We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“warm and friendly hosts with a perfect view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Baystay B&B

Save Saved
You added Baystay B&B to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Baystay B&B
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   93A Yorke Road, Paihia 0204, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 23 Paihia B&B and Inns
oxford, uk
1 review
“warm and friendly hosts with a perfect view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2010

located 3km from Paihai this very modern and clean small B@B gave us everything we could have asked for at the start of our trip around NZ The hosts were very welcoming and attentive without being in your face. Certainly felt very comfortable and a real home from home. The view from the wrap around deck to the river is one you would find hard to tire of. Breakfast was freshly made with plenty of variety. Only downside was its distance from Paihai if you wanted to enjoy a glass of wine or two with your dinner, though a tuk tuk taxi is a cheap and fun way to get back after a walk along the river into town. A great and friendly stay by far the best B@B we stayed in.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    137
    13
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
124
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2010

Unfortunately we only had 2 nights here as it was a very comfortable and friendly visit, we could gladly have stayed longer if we had the time. Nick & Rob made us feel right at home, we were made very welcome from the start. Breakfast was a real treat. Our ensuite room was self contained with aircon, TV, free Wifi, fridge (stocked with beer & soft drinks & honesty box). We had an excellent time and we fully recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2010

Friendly hosts, good with local advice. Lovely area amid farms away from the tourists in Paihia. Free WiFi. Great breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2010

Nick & Rob do everything to make your stay enjoyable & comfortable. We had the
largest room which was really lovely with air conditioning.tv and bifold doors opening onto the deck where you could sit with a glass of wine admiring the view. Coffee was
always available in the guest lounge and a welcome thing to come back to after a
day out. A car is essential as it would be difficult to get to without one, however there
is plenty of parking space. We certainly hope to visit again if we go to the Bay of
Islands.
Anne & Herman UK
view.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baarn
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2010

I had two wonderful days and nights staying in Ti-tree room at the Baystay B&B. The room was perfect with a clean bathroom. Could use the internet and I had nice conversations with the hosts Nick and Rob and the other guests. Breakfast was excellent with the homemade croissants. Because of the rain we couldn't eat outside on the beautiful deck that they have. It was there very quiet and I could rest very well after my long flight. The tips they gave me were very useful for travelling around the country.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sittard
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2010

We had a wonderfull stay. We felt very welcome. Our hosts did everything to make our stay in New Zealand unforgetable.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2010

We do not stay frequently in B&B's because my husband prefers hotels. However, we both loved the Baystay and the owners Rob & Niek. We stayed there for 3 nights. What makes the stay unforgettable are the hosts. They make their home available to their guests. In the evening, their living room, or the large deck, become a salon, where guests can hang out, reading, watching TV, chatting, or even having serious discussions. Coffee, tea and fruit are always available.
Both Niek and Rob are very knowledgeable about the area. I was amazed when I watched Niek answer another guests questions, the same I asked the prior day. He gave this guest his undivided attention and time, giving him his advice. You have to like what you are doing in order to do it so well.
At another time, I asked where we could do a load of laundry, and Rob not only offered their facility, but while we were on a sailing trip, he finished it for us.
In addition, as everybody else attests the breakfasts are fantastic, the house is modern and very nicely furnished and super clean.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Baystay B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baystay B&B

Address: 93A Yorke Road, Paihia 0204, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Baystay B&B 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free WIFI, All rooms are air-conditioned. Baystay B&B is situated overlooking the Waitangi River, just out of Paihia where you will find a variety of restaurants and shops, or you can relax at the beach. Enjoy a complimentary breakfast, the spa pool or just the views from the deck. We can give tips on how to explore Northland or give help on booking your day trips. Relax, No Worries! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Baystay B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baystay B&B Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baystay B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.