We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tarlton's Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Tarlton's Lodge to your Saves list
Tarlton's Lodge
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   11 Sullivans Road, Paihia, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 23 Paihia B&B and Inns
Devon UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fabulous!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

Wow, what a place. Faultless. Best place we stayed in throughout our whole trip. Fantastic view, beautiful room, brilliant shower, super clean, lovely breakfast served on the balcony...and a hot tub that overlooked the bay.

We'll be back one day...and I'm looking forward to it already.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    5
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
7
104
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
bandon, county cork
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

Absolutely superb facilities with stunning views over the bay. Beautiful infinity pool. Mike was amazingly attentive. The room was extremely comfortable with a wonderful bathroom. Great internet access. Sadly I only had one night here.

The accommodation is very convenient for both Paihia and Russell. Take a boat trip to Hole in the Rock and visit the Waitangi Treaty Grounds while you are here. Stay more than one night.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2011

Found this accommodation listed in Lonely Planet and were not disappointed.
We spent three nights here at the start of our trip around New Zealand. Our room (The Nest) was beautiful and very comfortable, the en-suite had everything we needed and there were also tea/coffee making facilities and fresh milk was available in the fridge.
Breakfast was freshly prepared by Mike and Alan, who were both very informative and entertaining.
We were able to use the infinity pool, which was just what was needed after a few, very hot, hours sightseeing. The views were stunning.
Wish we could have stayed longer. Should we ever go back to New Zealand this would most definately be our first stop.
Tarlton's Lodge set the bar in NZ, for home stays. It was superb in every way, none of the other accomodation we stayed at in North or South Island came close to this excellent standard .

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

My husband and I are Americans living in Auckland for the next year. We booked a room at Tarlton's Lodge to go over the Auckland anniversary weekend. Unfortunately, Cyclone Wilma hit. We got within 15 minutes of Paihia and were told the roads were impassable. I am posting, because despite all the problems we faced, dealing with Alan at Tarlton's was an absolute pleasure. Not only did he go to check out the roads on his side for us, but he stayed on the phone with us to try to help us find an acceptable detour. Sadly, the roads were so bad we were not able to get to Tarlton's. Alan gave us a full refund! I just wanted to share this experience, because I am so impressed with the customer service. There is no doubt we will book a room at Tarlton's again. If not being able to stay was this much of a pleasure, I can only imagine how fabulous actually being there will be!

Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarltonslodge, Manager at Tarlton's Lodge, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Clare,

I'm very happy to hear you both enjoyed your stay with us. We both work very hard to keep our standards at an ultimate high for our guests and it certainly pays off when we hear you enjoyed your stay.

All the best and hope to see you soon!

Regards,

Natasha & Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darmstadt, Germany
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

Tarlton's Lodge was the highlight of our 4 weeks vacation in New Zealand. Right at our arrival, Alan (one of the hosts) invited us to the New Year's Eve party, making us feel so welcome! The room, even though without sea view was fantastic. We found the view over the tropical rainforest really romantic and fully enjoyed it at sunset.
Having breakfast with a view over the Bay of Islands was also exceptional. Not to mention the delicious gourmet breakfast prepared by our most friendly hosts: Mike and Alan. It really felt like home.
But it got even better: the New Year's Eve was fantastic! We had the best possible view over the fireworks in the bay and we fully enjoyed the plentiful delicious buffet prepared by Alan. If you are a tourist in a foreign country, New Year's Eve can be a pretty unspectacular evening, but thanks to Alan and Mike it was a great event.
We enjoyed our stay a lot and if we would have had the time, we would have gladly gone back to Paihia, even for one more night...

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011

Tarlton's Lodge offers a beautifully designed modern house high up in a neighborhood overlooking the Bay of Islands. The views are outstanding, the rooms are fully equipped and expertly decorated. Bed, linens, towels and amenities were all very good- excellent. The host, Mike, lives nearby and cared for us and the other guests very well- we had good breakfasts each day. The house is in a neighborhood about a 15-20 minute walk up a steep hill from downtown Paihia- you get views and quiet at the expense of proximity. Unless you just have to live in town, a stay at Tarlton's lodge is the answer in Paihia.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2010 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights at the lodge and it was a great way to start our trip. Facilities are great- private balcony with spa, great shower, easy access to restaurants in paihia. Mike was most welcoming and offered some great tips of what to see and do. Breakfast was a feast! Would definitely recommend to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tarlton's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarlton's Lodge

Address: 11 Sullivans Road, Paihia, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tarlton's Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paihia’s most spectacular sea & island views await your discovery at Tarlton’s Lodge. All our luxury B&B rooms have their own entrances, decks, spa pools & parking space. Each room is designed & furnished to the highest standard with leather armchairs you can really relax in & enjoy the fabulous views. Every morning(weather permitting) I will cook you a wonderful breakfast & serve it to you on your own deck. Each day I service your room & replenish your fridge with fresh milk. After you return from an adventurous day relax in your own spa pool looking out over the Bay of Islands. I have lots of local knowledge about the area & the tours as well. Tarlton’s Lodge is situated just an 8 minute walk or 2 minute drive to the centre of Paihia, close to the amenities & tours but away from the hustle & bustle.**Please note we do not take children** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Tarlton's Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tarlton's Lodge Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tarlton's Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.