We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time in Paihai” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anchorage Motel

Save Saved
You added Anchorage Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Anchorage Motel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Marsden Road, Paihia, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 44 hotels in Paihia
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
“First time in Paihai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Very clean room, really helpful staff nothing seemed to be too much trouble, close to everything you can walk to anything in Paihai. Right on the beach just across the road. Room was spacious and very comfortable

Room Tip: No use for a fitness centre and no resturant but all very close
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anchor01, Front Office Manager at Anchorage Motel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Alan, thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and found our accommodation to be clean, comfortable and spacious. We do love our location here as not only does it provide great views but it also allows our customers to park up during their stay and walk to all activities, shops and restaurants evading the need to look for parking in town. We hope you get the chance to come back and visit us again in the future. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    144
    70
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
45
124
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Salzburg, Austria
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I own tourist accommodation myself therefore find it difficult when travelling to have other accommodation places live up to my expectations, no matter what the price. Most motels and hotels are not clean and always have mould in the shower recess. Not this motel - it was great! No mould and very clean and nicely presented. It is situated across the road from the water and has a lovely view from the balcony where there are chairs to relax upon while taking in the views or overlooking the pool/bbq area. It is a very short walk to the main town centre and there is a restaurant just two doors away. The owner was very friendly and extremely helpful. I would definitely recommend this property.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anchor01, Front Office Manager at Anchorage Motel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on your stay at the Anchorage Motel, your time and comments are much appreciated. We are blessed with the location we have, opposite the beach with views across the Bay and a short walk to the town centre, wharf and shops. In addition we do put a lot of time and energy making sure we maintain our standards and provide our customers with all they deserve to enable them to have a fun and wonderful holiday. Very glad you enjoyed your stay, we hope that you get to return to the Bay of Islands sometime to experience more of what we have to offer. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburton, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

On our recent holiday to the north island one of stops was Paihia in the bay of islands where we stayed at the Anchorage Motel. After staying at many and varied accomodations in Europe , the UK and Oz we found the standard of the Anchorage superb. Modern , clean with a great view friendly hosts and staff and just 5 mins walk to the centre of town. ( oops and a bed to die for !! ) Host was extremely helpful in giving advice about Paihia and booking trips to Russell and the dolphin watching. Well done-- score 11 out of 10 !

Room Tip: Higher floor has better views at front
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anchor01, General Manager at Anchorage Motel, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Bruce, we really appreciate the time you took to write a review and what wonderful comments you had to make about our property and your stay, thank you so much. When we get described as ‘superb’ compared to accommodations around the world, we can be truly delighted and pleased with all the hard work we put in to providing clean, modern, well-appointed, up to date, comfortable rooms. We cherish the great staff we have here so I will pass on your kind words to them also. We hope you enjoyed the excursions you did make and that you get to come back and visit again to complete those you did not make on this trip to Paihia. Many, many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Our family stayed two nights in the Anchorage Motel and we enjoyed our stay very much. The room was very nicely presented and the location was excellent. We made use of the kitchen which had everything we needed. The kids really enjoyed the swimming pool and spa.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anchor01, Front Office Manager at Anchorage Motel, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found the location excellent, as we are only minutes walk from town and directly across from the beach it’s hard to find much better. The kitchens are stocked with ample equipment, as we know many of our guests enjoy being able to get their own supplies and eat in rather than always having to dine out when they travel, as you did. It’s great that the kids made the most of the pool and spa, which is hours of entertainment for the little ones. We look forward to having with you stay with us again if you ever make it back to the wonderful bay of Islands. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We recently had the pleasure of staying two nights at the Anchorage Motel. We can not fault anything from the friendly helpful service from the owner Aileen to the superb unit just across the road from the sea. The unit was like new with a stylish bathroom, complete with spa bath, spacious kitchen & dining facilities. Beautiful weather and we wouldn't stay anywhere else in Pahia.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anchor01, Front Office Manager at Anchorage Motel, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Michelle, We really appreciate the time you took to write a wonderful review on your recent stay here with us in Paihia. We are truly delighted that you enjoyed your experience at the Anchorage Motel, situated opposite the beach and loved what we have to offer here, such as our renovated, clean and spacious rooms. We hope you made use of the spa! We hope you get to return to the Bay of Islands in the near future and we look forward to having you stay with us when you do. Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Upper level room meant a great view of the bay. Modern decor and very large bed meant a comfortable stay. Being handy to the town and variety of restaurants made choosing meals easy. Staff were helpful and friendly and gave us some good tips on the area.

Room Tip: Choose an upper level unit if you want the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anchor01, Front Office Manager at Anchorage Motel, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Hi, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us during your recent visit to the Bay of Islands. The views on offer from our upper level are something special and we, as locals never tire of such views. We are pleased that you enjoyed the accommodation we provide here at the Anchorage Motel and that you found the rooms comfortable, modern and clean. We hope you get the chance to return to Paihia so we get another chance to impart more great tips on places and things to do while in the Bay!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isesaki, Japan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

my room was located infron of the ocean, and had a nice room with nice Jacuzzi.

I was traveling from Auckland to Paihia by myself by car, and was tired. But, I could take a great rest in this room.

The room has a well prepared kitchen with lots of cooking items. So, we don't need to worry about bringing lots of items from home.

Owner was cheerful and nice.

Also, there are couple of eating places near the motel, too.

I want to visit this motel when I have a chance to visit Paihia again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anchor01, Front Office Manager at Anchorage Motel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Yuko, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your stay at the Anchorage Motel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and found the Motel comfortable and well equipped. In addition to our well equipped kitchen’s Paihia does have a number of great ‘dining out’ options which as you pointed out are just an easy walk from the Motel. We hope that you do manage to get back to Paihia some day soon so you can experience more of what Paihia and the Bay of Islands has to offer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Anchorage Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Motel

Also Known As:
Anchorage Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands
Address: 2 Marsden Road, Paihia, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
#4 Family Hotel in Paihia
#6 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Anchorage Motel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Anchorage Motel A warm welcome from owner/hosts, Aileen and Denis. Ideally located motel on the central waterfront of Paihia, in the subtropical Bay of Islands, the cultural hub and recreational Mecca of historic Northland. Come and anchor at our spacious luxury accommodation, designed for comfort and relaxation. Ideal place to stay for couples, family groups and business people. The ideal anchorage for your holiday in the Bay of Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Anchorage Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anchorage Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.