We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rested and recharged” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ash Grove Motel

Save Saved
You added Ash Grove Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ash Grove Motel
4.5 of 5 Motel   |   Ash Grove Circle | Puketona Road, Paihia 0247, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 44 Hotels in Paihia
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Rested and recharged”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Last minute decision to stay here and there was no problem taking us in. Very handy straight off the highway into the hotel and away from the hussle and bussle. We had been camping for a week and desperate to have a comfy bed, shower and rest up. This was more than we imagined with a gorgeous pool to cool off in. The kitchen had everything we needed to cook a meal and the bathroom had an awesome shower.
As an added bonus we were upgraded to a different room and at a less cost because of the time we checked in. It's customer service like this that gives me faith in the kiwi culture again. Thanks to you both. We loved it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    15
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
69
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Northampton
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

The motel is a few minutes drive out of the centre of Pahia on the main road. After a good welcome we went to our little self contained bungalow near to the road, The motel had a good (though cold when we visited) pool and private spa (you could book). We were made to feel very welcome and thoroughly enjoyed our short stay.

My only minor worry was that there was a bit of road noise and it was a bit awkward to get out of the motel onto the main road to Pahia. I would not let this put me off booking in again.

Room Tip: If you are very sensitive to road noise make sure you tell the owners when you check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic time at Ashgrove. Rooms were well equipped and very clean. Kids loved the fact that they could watch Sky when they woke up. Awesome location and only 3 minutes from Paihia town. Motel is modern with a great saltwater pool which the lids loved! Nice and quiet in evenings for relaxing outside with a beer and wine! This is a fantastic place to stay and we will definately be back. We had a lovely time only regret is that we didn't book longer!! Thankyou for a great stay! Will recommend to everyone!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Hosts Stuart and Carol are very friendly and accommodating. We stayed in Unit 8 (stand alone) for 8 nights, and found it to be well appointed (perhaps a hook in the bathroom could be added?) and in immaculate condition. Very comfortable and clean, close to Paihia (say 8 minutes away, but you need a car). Quiet and peaceful. Suggestions for dining in Paihi proved to be well judged. We entertained some guests for a B-B-Q one night, with the endorsement of our hosts. WiFi facilities (provided for in the tariff) were reliable. Laundry facilities were good. We highly recommend this accommodation to you!

Room Tip: Unit 8 is away from the swimming pool - very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Really clean place with everything included that you could ever want. Busy road at the front of the unit, but it did not affect our stay.

Premises was located out of town, but only 5 mins in the car to Paihia.

The decor was a little dated, such as the touch lamps and the bedspread. The frying pan in our room looked like it lost its non-stick coating several years back and we did not use it because of this.

We paid $165 per night for 6 nights which I thought was pretty steep.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Fabulous welcome from Carol and Stuart on our arrival for our two nights stay. Muffins and a bottle of milk for our cuppa. Our room was superb, with everything included - Hob, microwave and fridge; TV and DVD; large double bed, comfortable chairs, and desk. Ouside in the garden was a table and chairs, barbeque and a swimming pool. Other facilities were free Wifi, laundry, car parking right outside the room, and a superb free Spa Pool, in which we indulged. In fact, we wanted for nothing! This was indeed the best motel/hotel that we stayed in throughout New Zealand. Fantastic value for money. Highly recommended and many thanks to Carol and Stuart.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We couldn't ask for better, this place rocks. BBQ, pool, hot pool, nice room and nice staff.
We had an amazing day/ night in this place.
We decided to have a nice BBQ instead of spending a lot at the restaurants and it truly worth it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ash Grove Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ash Grove Motel

Address: Ash Grove Circle | Puketona Road, Paihia 0247, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#10 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ash Grove Motel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only Qualmark and Qualmark Green rated motel in Haruru Falls. Set in stunning gardens with a fabulous pool. Relax in our beautiful and peaceful surroundings. We look forward to welcoming you to our little piece of New Zealand paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Ash Grove Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ash Grove Boutique Hotel
Ash Grove Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ash Grove Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.