We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Sands Seafront Studios

Save Saved
You added Bay Sands Seafront Studios to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bay Sands Seafront Studios
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   136 Marsden Road | Bay of Islands, Paihia, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 44 hotels in Paihia
Waitakere, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights for a 'de-stress' get away. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely be back. The owner was incredibly friendly, the room was exceptionally clean (was a lovely surprise to come back to find the dishes we'd left draining on the bench had been dried and put away for us), the beds were super comfy and the room was very spacious. Beautiful views and even tho we were right by the main road, traffic noise did not disturb us. Definitely value for money.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaySandsMotel, Owner at Bay Sands Seafront Studios, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Hello Jodi Z,
Thank you for your recent visit to Bay Sands Motel In Paihia. I'm happy to read your kind reviews on tripadvisor.
When you do decide to visit Bay of Islands again, please consider dropping me a line and I will personally see to it that you are well provided for.

One again, thank you for your valuable input, and happy travels to you.

Kind regards
Mrs. Brumback,
Owner
Bay Sands Paihia
Baysandsmotel@gmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    14
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
13
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darwin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Stayed for three days in Paihia in this motel. The owner was more than helpful. The room was a little dated, but clean and spacious and more than adequate. Reasonable prices make this a good consideration for the lower end of the accomodation market.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaySandsMotel, Owner at Bay Sands Seafront Studios, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
HI Jan L,
Thank you for your recent stay with us as Bay Sands Paihia.
We rather enjoy our "retro" look, although we are doing upgrades as well!
Please feel free to contact me personally when you return to our area. We would love to host you again!
Kind Regards,
Mrs. Brumback
Owner
Bay Sands Paihia
baysandsmotel@gmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pegasus north canterbury
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed at sand bay motel for 4 nights $100.00 a night ..the room was dirty , we got clean towels and a quick flick with spray around the bathroom and rubbish emptied every day.the 1st day we had no tea towels the girl couldn't of cared I wiped down the bedside cabinets and tables , you could see cup marks and dust. The catch on one of the windows was broken so very easy to get in, also small wall heater , very cold at night I just wished I hadden paid when we arrived .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaySandsMotel, Owner at Bay Sands Seafront Studios, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Hello, eddie and kay b,
Thank you for your recent visit to Bay Sands Motel In Paihia. I'm sorry to hear that your stay was less than adequate. We work hard to ensure a comfortable nights rest, but sometimes we fall short. The staff member you mention has been replaced, and the new housekeeper is doing very well. We have extra heating available at the front desk, as the weather in Northland can be quite unpredictable in the winter months.
When you do decide to visit Bay of Islands again, please consider dropping me a line and I will personally see to it that you are well provided for.
Meanwhile, if I might ask a small favor... TripdAvisor is a powerful influence on the motel business, and a review of one star is very detrimental to our survival in a difficult market. Would you please reconsider a slight amendment to your rating? Surely we couldn't have been all that bad!

One again, thank you for your valuable input, and happy travels to you.

Kind regards
Mrs. Brumback,
Owner
Bay Sands Paihia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

I booked a family unit for 4 & was given a unit at the back... No seaview! Spacious enuf tho...

The shower area has no curb thus water flows everywhere in the toilet/bathroom, what a mess! The shower head tubing has split & was leaking badly. Toilet heater is weak. All above makes the bathroom a wet & freezing place to be in winter.

Then I had dirty water splashing down from the ceiling in the next morning cos the unit above left their water running, wetting my luggage & contents, and almost our breakfast too!

While the staff were extremely friendly, no apology was given. I had to ask for an additional floor towel to cover the soggy carpet in the evening when I came back from the day tour.

I am not disappointed with the stay but neither will I stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaySandsMotel, Owner at Bay Sands Seafront Studios, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Hello ChrizLim,
Thank you for coming to Paihia and for your stay with us at Bay Sands Motel. I have personally seen to improvements so that these shortcomings are addressed and rectified. Let me personally apologize, and say thank you for bringing these concerns to my attention. On your next visit, email
baysandsmotel@gmail.com directly and I will see to it that your stay will be most comfortable!
Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Units are very spacious, clean and very reasonably priced. Yes, it is on the main road, but the view makes it worth while. The owner was so helpful with not only sorting out trips we wanted to do, but keeping in contact while we were away - he was also great in finding someone to help me with my knitting!! The pice was a knock out compared to some of the prices in paihia.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaySandsMotel, Owner at Bay Sands Seafront Studios, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Hello Linda and Ala R,
Thank you for your kind review of Bay Sands, Paihia, New Zealand. Hope to see you again very soon.
Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Excellent location, owner is very friendly and helpful. Clean and adequately equipped, décor is fresh but old fashioned. Bay view rooms along the front have great view across to Russell, though there is traffic noise until about 11pm and from 6am, worth putting up with this (particularly first floor) for the view! Convenient for town, ferry and Waitangi also recommend a drive to Kerikeri and try the fantastic food at Wharapuke, make sure you are hungry!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaySandsMotel, Owner at Bay Sands Seafront Studios, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
HI Chris-Brigg,
Thank you for staying with us at Bay Sands in Paihia, New Zealand.
Lovely review, thanks ever so much. Hope to see you again some day..
Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is such a lovely place....ppl there are so friendly and helpful, the rooms are super clean and I had free tea and coffe, I'm gonna come back and stay there again I highly recommend it....also the ocean is just in front, and the town is just in about 10 min walk , which is soooo good.

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaySandsMotel, Owner at Bay Sands Seafront Studios, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Thank yoyu, Please come again.
kind regards
Tulay
baysandsmotel@gmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bay Sands Seafront Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Sands Seafront Studios

Address: 136 Marsden Road | Bay of Islands, Paihia, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bay Sands Seafront Studios 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family style Studio Apartments located on the waterfront at the best beach in Paihia. Free Kayaks, Bicycles, BBQ facility. Free in room WiFi, SKY TV GUEST SELECT. We are located within easy walking distance of the village square, shops and restaurants. All units are equipped with kitchen facilities.Each unit sleeps three persons with one queen and one single bed. An extra bed can be added for a small charge. The family apartment accommodates up to four persons and has a Queen and two singles.Bay Sands Seafront Studios, the Motel that feels like home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, T4B, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Bay Sands Seafront Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Sands Seafront Studios Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Sands Seafront Studios, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.