We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time and well located with excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anchorage Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Anchorage Motel to your Saves list
Anchorage Motel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Marsden Road, Paihia, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 42 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
TeAroha
1 review
“Great time and well located with excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2010

My husdand and I with friends have been going to Paihia for several years and we make it a must that we stay at the Anchorage Motel as it is clean and the service is great.
The rooms are always clean and tidy,and the cleaners are all friendly.
The motel is in a great place with a cafe/ Restaurant at the entrance.
The spa and pool area are always clean and tidy.
The Managers are lovely and go out of their way to make sure you are settled and you are happy with your room.
We also take our boat up for the fishing and have no trouble with parking at the back and the security is excellent.
I would like to thank The Managers of Anchorage Motel for making our stays at Paihia a very enjoyable time.
Also thank you for the warm welcome and friendly smile when we stay.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    100
    10
    0
    0
See reviews for
65
181
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Morrinsville, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2010

What a great Motel.Service with a smile,Rooms fullyserviced everyday left clean and tidy.location great everything at your door.sitting on your deck in the morning with that coffee looking out onto the water,watching all the boats and sites.great barbaque area plenty of room for all to use, swimming in the pool or enjoying that soak in the spa
anyone wanting to go fishing what a great place to go and stay and enjoy.we had 3 days fishing and caught many large fish.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2010

We hadnt booked and just turned up, we had a great room and nothing was too much trouble. Great location right over the road from the sea. Great views and right next to an eathing and drinking venue, but we stayed a Saturday night and had no noise from next door and we were the closest unit to it

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Door County, WI
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2010

We booked the Anchorage from the Internet before arrival. We were not disappointed. Lovely place and setting. Excellent service.

If dining out, try Seafood Only, just down the block. Excellent dining experience!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2010

My second visit to this motel. I stayed in one of the ground floor rooms facing the bay. The service is friendly and the facilities are extremely good. I will definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2010

The facility is nice, but not outstanding, the location is good, but the rates certainly include a fee for the view. One imagines that great service could set this place apart, but it doesn't. I have to report that, having been granted our 15 minute leisurely late checkout, we STILL got a call at 5 to ten while we were wrapping up breakfast next door (highly recommended, very nice cafe there) to ask if we were going to check out or whether we wanted to pay for another night (I took this as a threat). No, we didn't stay another night, but we used every single minute of our late checkout.

And the only reason I am here giving a review is they sent me an email requesting it. I feel like I'm working for this hotel, instead of the other way around.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anchor01, Owners/managers at Anchorage Motel, responded to this review, November 10, 2010
We are shocked by the content of this latest review, we have always been very obliging to any late checkout requests to which we simply reschedule the room to be last on the cleaning list.
Our phone conversation with the guest was to establish whether they wished to checkout or stay another night, and we sincerely apologise if this came across differently to the guest.
TripAdvisor encourages owners to email guests for feedback and our wording in this email to invite guests to write a review is "we very much appreciate you submitting a review" we realize that by doing this we may get comments that we do not like but this feedback is also important to make our business better so we thankyou for this.
Regards
Aileen and Denis....Anchorage Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orewa, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2010

We were a party of 11 who travel round New Zealand staying for a while to explore an area. We are unanimous in our praise for our recent stay. The position on the waterfront was great. The rooms are large, well presented and excellently serviced each day. There is a very tidy pool area including a thatched hut for shade when watching the pool or for our small gathering in the afternoons. There are several restaurants nearby with the main part of town only a 10 minute walk. The tours will pick up from the Motel if you don't want to take the 10 minute stroll along the beach front to the tour centre.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anchorage Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Motel

Address: 2 Marsden Road, Paihia, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Paihia
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
#4 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#4 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Anchorage Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Anchorage Motel A warm welcome from owner/hosts, Aileen and Denis. Ideally located motel on the central waterfront of Paihia, in the subtropical Bay of Islands, the cultural hub and recreational Mecca of historic Northland. Come and anchor at our spacious luxury accommodation, designed for comfort and relaxation. Ideal place to stay for couples, family groups and business people. The ideal anchorage for your holiday in the Bay of Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Anchorage Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorage Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anchorage Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.