We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anchorage Motel

Save Saved
You added Anchorage Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Anchorage Motel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Marsden Road, Paihia, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 44 hotels in Paihia
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Just Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

After a fairly long & scenic drive from Auckland we were pleased to pull into this lovely place. Check in was smooth & very friendly. We had booked a studio room & were told we'd been upgraded to a 2 bed apartment (I thought this only ever happened to "other people"). We were shown to our room & given some milk for a well needed cuppa. The apartment was gorgeous, nice kitchen area & lounge/dining, which had an awesome view over the pool to the beautiful bay. 2 seperate bedrooms, both with tv. Bathroom was lovely & big. Everything was spotlessly clean. Reception gave us heaps of info about tours, eating out etc. They provided discount vouchers to a few of the restaurants. There is a restaurant right next door which does breakfast onwards. We dined there 1 night & used a free drink voucher from the motel.
Reading a previous review I agree about the smoking. I actually am a smoker, but only smoked on the balcony if our neighbours windows were closed, otherwise I went for a walk around the gardens or over to the beach. I would not have minded a designated smoking area, as long as it isn't just shoved into a corner.
We travelled as a couple but this place would be perfect for families too.

Room Tip: Great view from upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    144
    70
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
45
124
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, England
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in Feb 2013 on our honeymoon, our room was massive (we got 2 bedrooms!) the view of the sea was stunning. Aileen was very friendly and helpful throughout our stay. We booked our jet skiiing activities through the motel which was helpful. There are some lovely resturants we went to including the Waterfront, and The Pier (amazing location over the sea!) Fantastic spot for exploring the Bay of Islands.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anchor01, Owner at Anchorage Motel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our little slice of paradise. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your honeymoon stay here in Paihia and were able to take in the beautiful waterfront views from your 2 bedroom room and were also able to take advantage of what the Bay of Islands has to offer. We hope to see you again soon in the near future!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We arrived in Paihia with no bookings and were glad we found the Anchorage motel
The rooms were modern, friendly management, top location with each room having water views
would recommend this to anyone visiting the Bay of Islands

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anchor01, Owner at Anchorage Motel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
We thank you for choosing to stay with us upon your arrival into Paihia. So glad to hear you enjoyed our great location, not to mention the stunning views over the Bay. Thanks so much for the fantastic recommendation. We would love to welcome you back if you are ever visiting our beautiful area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We arrived late,tired and hungry Aileen signed us in quickly gave directions for food and drinks and we were away. Couldn't believe how close to everything. Opposite beach and easy walk everywhere else. Aileen booked us into tours and gave us discount cards for restaurants all very good service. Would liked to have stayed longer than our 3 days but had to get away. We were finding Auckland booked out but Aileen found accom. near the airport where the hosts deliver you to the overseas terminal anytime day or night. Again great service. Loved Paihia would go back for longer relaxed stay anytime. Agree with Keith M on the smoking issue but rooms great and service friendly. Thanks Aileen.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anchor01, Owner at Anchorage Motel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your great review of your recent stay with us. It was certainly our pleasure to assist you with local information and pass on discount vouchers to help you get the most out of your Bay of Islands experience. We were also only too happy to help with your other accommodation needs in Auckland. It was lovely to have you stay with us and we would welcome you back on your next visit to Paihia, hopefully for your desired longer stay! PS. We are definitely looking into creating a "designated" smoking area away from the units to add to the comfort of all our guests and we appreciate your comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria BC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Great location, great staff and all the amenities you need for a wonderful Bay of Islands holiday.
Close to town, close to beach and pool and hot tub on site to sit and watch the world go by.
Didn't want to leave....

Room Tip: Sea view , upper level .
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anchor01, Owner at Anchorage Motel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Your fantastic review is very much appreciated. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our very central location and found time to relax in our salt water pool and spa. Maybe time will allow you to stay longer with us on your next visit to Paihia :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Great place to stay, very convenient, easy to find - right on beach and close to centre.
Small (but adequate) pool if needed. Kitchenette was a real bonus. All facilities and clean and tidy.
Aileen was great, very friendly and helpful - small shared balcony only reason it did not get 5.
Wish we had stayed longer - maybe next time.
Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anchor01, Owner at Anchorage Motel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
We do appreciate the time you took to place your feedback on your recent stay with us. It is lovely to hear you were able to take advantage of our handy location and make use of your unit's kitchen facilities whilst staying with us. Our salt water pool is among some of the larger ones you will find available in Paihia and it's great you were able to enjoy cooling off on a hot summers day! Our shared balcony does give our rooms all easy access and many friendly conversations have been struck up between our guests while enjoying the stunning sea views. We are sorry also you weren't able to stay longer with us but hopefully on your next visit time will allow you to take a longer break away :-) Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

This motel is superbly located on the beachfront, close to restaurants, and has first class facilities and fittings. Although we had been a little concerned about possible noise from the nearby main road this proved not to be the case. Very helpful hosts. One slight downside is the way some guests choose to sit outside units and smoke with the smoke entering adjacent units. With such lovely weather it is a pity to have to close doors and windows. One dispute over this issue occurred during our stay. Perhaps a smoking area could be created away from the units?

Nonetheless we had a really enjoyable break.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anchor01, Owner at Anchorage Motel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thanks so much for placing your helpful feedback of your recent stay with us. We are pleased you enjoyed our wonderful location and facilities during your visit to Paihia. We are sorry to hear you had a disagreement over other guests smoking on the balcony as we were not aware of this at the time of your stay. We really appreciate your fantastic suggestion to create a smoking area away from the rooms and we will definitely be putting some serious thought into finding a suitable alternative area for this to ensure the comfort of all guests. Once again we are happy to hear your stay with us was still an enjoyable experience and we would love to welcome you back on your next visit to the beautiful Bay of Islands.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Anchorage Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Motel

Also Known As:
Anchorage Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands
Address: 2 Marsden Road, Paihia, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
#4 Family Hotel in Paihia
#6 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Anchorage Motel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Anchorage Motel A warm welcome from owner/hosts, Aileen and Denis. Ideally located motel on the central waterfront of Paihia, in the subtropical Bay of Islands, the cultural hub and recreational Mecca of historic Northland. Come and anchor at our spacious luxury accommodation, designed for comfort and relaxation. Ideal place to stay for couples, family groups and business people. The ideal anchorage for your holiday in the Bay of Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Anchorage Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anchorage Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.