Owner at Outrigger Motel, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
thank you very much and glad we could accommodate you so well. Hope to see you again in Paihia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Outrigger Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Motel

Address: 45 Williams Road | PO Box 239, Paihia 0252, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Paihia
#10 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Outrigger Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our quiet location in central Paihia is only moments from the shops, cafes, restaurants, beach and the wharf. All our units are spacious, clean (serviced daily) and comfortable with full kitchen, en-suite and outdoor seating to soak up the sun. In the evening you can relax in our private spa pool, dine alfresco in our BBQ area or enjoy one of the many fine restaurants just walking distance away. Qualmark Three PLUS STAR and ENVIRO awarded! FREE wireless internet and free parking. Experienced, friendly kiwi hosts, Suzi (Life membership NZ Motel Assoc.2014) And Greg (NZ Local Heroes Award for community) welcome you to Paihia and the Bay of Islands ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Despegar.com so you can book your Outrigger Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outrigger Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.