We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Natural Hosts!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Morepork Riverside Lodge

Save Saved
You added Morepork Riverside Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Morepork Riverside Lodge
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   846 Puketona Rd., Paihia, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #3 of 23 Paihia B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Natural Hosts!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We (couple plus 12 year old daughter) stayed one night at this delightful lodge in December 2012. We were in the Riverview room - very spacious, comfortable and a lovely big bathroom.

Great as the accommodation was, however, what really stood out for me was the welcome we received from our hosts Paul and Barbara, who were clearly put on this earth to run a B&B - even though they seem to do a million and one other things as well. We will definitely be back.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    108
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
82
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Farnham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Seven days in February and the highlight of our five week trip. We were very impressed with NZ B & Bs in general but this one took the biscuit. Paul and Barbara could not have been more welcoming. Every time we came in Paul was there to check all had gone well and to offer tea, coffee stickies etc. Given notice they will cook dinner and dine with you. If that is a concern I can tell you they are excellent company. The room was spacious as was the bathroom. View excellent although nowhere near the sea. Breakfast was wonderful and Paul even had a go at reproducing my favourite school one - how thoughtful. A word of warning - NZ Marmite is not proper Marmite!

Room Tip: Two out of three rooms face the rear of the house. Get one of those if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Having stayed with Paul and Barbara five years ago we were so pleased to be back there again for a three night stay.We were welcomed as old friends and instantly felt at home. Morepork Lodge has developed so well since our previous visit and we were treated to a conducted tour of the grounds and introduced to all the animals including my namesake chicken!!
It is hard to improve on perfection but both of our hosts always go the extra mile to ensure that everyone has a memorable experience.We are already saving for our next visit and cannot recommend Morepork Lodge more highly for an unforgetable visit to the Bay of Islands.You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are great but our favourite is the Riverview Room with it's jaccuzi bath and de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We booked for one night on our way back to Auckland, but stayed for two because we liked it so much. The rooms and surroundings are superb and Paul and Barbara are wonderful hosts. I highly recommend Morepork.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

By the end of our four night stay here we felt like part of the family. A lovely setting, with comfortable rooms. Paul and Barbara think of everything and couldn't be more helpful. They cooked two wonderful dinners for us and the breakfasts were amazing, especially the pancakes with grilled banana. I highly recommend a visit to Paihia and a stay at Morepork. I'm still enjoying the tea Paul, thanks again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

Spent 6 nights in absolute comfort. Quiet location , fabulous hosts who provided 2 superb home cooked meals.
The grounds are amazing and it's so nice to sit on ones own deck with a drink enjoying the view.
Highly recommended ,Paul & Barbara can't do enough to make you feel at home and comfortable.
Don't miss.

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herefordshire
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We started our trip here and it has spoilt us for anywhere else. Barbara and Paul are excellent hosts and made us feel instantly at home. Their local advice was indispensable. Our room (the Waitangi) had a lovely view over the river valley to the fields opposite and was very comfortable. Dinner was excellent and it was lovely to be able to eat with our hosts and other guests. The breakfasts were also excellent and set us up for the day. I cannot recommend this B&B highly enough. I wish we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Choose one of the two rooms overlooking the garden and river valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Morepork Riverside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morepork Riverside Lodge

Address: 846 Puketona Rd., Paihia, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Morepork Riverside Lodge 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our B&B/Homestay set in 4 acres on the Waitangi River, just out of Paihia Township on the way to Kerikeri. Stroll through gardens & native bush, home to many birds including Moreporks (NZ’s native owl). Tame alpacas, sheep and a goat. All rooms have a king or super king bed, en-suite (one with a large corner bath), TV&DVD, tea & coffee, refrigerator & wireless broadband. Our two river side rooms also have their own deck and a sofa. Puketona room guests have use of a table & chairs on our BBQ deck. Yummy full breakfasts. Gourmet or Light evening meals available. We are "Kiwis" and have traveled extensively throughout NZ and the Pacific. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Morepork Riverside Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morepork Riverside Lodge Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morepork Riverside Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.