We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pickled Parrot Backpackers

The Pickled Parrot Backpackers
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Pickled Parrot Backpackers to your Saves list
The Pickled Parrot Backpackers
9 Greys Lane, Paihia 0247, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Paihia
Santiago, Chile
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Paihia is a nice destiny to travel around Northland, from here you can go to many places, even Cape Reinga.
If you come, stay at this hostel.
Tha staff is very friendly, is comfortable, nice, and the most important very tidy and clean, I think is one of the cleanest backpacker where I´ve stayed.
But is a quiet hostel, so if you´re looking for a party one, maybe this is not the right.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    16
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
3
19
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
224 reviews 224 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
223 helpful votes 223 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

I stayed at this hostel twice throughout my travels and I totally loved it!
The location is beautiful, close to town, and right by the main beach. The facilities are cosy, comfortable, and very clean. It has a warm and friendly atmosphere and the management does a wonderful job of maintaining it.
Breakfast and Wifi are also included - which is not the case throughout NZ, so enjoy it!
I loved this place...and I highly recommend it as a great base to stay and see the surrounding area!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Ohio
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

It's a short walk to the town center, the lady who owns the place is very nice, keeps the place very clean. It's a nice atmosphere to meet other travelers. I remember the beds being very comfortable for a hostel too. I stayed in my tent a couple nights for a little less money, then it rained for 5 days :P

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

We spent three nights at Pickled Parrot on our two week honeymoon in NZ. We had the penguin suite (above the office) and since it was low season, had the living room, kitchen, and upstairs deck to ourselves. The free Internet was convenient, though not always reliable. Nice to have cereal and toast provided in the morning, though we made good use of the well equipped kitchen for dinners. Only complaint is that other backpackers were loud at night and woke us up. Rose was lovely and made us feel quite welcome. We stayed an extra night because we were so comfortable. Would recommend this as a good base camp for the Bay of Islands.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

We stayed just one night but I wish we had stayed longer.

A very clean backpackers with options of cabins and dorms. It is set in a lush garden so you really feel away from everything yet it is walking distance to all of Piahia.

The bathrooms are spotless and great showers! A very large communal kitchen and lounge area. Breakfast was provided (simple bread with spreads and some cereal options).

We stayed in Pigeon Room which was great. It was a little cabin set slightly up from the dorm rooms. One double bed and one single. While close to the road there is no traffic noise. Plenty of parking was available.

The backpackers as a no noise after 11pm policy, which was great and everyone adhered to. It was a very quiet, but unfortunately quick stay.

Room Tip: Pigeon Room is a perfect spot for couples
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Really enjoyed our stay here. Very relaxing place. Stayed in a twin cabin amongst banana palms. Very clean room, bedding was clean and kept us warm. Staff were really friendly and helpful, especially the owner Rose. Bathrooms were kept clean. Good kitchen facilities. A free breakfast was provided (as long as everyone kept the kitchen clean) which was appreciated. Good communal lounge area and outside patio area. A little bit further out from town than some of the other places but still within walking distance and worth it in our opinion. Has a no noise policy after about 11pm which we thought was a good idea - appreciated being able to get some sleep! Would definitely recommend staying and if we are ever back in Paihia we'll be staying again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Northwest
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
112 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

We spent 2 nights in a private double. The hostel itself is very low-key, well-run, and friendly. All the rooms have sliding glass doors onto sort-of decks, and the bathrooms and kitchen are across the courtyard.

Pluses:
Super friendly and helpful owner Rose
Very clean
Fairly quiet- there is a VERY enforced 11pm no-noise rule
Free DVDs to borrow (though a limited selection)
Free breakfast (though by 9am, most is gone)
Free wi-fi! In NZ!!
Adorable pet dogs lying about
Free parking
Free towels
Good value

Minuses:
It's a bit out of town (about a 10-min walk, but no big deal)
It feels like camping- you have to walk outside to get to the showers/toilets

If you're looking for laid-back beachiness, with UNHEARD-OF free wi-fi and breakfast in NZ, this is a good choice.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Pickled Parrot Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pickled Parrot Backpackers

Address: 9 Greys Lane, Paihia 0247, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and relax at the Pickled Parrot. Enjoy free breakfast in this small personal hostel set in a sub tropical garden paradise. Friendly welcoming hosts, very clean accommodation, excellent kitchen facilities, all linen provided. Close to beach, restaurants and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your The Pickled Parrot Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pickled Parrot Backpackers Hotel Paihia
The Pickled Parrot Backpackers Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pickled Parrot Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.