We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you're in Paihia, you NEED to stay here!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Pickled Parrot Backpackers

The Pickled Parrot Backpackers
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Pickled Parrot Backpackers to your Saves list
The Pickled Parrot Backpackers
9 Greys Lane, Paihia 0247, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Paihia
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“If you're in Paihia, you NEED to stay here!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

After sleeping in a car for a few nights, this place was like a palace! The staff was so friendly and the facilities were amazing. Sure the kitchen was a little on the small side, but it got the job done. The toilets and showers are all BRAND NEW, and they're all individual bathrooms (as in you get your own toilet and shower! It's nicer than my bathroom back at home!) in a shared common area. We stayed in one of the outside rooms and really enjoyed it. If you're in the area, this is definitely the place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    17
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
3
20
23
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here in Feb 2013 for 3 nights. The place is located a 5 min walk from central Paihia, and has a really nice outdoor feel to it, with the rooms around a courtyard. Rose, the manager, gave us a warm welcome and we were able to check in as soon as we arrived. The room was a double with shared facilities, which was light and airy with a comfy double bed. Bathrooms were good, recently refurbished and clean (and sufficient in number!). Basic breakfast of toast and cereal are provided, get there early to ensure you get some as milk was finished by 9am. The kitchen and common room areas are good also, with pans etc provided. This hostel requests quiet from 10pm and silence from 11pm - which is adhered to and we had good nights sleep during our stay. Paihia is a nice seaside town, with plenty of bars and restaurants catering for the backpacking community (centred around kings road) and more discerning clientele along the seafront. I would defintiely stay at the Pickled Parrot again, maybe stay somewhere else if you're looking for a party hostel though! Oh yeah, there is free wifi which is quite fast.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We arrived with our baby daughter and were instantly told off for not having told them that she would be coming too (we actually had sent them an email about it). It shouldn't have mattered anyway as we didnt ask for anything else- we had brought our own travel cot, etc but we were made to feel really unwelcome. The person who greeted us then huffed and puffed and found us our room that was already booked anyway (a lot of hassle, waiting around, etc for no reason).

Anyway, besides that the place is great and you don't need to interact with the staff as it's quite self explanatory. The rooms were clean and the shared facilities were well looked after. Location is very good too- just a short walk into the centre.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Köln
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

What a lovely place! We stayed there for 10 days over Christmas (actually we stayed longer than we had planned!). Although the weather over the Christmas days was absolutely horrible, Rose, the host, was very welcoming and made our stay a homelike and great experience. She and her great staff treated us with a big cooked English breakfast and initiated a Christmas swim on Christmas day. There is a cozy and beautiful communal are including a well equipped kitchen, a cute sitting room and loads of nice seats outside to tan, chat, read or surf the (free!!) net on the veranda and little courtyard. There is free tennis including balls and rackets and a gas BBQ as well. Party goers: you have to be quiet at 11pm or stay somewhere else :-) Well, we definitively highly recommend that lovely place. Go there for at least 2 or 3 days. Loads of things to do around, anyway!

Room Tip: The two hutlike cabins are simple but very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Very very clean toilets and we stayed in a double room which was super comfy and the best was the free bicycles that we took around the whole town and also into Russell. Staff very nice. Location is only 5-10 mins walk from info centre(depending on luggage you are dragging)
24 hr open lounge and kitchen

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire Moorlands
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Our two night stay at the Pickled Parrot in Paihai was our first backpacker experience. Our family had a four bed family room, but my husband and I had an ensuite room with lounge, kitchen and shared terrace which was over and above what we had expected. Everything was clean and tidy. Although we were ensuite, I did check out the communal showers which were modern and of a good standard. The manager Rose was a friendly person, and made us feel very welcome.

Would recommend The Pickled Parrot as a reasonably priced option when staying in the Bay of Islands, and it is a flat easy l0 minute walk into the centre of Paihai.

Room Tip: Ask for the double ensuite room with lounge, kitchen and shared terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I enjoyed my stay overall at Pickled Parrot. Facilities were good and the rooms were clean. Overall the hostel was quite small and the common areas were quite crowded at times. It isn't a party hostel and there are quite a lot of rules, but I guess this makes for a pleasant experience for everyone!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.2 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#6 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 stars 328 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection
0.2 mi away
Base Backpackers Paihia hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Mousetrap Backpackers
0.2 mi away
Peppertree Lodge
Peppertree Lodge
#8 of 28 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 stars 108 reviews
0.6 mi away
Haka Lodge Paihia
Haka Lodge Paihia
#2 of 28 in Paihia
5.0 of 5 stars 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pickled Parrot Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pickled Parrot Backpackers

Address: 9 Greys Lane, Paihia 0247, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and relax at the Pickled Parrot. Enjoy free breakfast in this small personal hostel set in a sub tropical garden paradise. Friendly welcoming hosts, very clean accommodation, excellent kitchen facilities, all linen provided. Close to beach, restaurants and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your The Pickled Parrot Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pickled Parrot Backpackers Hotel Paihia
The Pickled Parrot Backpackers Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pickled Parrot Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.