We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice backpackers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Pickled Parrot Backpackers

The Pickled Parrot Backpackers
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Pickled Parrot Backpackers to your Saves list
The Pickled Parrot Backpackers
9 Greys Lane, Paihia 0247, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Paihia
Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
130 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Nice backpackers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

After the initial struggle to find it as the sat nav was a bit confused, we ended up in a nice little backpackers.

We had a double room four ourselfs. It was basic but had everything you need. The room was clean but the mattrasses could be a bit more comfortable.

The kitchen is well equipt and has enough space to cook for everyone. Just next to the kitchen is the living room with TV and DVD player. So watching a DVD when people are cooking is almost impossible due to the noise.

There are enough bathrooms the amount of people and they are spaceous and from the looks newly renovated.

The staff is really friendly and was always helpful, let it be for organzing a trip or with other information.

The only thing is personally did not like was that the owners dogs walked around everywhere, especially the kitchen, as me personally I do not like animals close to where I prepare food. But this is my personal opinion.
Otherwise everything was fine.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    17
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
3
19
22
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here for a weekend away, it was like a home away from home for a good price, purely chilled out, clean, comfy, quiet, small. The owner was lovely. The kitchen and living area are like a small house so its great for socialising with the other guests!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Level Contributor
119 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

The Pickled Parrot was excellent accommodations for the price--especially all the added bonuses! The hostess Rose was incredibly gracious and a great source for local recommendations. Our room was separate and clean, and the bed was very comfortable. My favorite part was the extensive floral and plant landscaping that gave it and "away from it all" feel (I awoke to the sound of birds!). The Pickled Parrot included (free!): Wi-fi, tennis gear, bicycles, washer/dryer, tea, coffee, breakfast...Overall incredible value!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
92 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

The main draw of this place is definitely its free WIFI considering that internet is pretty expensive in NZ. Breakfast is provided but when we woke up half an hour before breakfast is supposed to end, the bread had already run out. You maybe able to ask for more but we did not as we had our own food. Room and kitchen are both a little small, but it did not bother us that much. Bathrooms and room are all reasonably clean. Location-wise, it is walking distance to restaurants, bars and mini-mart.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
59 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Paihia is a nice destiny to travel around Northland, from here you can go to many places, even Cape Reinga.
If you come, stay at this hostel.
Tha staff is very friendly, is comfortable, nice, and the most important very tidy and clean, I think is one of the cleanest backpacker where I´ve stayed.
But is a quiet hostel, so if you´re looking for a party one, maybe this is not the right.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
226 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

I stayed at this hostel twice throughout my travels and I totally loved it!
The location is beautiful, close to town, and right by the main beach. The facilities are cosy, comfortable, and very clean. It has a warm and friendly atmosphere and the management does a wonderful job of maintaining it.
Breakfast and Wifi are also included - which is not the case throughout NZ, so enjoy it!
I loved this place...and I highly recommend it as a great base to stay and see the surrounding area!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Ohio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

It's a short walk to the town center, the lady who owns the place is very nice, keeps the place very clean. It's a nice atmosphere to meet other travelers. I remember the beds being very comfortable for a hostel too. I stayed in my tent a couple nights for a little less money, then it rained for 5 days :P

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.2 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#6 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 stars 323 reviews
0.2 mi away
Base Backpackers Paihia hostel
0.2 mi away
The Mousetrap Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Peppertree Lodge
Peppertree Lodge
#8 of 28 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 stars 108 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bay Adventurer
Bay Adventurer
#24 of 28 in Paihia
3.5 of 5 stars 69 reviews
0.2 mi away
YHA Paihia
YHA Paihia
#15 of 28 in Paihia
4.0 of 5 stars 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pickled Parrot Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pickled Parrot Backpackers

Address: 9 Greys Lane, Paihia 0247, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and relax at the Pickled Parrot. Enjoy free breakfast in this small personal hostel set in a sub tropical garden paradise. Friendly welcoming hosts, very clean accommodation, excellent kitchen facilities, all linen provided. Close to beach, restaurants and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your The Pickled Parrot Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pickled Parrot Backpackers Hotel Paihia
The Pickled Parrot Backpackers Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pickled Parrot Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.