We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant B & B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Baystay B&B

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Baystay B&B to your Saves list
Baystay B&B
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   93A Yorke Road, Paihia 0204, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 23 Paihia B&B and Inns
Horley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant B & B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

From the moment we arrived until the time we left we were made to feel very welcome by the excellent hosts Nick & Rob. Nothing was too much trouble and they gave us good advice of where to eat, what to see etc. The room was comfortable and clean and the breakfast was superb, particularly the home made kiwi jam which was brill! The B & B is situated on a hill with great views of the surrounding countrytside and the river below. We would highly recommend Bayside B & B to anyone visiting this area.

Room Tip: There are 3 rooms at the Bayside all appear to be equally as good..
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John191265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Brussels
Level Contributor
92 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

When we arrived at the baystay, the smell of freshly baked chrstmasbread "stollen" was welcoming us. Our room was perfect and had direct access to the deck and was nicely decorated. After having refreshed ourselves Nick was offering coffee, tea, water .... and discussed with us the plans for the next day. We booked via him our trip with the NZ sail. They do have with several companies restaurants special deals, so don't forget to ask them. After coming back from dinner we sat on the deck listining to the birds and we heard even from the otherside of the valley a kiwi! At breakfeast they serve fresh baked fench croissants - yes french, selfmade yoguhrt and selfmade marmelade etc. etc. And eggs how would you like them?

Room Tip: Try to get the room with direct access to the deck
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Over-en-Naar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Stayed for two nights - the rooms were clean and comfortable, although a little on the small side. Room needed more table-top space - small surfboard table considered inadequate. The gourmet breakfast was something else.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Nick and Rob were the perfect hosts for our exploration of the Bay of Islands in October (2012). They were veritable tour guides, suggesting sites to see, restaurants to dine in, and hikes to try. They even brought out the sun for us. The B&B is clean, comfortable, relaxing, up-to-date. And we had a view of the surrounding countryside every morning from the deck right outside our room. We highly recommend Bayside B&B to anyone traveling in this area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank onespoiledtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Wonderful. !! My husband and I spent two nights at the Baystay and it felt like home from the moment we arrived. Spacious and immaculate with all the amenities a great B and B should have. Yummy breakfast also with the best home made kiwi jam. This was the best place we stayed while in NZ.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travellots29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

Our hosts gave us good advice. They were most kind and helpful to us. Highly recommended in our experience.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

Hidden down a tiny road, accessed between two houses, emerges Baystay B & B. The room was beautifully appointed and comfortable but the gem was the view from the open plan living area and the large deck. The land falls away to the river with the cliff face on the far side. Nick and Rob were very welcoming and made us feel at home, and the breakfast was excellent! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would certainly go back to Baystay if we travel to the Bay of Islands again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
1.6 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection
0.5 mi away
Longhouse Bed and Breakfast
1.8 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 stars 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Tarlton's Lodge
Tarlton's Lodge
#6 of 23 in Paihia
5.0 of 5 stars 164 reviews
2.2 mi away
Chalet Romantica
Chalet Romantica
#1 of 23 in Paihia
5.0 of 5 stars 398 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Retreat
The Retreat
#13 of 23 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 stars 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baystay B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baystay B&B

Address: 93A Yorke Road, Paihia 0204, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Baystay B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free WIFI, All rooms are air-conditioned. Baystay B&B is situated overlooking the Waitangi River, just out of Paihia where you will find a variety of restaurants and shops, or you can relax at the beach. Enjoy a complimentary breakfast, the spa pool or just the views from the deck. We can give tips on how to explore Northland or give help on booking your day trips. Relax, No Worries! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Baystay B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baystay B&B Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing