We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conveniently situated off the road and out of town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Retreat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Retreat to your Saves list
The Retreat
22 Paihia Road | Paihia, Paihia 0247, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 23 Paihia B&B and Inns
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Conveniently situated off the road and out of town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

A couple of kilometres south of Pahia The Retreat lies up a steep private driveway that leads to a collection of bungalows and motel rooms overlooking Pahia Harbour and Russell. Whatever the weather the views are magnificent from the balconies on the main small block of motel style apartments - whether it's a lovely sunset or a shower sweeping over the bay it is sure to captivate.
Our apartment was roomy, laid out well with good kitchen kit to help a self caterer. A good comfy bed and lots of hot water are always a requirement and this place did not fail. More difficult was access to the advertised guest laundry - only useable between 10 am and 6 pm - just the time when guests are unlikely to want to be doing their laundry chores. The reason for the rule is understandable - the laundry room butts up to guest chalet and who wants a washer running at unsociable hours? Help from Jan and co-operative guests sorted it all out for us.
The town offers lots of restaurants, bars and attractions and there is a choice of two supermarkets.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    15
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
25
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ferntree Gully, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We left our Paihia accom to the last to book because of the cost and the choice in the area. Luckily we picked the best. Kevin is a great host, very laid back and helpful. The room wasn't new, but it was clean and spacious. The view is to die for. I was still feeling the effects of an early departure and woke early my first morning there. To watch the sun rise over The Bay of Island from bed was awe inspiring. Our only mistake was booking for 2 nights. A week would have been more appropriarte.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, Brazil
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

There are endless places to choose from in Paihai area so it's hard to choose but you won't go wrong at the Retreat if you want fantastic views, a comfortable home away from home, and friendly hosts. Jan and Keith run a great operation. The property is well marked on the highway with an enticing drive up the narrow roadway to the cabins. You can relax on the deck as the tide comes and goes. See the cruise ships arriving in the distance, the sailboats in the bay and the oyster diggers down below in the tide pools. The units are basic, with all you need to cook if you wish. A mircrowave would have been handy. The place is so clean. Beds comfy. Sheets and towels replaced during the week as well. Nice touch. Not easy access to walk to the beach - down a long hill along the highway, but plenty of great beaches to drive to.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deep South
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed here over New Years eve 2012/13. We spent a lot of time choosing where to stay in Paihia and we weren't disappointed in the Retreat. As other reviewers have said its outside Paihia, which is on the other side of a steep hill. But as we weren't looking for accommodation right in town this suited us well. The views were stunning and the setting is beautiful. The owners were very helpful and the studio unit we stayed in was clean and comfortable. One word of warning, depending on the time of year you stay, you need mosquito repellant (we'd forgotten ours), we were all bitten a lot, I had 40 bites on one leg alone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
166 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Nice and clean, been here 3 times for buisness, want to come back with da wife one day, will be back.
Hosts are nice and friendly. The views are to die for. I cant really complain about anything, nice warm heater in room, ice in fridge, can walk down to the sea.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

We stayed at the Retreat in March for 5 days and our hosts, Kevin and Jan, made our stay very comfortable. The accommodation is exceptionally clean and comfortable and everything you need is there. I think the views from the balcony are the best in the area. It is set well off the main road amongst the trees and is very quiet and relaxed. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

Stayed at the top Lockwood that overlooks the harbour, with views towards Opua and Russell. Accommodation was dated, but clean, with a homely bach feel. My wife and daughter loved it, as did I. Superb views from the deck, enhanced by the surrounding bush and with great hosts in Jan and Kevin (is the TV sorted), we'll defintely be comming back. I will be recommending this place to all and sundry.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Retreat

Address: 22 Paihia Road | Paihia, Paihia 0247, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quiet,secluded natural bush setting set on a 10 acre Penninsula with panoramic uninterrupted seaviews,Northfacing,but only 3 minutes drive to Paihia Central.Bush walks,great Fishing,native bird life and access to the Coastal Walkway A perfect home away from Home ,Friendly Hospitality ,Relaxed Genuine Kiwi Owners ,on site. Prepare to be spoilt.A great place to base your Complete Northland Holiday ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Retreat Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.