We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anchorage Motel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anchorage Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Anchorage Motel to your Saves list
Anchorage Motel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Marsden Road, Paihia, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct and Save
Ranked #6 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Te Aroha
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Anchorage Motel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The motel room we were offered appeared to have been recently refurbished - very clean and modern decor, linen and facilities. A great view of the ocean from this upstairs unit. A restaurant immediately next door which was very handy during the bad weather we experienced that weekend. The friendly owners told us about some sight seeing we could do once the weather had improved. We would like to return in the summer to take advantage of the wonderful pool facilities and the beach just across the road.

Room Tip: Upstairs units offer great sea views of the Bay of Islands.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alf0798, Owner at Anchorage Motel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thankyou Hendrika M for taking the time to review our property. We are in the final stages of the complete refurbishment of our motel that should see completion by late spring. Starting back in 2010 we have replaced and upgraded all our sea facing rooms with: air conditioning, new... bedding, dinning furniture, kitchens and bathrooms as well as repainting. All of which really gives a fresh modern look to our motel.
We would love to have you return for a summer break sometime to not only enjoy our facilities but also for what the lovely Bay of Islands has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    89
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
56
155
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gore, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

We looked around a few motels in Paihia before coming across The Anchorage, and we looked no further. We had a one bedroom unit with a queen in the lounge and two singles in the bedroom. The room was very clean, which is the most important thing for us. The whole room was lovely and there was nothing we did not like. The owners were lovely people too. Would highly recommend this motel, great job Anchorage!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anchor01, Owner at Anchorage Motel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review our Motel and thank you very much for all of your positive feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay here and your warm comments about us. We always endeavour to ensure that our guests are made to feel welcome and we look forward to seeing you again should you come to visit the beautiful Bay of Islands.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

One of the nicest places we stayed in during our NZ holiday. Modern, spacious, clean, well appointed and our unit had a lovely view out to the BOI. The bed arrangement also suited us (with the single beds in the bedroom and double in the main living area) so we could stay up after putting kids to bed. Good location as only a short walk to pier and shops etc. Wish we had a longer stay!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anchor01, Owner at Anchorage Motel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to review our property and the nice comments you have made about it. Our units do have lovely views out into the Bay and the sun setting on Russell which is directly opposite our motel is always pretty amazing. With some notice our bedding arrangements can be very flexible and able to be configured to meet any guests requirements.
When next visiting NZ we would love to have you revisit us and stay longer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

we have recently had bad a experience at a hotel in Auckland and this place restored our faith in hoteliers! it was simply perfect and so relaxing. the owners were really welcoming and we will definately be back. finally we have found a home away from home.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis P, Owner at Anchorage Motel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property and I am so sorry about your recent experience in Auckland but glad that we were able to ''restore your faith". I'm glad you had a nice and relaxing stay with us and we would love to welcome you back!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nerang, Australia
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We don't often stay at small motels so was worried when I booked from Australia, but my concerns were not warranted, we had great service on check in and check out. Great location at the southern end of the main road along the waterfront. Restaurants are close by - easy walk. Would recommend staying on first floor and get a room with water views. Expected to get a bit of traffic noise but this was not an issue at all. Definitely recommend staying here. As we were only there for one night - went with a studio room which was roomy enough for us and our 3 suitcases. Bathroom was spacious and was spotless.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 10 which was a studio with water views - very roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis P, Owner at Anchorage Motel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our Motel. Thank you for the positive feedback and I'm glad to hear you appreciate our location as well as the views just as much as we do!!! If you ever return to the Bay of Islands we would love to welcome you back and maybe stay for a couple of nights instead?? once again thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mangawhai, Northland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

From the moment we arrived we were very impressed with the service offered by Aileen which was very friendly and very informative. We were given a superb room with a spar bath, and was extremely pleased by the cleanliness and the way everything was set out, including the knives forks and spoons in the drawer being lined up in individual rows. With out doubt this place could not be faulted so much so that we will be going back in July and staying here to celebrate my partners birthday.

Room Tip: A very good restaurant near by is The Thai restaurant along the waterfront which was recommended to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis P, Owner at Anchorage Motel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review our Motel and thank you very much for all of your positive feedback. I will be passing on your feedback to our hard working housekeepers and I am sure they will appreciate it. I am glad you had an enjoyable stay and look forward to seeing you again in July!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

A great outlook, comfortable and extremely clean and tidy. Handy to fabulous restaurants, within easy walking distance of a unique seaside township. Well worth the money.
Although the road was in the front the rooms are far enough off there to not hear any traffic. Good heating system, very warm.

Room Tip: Book the rooms upstairs facing the sea, great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis P, Owner at Anchorage Motel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for taking a moment to review our Motel. I am pleased to hear you had and enjoyable stay with us here at the Anchorage and were able to take in the beautiful views. I am happy to hear you took advantage of some of the Restaurant's our seaside township has to offer. We would love to welcome you back if you are ever in the area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anchorage Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Motel

Address: 2 Marsden Road, Paihia, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Paihia
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
#5 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#7 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Anchorage Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Anchorage Motel A warm welcome from owner/hosts, Aileen and Denis. Ideally located motel on the central waterfront of Paihia, in the subtropical Bay of Islands, the cultural hub and recreational Mecca of historic Northland. Come and anchor at our spacious luxury accommodation, designed for comfort and relaxation. Ideal place to stay for couples, family groups and business people. The ideal anchorage for your holiday in the Bay of Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Anchorage Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorage Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anchorage Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.