We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great motel in quiet location convenient for all local attractions.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ash Grove Motel

Save Saved
You added Ash Grove Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Ash Grove Motel
4.5 of 5 Motel   |   Ash Grove Circle | Puketona Road, Paihia 0247, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 44 hotels in Paihia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great motel in quiet location convenient for all local attractions.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with family for three nights. Had two very spacious family rooms. Owners happily sorted out my booking errors with no fuss. Spotless well equipped rooms. Good facilities. Nice pool area.

Just a couple of minutes drive from Paihia and the ferry to Russell. Very quiet and relaxing location. Much better option than staying in Paihia or Russell in my view

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    68
    15
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
68
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in room 1. This was a lovely large room with patio doors leading out onto a lovely garden. The staff were welcoming and friendly. WiFi was available free of charge. This was a great place to stay - the only set back was that it it located about a 5/minute drive outside Paihia - not a walk able distance, this is why I'm giving this 4 stars and not 5.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Being about a 5 minute drive from Paihia itself, you really do need a car to stay here, otherwise you face a rather long climb up a hill to get there. The motel itself is fantastic, with clean, well appointed units, a communal garden area (with BBQ if you wish) and a swimming pool.

Our unit was the first one you come to on the way up the drive, and being on the end meant that we had an extra set of windows, meaning that our unit received plenty of natural light. It was nice to have a little table and chairs in the back garden on our patio so that we could sit and have breakfast outside in the morning. The kitchen had everything we needed.

The owners were really friendly, and although we only stayed for 2 nights, we could easily have enjoyed a longer stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

As others have said, this motel is a couple of kilometres out of the centre of Pahia, so you really need a car if you stay there, but it suited us fine to be away from the town itself.

Our unit had everything we required and was very clean. There was ample parking, and lovely gardens at the rear of the property with a clean swimming pool. I only went in the pool once during our three night stay though - and it was freezing!

There is an washing machine and tumble dryer for guest use.

We had difficulty connecting to the WIFI signal from inside our room (our unit was the penultimate one from the main building) and the only way to connect up was to go into the garden where the signal strength was good.

The hosts were very friendly and helpful with booking tours for us.

Overall, a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

So adaptable, we had booked for 2 nights, but were happy to extend our stay for an extra night. Had a room that looked out to the pool, was lovely. Lovely and quiet, out of the town. Bed, room and room really nice in a great setting. Land Lady really friendly and helpful. Lovely pool to swim in.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland-NZ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

so clean,stylish getaway.helpful people.just 5 minutes drive to town center.if you look for quiet and calm atmosphere, away from the noise of restaurants,bar and vehicles this is the best spot.we've got the one bedroom unit.fit 4 people-2 in the bedroom and 2 in the lounge.spa pool is privat.our unit had opening to the spa and childrens play-ground.had 2 doors-back and front.living room very big.kitchen has all you need-but no oven-just stove.we were very happy and had good sleep.

Room Tip: better call host to ask advice or deals-room depends of how many persons or own choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Stayed here for one night only in the cottage near the road mentioned in a couple of other reviews. To be honest noise was minimal and didn't bother us. Lovely pool set in beautiful garden setting. Great to have Sky as we were able to watch tennis highlights. My only gripe - the spa was out of order. One of the reasons why we booked here. Otherwise very pleasant.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ash Grove Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ash Grove Motel

Also Known As:
Ash Grove Boutique Hotel
Ash Grove Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands
Address: Ash Grove Circle | Puketona Road, Paihia 0247, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
#7 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#20 Family Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ash Grove Motel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only Qualmark and Qualmark Green rated motel in Haruru Falls. Set in stunning gardens with a fabulous pool. Relax in our beautiful and peaceful surroundings. We look forward to welcoming you to our little piece of New Zealand paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Ash Grove Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ash Grove Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.