We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best place to stay!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anchorage Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Anchorage Motel to your Saves list
Anchorage Motel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Marsden Road, Paihia, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct and Save
Ranked #6 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Dargaville, Northland, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“best place to stay!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

the anchorage motel is a beautiful place to stay, the rooms are stunning and peaceful, also they have a gorgeous view of the harbor.waking up to the smell and sound of the beach is bliss. the staff are so welcoming and more than happy to help in any way they can! :) and we are very happy to say that we will see you next yr. thank you so much

Room Tip: -the pool is great for kids, if you want more then there are plenty of activities to do around paihi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anchor01, Owner at Anchorage Motel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
It was lovely to have your family stay recently with us while your husband took part in the Kerikeri Half Marathon. We love being right across the road from the water and it is always nice to be able to share our stunning views with our guests and know that they appreciate it as well! We look forward to seeing you again same time next year and hopefully the weather will be kinder so that the children can enjoy the pool more. Thank you for taking the time to make a review of your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    89
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
56
155
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We only stayed 2 nights at Anchorage motel but we loved every second of it. We had a bottom floor with no view, but we had booked last minute so this wasn't a worry. The pool and spa were impossible clean; I didn't see a single leaf in there despite the high winds we experienced the first day.
When we walked into the room and got a shock. It reminded me of the luxurious Hamilton Island in Australia, but it was about 1/5 the price. Beautifully decorated, amazing beds and an ensuite to die for. We only had time to meet Aileen, who was warm, welcoming and wonderful.
The Anchorage Motel is situated only five minutes walk from central Paihia and you wont find a nicer, friendlier and more charming place to stay than here for your Bay of Islands trip.

Room Tip: Book early in peak season to get a room with a view on top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anchor01, Owner at Anchorage Motel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Wow! We are immensely grateful for your wonderful review and feel very proud to be rated up amongst other international 5 star accommodation. We are continuing to upgrade our room facilities to ensure we provide modern and well presented rooms for our guests. We have also recently added extra comfort layers to our beds so we really appreciate your positive feedback of your stay with us. We do hope the rest of your time spent in New Zealand was wonderful and we would love to see you again if you are able to visit Paihia another time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed four nights at start of our NZ holiday and it set the mood for a great trip. We had ground floor room but view over Bay and to Russell was excellent. Right on beach front and handy for restaurants (friendly one next door) and several excellent ones within a few minutes walk. Town centre and wharf area only a short walk. We didn't bother with the car for three days.
Room was clean, tidy and well appointed. All we needed. Advice regarding restaurants and activities at reception was spot on.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anchor01, Owner at Anchorage Motel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
That is great to hear your stay with us began your holiday in our beautiful country in such a fantastic way. We do take pride in our location being so central to all of Paihia's amenities and it's good to hear you took advantage of that during your time with us. Thank you for the wonderful feedback on our rooms and helpful advice from reception, our team is always grateful to receive appreciation for their hard work. We would love to have you stay with us again on your next visit to the Bay of Islands.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosford, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Stayed here last week for what was going to be a simple 3 night stay. Room was clean, bed comfortable, housekeeping staff very efficient and friendly. Motel appears to have been recently refurbished. Bed and pillows comfortable. Noise minimal, great ocean view from rooms. Good reataurants within walking distance.

On our first night my partner got very ill and required medical assistance. The hosts were very obliging in assisting us with seeking medical assistance and offered to assist us in any way if they could. We ended up staying a fourth night because my partner could not travel. This was not a problem at all and we were provided with a 4th night at a good rate.

We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anchor01, Owner at Anchorage Motel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
We were so sorry that your partner was unwell during your recent stay with us. We really appreciate you taking the time to pass on your positive feedback. It was our pleasure to make sure you were as comfortable as possible while your partner was recovering. We certainly hope that you will be able to return to visit us one day so that you can experience all that the beautiful Bay of Islands has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We totally enjoyed our stay there. The unit was very nicely decorated, modern and right across the road from the beach. As well there was the swimming pool, spa pool and barbecue area which we utilised during our stay. Nothing was too much trouble. I only wish we had stayed longer.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anchor01, Owner at Anchorage Motel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
We are delighted we were recently able to host you here at the Anchorage Motel and your kind comments are very much appreciated. It was great that you found time to unwind and relax while using our pool, spa and BBQ facilities. We would love to welcome you back on your next visit to Paihia, and maybe time will allow you to stay longer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed two nights at the Anchorage Motel. Upstairs room had a lovely view of the water and beyond. Room itself very well appointed and modern, restaurants and cafes within easy walking distance. Wonderful location, central to other activities. A very inviting swimming pool completed the property, albeit a bit too cool to enjoy whilst we were there.
Unfortunately our tight schedule precluded a few more days there.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anchor01, Owner at Anchorage Motel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments and feedback on your recent stay with us at the Anchorage Motel. We were delighted you were able to stay in one of our upstairs rooms and enjoy the stunning view of the Bay. It is rewarding to know our guests appreciate the high standard of rooms we provide and that they can also enjoy being so conveniently located to our local restaurants and tours. Hopefully you will be able to come back and stay another time when the weather is a little warmer and you can relax and indulge in the swimming pool!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

It was very late and dark by the time we finally arrived at the Anchorage Motel. I was concerned that the reception office would be closed for the night! Imagine our relief when we found a note on the door personally welcoming us. "You are in room 4, the key is on the table and milk is in the fridge". You have no idea how good those words were to us. And so began a lovely two day stay. The rooms were the cleanest we have ever stayed in, air conditioned and generously sized. The boys had their own room with TV! The beds were very comfortable with a great selection of pillows to suit all needs. The bathroom is so spacious you actually could swing a cat in it, plus it had a spa bath which was fabulous! The boys played in the pool and/or lounged in the outdoor spa. We got all the help we needed in terms of activity and restaurant assistance, including discounts and bookings. Super location just a few minutes walk to the main street and wharf. Last but not least, i broke my sunglasses just as we were leaving. Yep, you guessed it....Aileen fixed them!! Thank you for a great weekend. We will be back.

Room Tip: Parking at your door for the lower level. Great views top level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anchor01, Owner at Anchorage Motel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
The team at Anchorage Motel thank you for your wonderful feedback. Our housekeeping staff are always pleased to hear their efforts are appreciated. It was fantastic that your boys had fun in the pool and spa and enjoyed their short break away with you. We are always pleased to be able to offer our guests discounts on tours and restaurants to help make the most of their visit to Paihia. It was an absolute pleasure to have you and your children stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again when you next visit our beautiful area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anchorage Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Motel

Address: 2 Marsden Road, Paihia, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Paihia
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
#5 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#7 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Anchorage Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Anchorage Motel A warm welcome from owner/hosts, Aileen and Denis. Ideally located motel on the central waterfront of Paihia, in the subtropical Bay of Islands, the cultural hub and recreational Mecca of historic Northland. Come and anchor at our spacious luxury accommodation, designed for comfort and relaxation. Ideal place to stay for couples, family groups and business people. The ideal anchorage for your holiday in the Bay of Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Anchorage Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorage Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anchorage Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.