We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very happy with our stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Sands Seafront Studios

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Bay Sands Seafront Studios to your Saves list
Bay Sands Seafront Studios
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   136 Marsden Road | Bay of Islands, Paihia, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very happy with our stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

This was the perfect place for our stay in Paihia. It was comfortable, central and had a stunning view - truly the perfect place to unwind and use as a base to explore Paihia and the surrounds.

We chose for a small extra sum a room facing the beach on the second floor, and it was well worth it, with the view a highlight.

The Service was first rate, with a real sense of welcome in all interactions.

Somehow this little place was the perfect way to enjoy Paihia, relaxed and laidback like the town.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaySandsMotel, Owner at Bay Sands Seafront Studios, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Hi Folks,
Thank you for taking time to review your stay at Bay Sands. We are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable holiday.
We hope to see you again someday soon.

Cheers,
Tulay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    21
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
25
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

I have just returned home to Rotorua from nine days exploring the far north. I wanted to simply chill and relax from a busy professional lifestyle. Two nights here at Bay Sands were a dream and the highlight of my nights away, being lulled to sleep by the waves gently breaking on the shore 60 metres away over the road. In spite of being so close to the road, there was little road noise. A firm but so comfortable bed, easy to use immaculately clean facilities, plush top quality carpets, modern decor, friendly owners and helpful staff. What more could I want.! I will be back.!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaySandsMotel, Owner at Bay Sands Seafront Studios, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Hi Folks,

Wow! What a great review!

Thank you for taking time to review your stay at Bay Sands. We are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable holiday.
We hope to see you again someday soon.

Cheers,
Jimmy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishopsteignton
Level Contributor
144 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We spent 4 nights here in early February and were very pleased with our choice of accommodation. We had a sea view room which was spotlessly clean and had everything we needed.

We were in Paihia for the Waitangi Celebrations and although the weather was very wet and pretty chilly, we enjoyed it very much.

This motel is in a superb location which means it is only a 10 minute walk to both Waitangi and the centre of Paihia.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaySandsMotel, Owner at Bay Sands Seafront Studios, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Hi Folks,
Thank you for taking time to review your stay at Bay Sands. We are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable holiday. Next year we'll order up some sunny skies for you!
We hope to see you again someday soon.

Cheers,
Jimmy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

The other property for which we had already booked two nights accommodation was fully booked by the time we decided to add an extra night to the start of our North Island tour. We found the standard of the rooms on our holiday to be very good, most were clean and comfortable and Bay Sands was up to that standard. So what makes one property stand out from the others are the little things. We had a ground floor studio with a sea view (No. 2). The bed/sitting room had a kitchen at the back together with an en-suite bathroom and was located just across the road from the sea and a 10 minute walk from the centre. There was no traffic noise. We had difficulty connecting to the wifi, but the owner was very helpful and came to the room and got us connected. He was also able to offer a 10% discount on our sea cruise by booking directly on line for us.
We enjoyed the Waitangi Treaty grounds and drove the Million dollar view road - fabulous views
Ate at Ruffinos Italian
Next a trip of just 100 yards along the road!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaySandsMotel, Owner at Bay Sands Seafront Studios, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Hi Folks,
Thank you for taking time to review your stay at Bay Sands. We are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable holiday.
We hope to see you again someday soon.

Cheers,
Jimmy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

We have visited over 60 countries and consider ourselves experienced travelers. Bay Sands Motel is one of the cleanest places we have been to. Clean, tidy, spacious with everything you need. The owners and staff went out of their way to make it an absolute SUPER FANTASTIC experience. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: We LOVED room number 5 and will ask for the same one again. Our parents stayed in room 7, it had lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaySandsMotel, Owner at Bay Sands Seafront Studios, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Hi Folks,

Thank you for taking time to review your stay at Bay Sands. We are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable holiday. Wow, you have really been everywhere!
We hope to see you again someday soon.

Cheers,
Jimmy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Great place to stay, clean comfortable and convenient, all mod cons. Tea,coffee and milk given, cooking facilities and spotless crockery etc.
Manager extremely helpful. Within walking distance to the little town. Supermarket round the corner.

Room Tip: All rooms have sea view and a sitting area outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaySandsMotel, Owner at Bay Sands Seafront Studios, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear Sir,
Thank you for your kinds words.
It is invigorating to receive a good review from a seasoned traveler such as yourself.
We hope to host you again someday.
Tulay, Owner, Bay Sands
Baysandsmotel@gmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

We stayed here for a few days and had a lovely time. Sufficient space to cook for yourself, lovely sized room and perfect location. Very helpful people who assisted us in sorting out some of our side trips.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaySandsMotel, Owner at Bay Sands Seafront Studios, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear sir, Thank you for the kind review. We are always pleased to hear from our guests.
Bon Voyage!
Tulay, Owner
Baysandsmotel@gmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.0 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection
0.3 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection
0.8 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#6 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 stars 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Admiral's View Lodge
Admiral's View Lodge
#8 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 stars 157 reviews
0.2 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#3 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 stars 395 reviews
0.8 mi away
Averill Court Motel
Averill Court Motel
#10 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 stars 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Sands Seafront Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Sands Seafront Studios

Address: 136 Marsden Road | Bay of Islands, Paihia, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bay Sands Seafront Studios 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family style Studio Apartments located on the waterfront at the best beach in Paihia. Free Kayaks, Bicycles, BBQ facility. Free in room WiFi, SKY TV GUEST SELECT. We are located within easy walking distance of the village square, shops and restaurants. All units are equipped with kitchen facilities.Each unit sleeps three persons with one queen and one single bed. An extra bed can be added for a small charge. The family apartment accommodates up to four persons and has a Queen and two singles.Bay Sands Seafront Studios, the Motel that feels like home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Bay Sands Seafront Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Sands Seafront Studios Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Sands Seafront Studios, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.