We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“restored my faith” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anchorage Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Anchorage Motel to your Saves list
Anchorage Motel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Marsden Road, Paihia, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 42 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“restored my faith”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

we have recently had bad a experience at a hotel in Auckland and this place restored our faith in hoteliers! it was simply perfect and so relaxing. the owners were really welcoming and we will definately be back. finally we have found a home away from home.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis P, Owner at Anchorage Motel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property and I am so sorry about your recent experience in Auckland but glad that we were able to ''restore your faith". I'm glad you had a nice and relaxing stay with us and we would love to welcome you back!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    100
    10
    0
    0
See reviews for
65
181
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nerang, Australia
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We don't often stay at small motels so was worried when I booked from Australia, but my concerns were not warranted, we had great service on check in and check out. Great location at the southern end of the main road along the waterfront. Restaurants are close by - easy walk. Would recommend staying on first floor and get a room with water views. Expected to get a bit of traffic noise but this was not an issue at all. Definitely recommend staying here. As we were only there for one night - went with a studio room which was roomy enough for us and our 3 suitcases. Bathroom was spacious and was spotless.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 10 which was a studio with water views - very roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis P, Owner at Anchorage Motel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our Motel. Thank you for the positive feedback and I'm glad to hear you appreciate our location as well as the views just as much as we do!!! If you ever return to the Bay of Islands we would love to welcome you back and maybe stay for a couple of nights instead?? once again thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mangawhai, Northland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

From the moment we arrived we were very impressed with the service offered by Aileen which was very friendly and very informative. We were given a superb room with a spar bath, and was extremely pleased by the cleanliness and the way everything was set out, including the knives forks and spoons in the drawer being lined up in individual rows. With out doubt this place could not be faulted so much so that we will be going back in July and staying here to celebrate my partners birthday.

Room Tip: A very good restaurant near by is The Thai restaurant along the waterfront which was recommended to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis P, Owner at Anchorage Motel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review our Motel and thank you very much for all of your positive feedback. I will be passing on your feedback to our hard working housekeepers and I am sure they will appreciate it. I am glad you had an enjoyable stay and look forward to seeing you again in July!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

A great outlook, comfortable and extremely clean and tidy. Handy to fabulous restaurants, within easy walking distance of a unique seaside township. Well worth the money.
Although the road was in the front the rooms are far enough off there to not hear any traffic. Good heating system, very warm.

Room Tip: Book the rooms upstairs facing the sea, great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis P, Owner at Anchorage Motel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for taking a moment to review our Motel. I am pleased to hear you had and enjoyable stay with us here at the Anchorage and were able to take in the beautiful views. I am happy to hear you took advantage of some of the Restaurant's our seaside township has to offer. We would love to welcome you back if you are ever in the area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northcote, Auckland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Excellent motel, very clean and tidy and the beds were so comfortable. The rooms were very spacious and we booked one with an extra room for our young daughter, so we could stay up later in the main room. Very friendly hosts and a great location close to the town centre with lovely sea views. Will definitely visit again, thank you.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis P, Owner at Anchorage Motel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our Motel. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and I am glad you had an enjoyable stay. We look forward to seeing you again when your next up in the Bay of Islands.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We found the Motel in the local A.A guide as it seemd to be one of the few with a bath/ jacuzzi and this was our priority. on Arriving the owner made us welcome and the room was one of the best we ahve stayed in in NZ . The bedroom / lounge / kitchen were spacious and the bed was a King size i think. being keen on rugby i enjoyed the sky coverage and movies. the bathroom was large also with well stocked towels soap etc.each moring they were replaced with fresh ones. The kitchen was well stocked and the cleaners each day are to be comended for their work they did.
Over all a very pleasant time we had . thanks . Pukekohe Auckalnd NZ

Room Tip: unless you prefer a better view of the harbour and like climbing stairs then the down stairs rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis P, Owner at Anchorage Motel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you both for taking the time to review our Motel and thank you for your amazing review. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and I am very happy to hear you had a good stay with us and we are one of the best in New Zealand! I will be passing the comments on to our hardworking housekeepers. If you are ever in the area again we would love to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

The Anchorage is a fabulous place to stay. Awesome location on the beach front and a close walk to town. Our room was amazing - very clean, great amenities, comfortable and the spa bath was the icing on the cake! The hosts were also fabulous - great advice on things to do and even provided some taxi services for us. I thoroughly recommend a stay at the anchorage.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis P, Owner at Anchorage Motel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thanks for taking a moment to review our property. It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us and thanks for the amazing feedback. If you area ever in Paihia again you know where to find us!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anchorage Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Motel

Address: 2 Marsden Road, Paihia, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Paihia
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
#4 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
#4 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Anchorage Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Anchorage Motel A warm welcome from owner/hosts, Aileen and Denis. Ideally located motel on the central waterfront of Paihia, in the subtropical Bay of Islands, the cultural hub and recreational Mecca of historic Northland. Come and anchor at our spacious luxury accommodation, designed for comfort and relaxation. Ideal place to stay for couples, family groups and business people. The ideal anchorage for your holiday in the Bay of Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Anchorage Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorage Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anchorage Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.