We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The view from the balcony is breathtaking” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Retreat

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Retreat to your Saves list
The Retreat
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   22 Paihia Road | Paihia, Paihia 0247, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
PREPARE TO BE SPOILT
Ranked #14 of 23 Paihia B&B and Inns
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The view from the balcony is breathtaking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

We stayed at the Retreat in March for 5 days and our hosts, Kevin and Jan, made our stay very comfortable. The accommodation is exceptionally clean and comfortable and everything you need is there. I think the views from the balcony are the best in the area. It is set well off the main road amongst the trees and is very quiet and relaxed. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    15
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
27
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

Stayed at the top Lockwood that overlooks the harbour, with views towards Opua and Russell. Accommodation was dated, but clean, with a homely bach feel. My wife and daughter loved it, as did I. Superb views from the deck, enhanced by the surrounding bush and with great hosts in Jan and Kevin (is the TV sorted), we'll defintely be comming back. I will be recommending this place to all and sundry.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

Have stayed here several times over the years. First thing is that if you need easy access to food/bars/restaurants etc. it is not for you; you need to drive about 5 minutes from here to downtown Paihia. But if you are into collecting pupu and pipi (shellfish) from the beach below, then you are in the right place. It is a great spot for a quiet weekend away as a couple, or for a family base to explore the BOI if you are keen on cooking for yourself.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

Recently stayed at The Retreat whilst on a touring holiday in North Island. This is a perfect place for relaxing with amazing views especially as our unit, at the top of the site, was spacious & quiet with a big deck for sitting and watching the boats on the bay. There was also a deck on the other side of the unit which made it perfect for chasing the sun, or avoiding it if it became too hot on the main deck. The owners were very friendly and helpful. The only downsides were that The Retreat is too far out of Paihia to walk so if you want to eat out in the evening you do need to go by car and New Zealand drivers do tend to drive very close to the car in front so plenty of warning needs to be given when turning into the narrow drive up to the Retreat. I should thoroughly recommend this place to anyone who wants to chill out whilst they are on holiday.

Room Tip: Choose a unit at the top of the site for better views and quietness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

This was the perfect place to start our holiday! After a busy lead up to our holiday, then the long flight we were more than ready to relax at The Retreat. We stayed in the cabin at the top of the hill -it is in a beautiful setting with amazing views from the long patio. With windows on both sides you can always catch the sun - morning or evening. The cabin was very well equipped and perfectly clean. It was wonderful to be able to prepare breakfast and dinner and to sit outside sipping wine watching the boats and yachts sail past. We didn't even try to connect to the internet - the information said to leave behind the phone and listen to the tuis and that is exactly what we did. Wonderful!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
110 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

We where a bit concerned after we had read some of the reviews but this was quickly dismissed once we got there. The Host and Hostess were very agreeable and helped out when ever we needed assistance. We stayed in a cabin that overlooked the bay towards Russel and the views truly are a spectacular. Indeed my wife was taken ill for a day or two and I never seemed to get bored with the changing activities and sunsets I was able to view. As I mentioned we stayed in a unit that over looked the bay and consider this to be the best spot on that site. That Bungalow is divided into 2 units, a single bed unit and the other has 2 bedrooms. The dividing wall is a bit thin between the units so one can sometimes hear the clatter of pots and pans but this shouldn't be seen as a show stopper for staying there.

This is a particularly nice part of the North Island to stay and does give the general tourist a great spot to locate and explore the area. Be careful of the speed cameras in Kaikohe though !

One review mentioned about leaving pretty quickly and a sobbing wife in toe, well I can only assume they arrived there on spec and took the last unit next to the office which should be avoided if you want to be left alone.

When we go back there again we will try to stay there again, which given one of our other reviews ( Diamond Harbor Hideaway) does give it a 2 thumbs up vote of confidence

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

A friend and I stayed here in mid March of 2011 for three days and loved every minute of it. The cabins all seem to have wonderful views of the bay, clear and unobstructed views of the sky at night, and the place itself was both quiet and restful thus truly making it a retreat as it's name implies.

We were greeted by one of the owners who promptly showed us to our room in a shared cabin. Our neighbors were a middle aged couple from the UK and so noise wasn't a problem for us at all. Our living and sleeping areas were neat and tidy. I have seen some comments about this place looking dated, I didn't see anything of the sort as the linens were fresh, the furniture appeared to be recent (within a decade old), the appliances and fixtures appeared to be up to date too and so this wasn't a problem for me at all. There were many windows in all of the rooms and so catching a nice sea breeze wasn't difficult at all.

The few problems I had here were relatively minor ones. As the name implies, The Retreat is set back a ways from the urban area and so you will either need a car or cash on hand for a taxi. Rides to and from central Paihia seemed to range from $17-$20 NZ dollars per trip. Also, the entrance to the driveway can take one by surprise on the road if they're driving here, thankfully, Google Maps street view shows the entrance and so a well prepared visitor can familiarize themself with the entrance prior to their visit. Also, while wireless internet access is available here, the range doesn't completely cover all of the property as our cabin at the top of the hill could not get a signal at all. Instead of an inconvenience, I saw this as a chance to move about and get to know some of my fellow guests and the owners while I sat near the main building to briefly check my email and facebook. But to be fair, this place trumps those entirely and I wouldn't have bothered to check either had I not have needed to for my work.

Bottom line: if you truly want to get away from it all for a few days, or enjoy your trip away from an urban area and don't mind a few VERY minor inconveniences, then this place is definitely for you and you will not be disappointed. If you simply *must* have an ultra modern hotel with all of the amenities or cannot stay too far out of an urban area, then you may want to find a different place to stay. I have a lot of fond memories of this place and the staff was very gracious to my friend and I as they took us on a tour of some of the other local attractions which aren't always on the tourbus routes and I consider myself indebted to them for their kindness and hospitality. It isn't everyday that one finds a place like this and I would gladly saw off my right arm just to come back here again.

Room Tip: Better views tend to be had the higher up the hill you are. If you want wifi access, get a room clos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.9 mi away
Chalet Romantica
Chalet Romantica
#1 of 23 in Paihia
5.0 of 5 stars 338 reviews
1.8 mi away
Appledore Lodge
Appledore Lodge
#4 of 23 in Paihia
5.0 of 5 stars 137 reviews
2.5 mi away
Longhouse Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Decks of Paihia Luxury Bed and Breakfast
2.7 mi away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 stars 758 reviews
1.8 mi away
Morepork Riverside Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Retreat

Address: 22 Paihia Road | Paihia, Paihia 0247, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quiet,secluded natural bush setting set on a 10 acre Penninsula with panoramic uninterrupted seaviews,Northfacing,but only 3 minutes drive to Paihia Central.Bush walks,great Fishing,native bird life and access to the Coastal Walkway A perfect home away from Home ,Friendly Hospitality ,Relaxed Genuine Kiwi Owners ,on site. Prepare to be spoilt.A great place to base your Complete Northland Holiday ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your The Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Retreat Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.