We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for an inaugural wine tasting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mission Restaurant

Mission Restaurant
198 Church Road, Greenmeadows, Napier 4112, New Zealand
06 845 9354
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 135 Restaurants in Napier
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Brasserie, New Zealand, Winery
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great for an inaugural wine tasting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

The man and I went for the first wine tasting in our lifes, missed the classic tour on arrival and instantly got a private one! Staff were very friendly and not in the least upset with us greenhorns, they explained very well, showed us the cellars and let us try more than the typical set of 5 wines. Bought a bottle of dry, red wine (cannot recall the grape though) for Xmas and it was delicious. Plus the setting of the place is just awesome. Thanks for that!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    67
    17
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

You know you have been spoilt in life when you only give The Mission a 4 out if 5. The food is very nice and the service is good to. The location is lovely. If I was being critical I'd say it possibly lacks a little atmosphere but that's just being picky!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Food great but let down by room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

We had the set menu which included an entree, main & dessert. All my meals were delicious. My entree was duck ham, fig, blue cheese, pomegranate, walnut & rocket. My main was rosemary, honey soy glazed chicken breast. My dessert Chocolate Trilogy. However, the room we were seated had cobwebs in two corners of the ceiling. And the room was not pleasing to the eye - needs a revamp!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“An interesting tasting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Very good tasting, but make sure you have a designated driver! We tasted a variety of wines and there was a good explanation about them all.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great dinner.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

My wife and I ate here mid week for the first time. We were both very impressed with the service and food.
We shared an entree and both had a main one of which was the vegetarian option and the beef.
Both dishes were tasty and well presented. The restaurant itself has a great ambience, being the oldest winery in New Zealand, the waiters were more than happy to answer any questions.

We will defiantly be back and will be recommending.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mission Restaurant also viewed

Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Mission Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mission Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.