We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“spectacular view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tarlton's Lodge

Save Saved
You added Tarlton's Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tarlton's Lodge
11 Sullivans Road, Paihia, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 23 Paihia B&B and Inns
Munich, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“spectacular view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Paihia is a very good starting point to explore the Bay of Islands and Mike's B&B is the perfect place to stay. You can't find a more spectacular view and having a bath in your personal hot tub on the terrace makes it even better.
The breakfast is all that you can wish for and Mike's advice about things to do and see is invaluable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    101
    4
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
7
89
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

We have an amazing view from our room, just had a lovely fresh breakfast served with a smile.
Thoroughly recommend this place absolutely gorgeous!
A light walk into town ( just to work off the lovely food ) into beautiful quaint Paihia. I believe the markets on today, so here we go!'





  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Me and My wife stayed at this amazing lodge for 2 nights (please note we had only booked for 1 night but ended up extending our stay for another night) Mike is a very welcoming host which added nothing but plus points in our stay. The room that we stayed in was one of the most beautiful room we have ever stayed in NZ in regards to the view , the room , the bathroom, the service.

SPA Bath - a bonus. The service provided by Mike right from making the room to the early morning breakfast was just spot on. Right from the time we entered we were given all the possible info of around bay of plenty. We were assured by our Host that he will just be an text away and so was the case. My wife could not stop taking pictures of the room and the view.

Highly , Highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

We loved our stay here! Mike is really a great host with a superb eye for fine taste.
Loved our room with own private outdoor spa bath with spectacular views of Paihia.

Totally recommend it. And we adored Pedro & Toby too. You will find out why!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Amazing Views, clean, private and with a spa.... couldn't ask for more...... It is a little out of the way and up a windy road but it was nice to be away from the hustle of the beach area. Mike was extremely helpful and we had a lovely breakfast on our patio the next morning.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I'd read on TripAdvisor that Tarlton's had the best view of the NYE fireworks in Paihia, and we were not disappointed! Upon arriving at the house, we already got a sense of the beautiful hilltop view across the Bay of Islands. Mike was a great host, helpful and friendly but never overbearing, and offered loads of great advice on things to do in the Paihia/Russell area. His awesome cooked breakfast, served on your own veranda each morning, was another highlight. The rooms are luxurious and private, all three rooms were occupied while we were there but we never saw any of the other guests (except briefly to say "Happy New Year" at midnight!). The location is also great; after driving around the North Island nearly every day, we were keen to leave the car behind. Paihia is about a 10 minute walk down the hill, near enough to stroll to dinner, but far enough away from the noise and crowds of New Year's Eve. Overall, Tarlton's was a great choice for a secluded getaway in the Bay of Islands!

Room Tip: All rooms have their own private access, but Room 3, on the far right of the building, has its own e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

The view, room, and Mike's hospitality (and awesome breakfasts) made Tarlton's my favorite spot on my three week trip of the North Island. The location is close enough to walk to town (although you have to huff it back up the hill!). I didn't want to leave - - I kept tacking on additional nights!

The place was up for sale when I was there in August. I hope there are no changes with new ownership.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tarlton's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarlton's Lodge

Address: 11 Sullivans Road, Paihia, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paihia’s most spectacular sea & island views await your discovery at Tarlton’s Lodge. All our luxury B&B rooms have their own entrances, decks, spa pools & parking space. Each room is designed & furnished to the highest standard with leather armchairs you can really relax in & enjoy the fabulous views. Every morning(weather permitting) I will cook you a wonderful breakfast & serve it to you on your own deck. Each day I service your room & replenish your fridge with fresh milk. After you return from an adventurous day relax in your own spa pool looking out over the Bay of Islands. I have lots of local knowledge about the area & the tours as well. Tarlton’s Lodge is situated just an 8 minute walk or 2 minute drive to the centre of Paihia, close to the amenities & tours but away from the hustle & bustle.**Please note we do not take children** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Tarlton's Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tarlton's Lodge Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tarlton's Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.