We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family evening to dine for” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Church Restaurant & Bar

The Old Church Restaurant & Bar
199 Meeanee Road | Hawkes Bay, Napier, New Zealand
+64 6-844 8866
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 126 Restaurants in Napier
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $17 - $37
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Old Church is a stunnng Hawkes Bay landmark that has been converted into a plush and quirky restaurant and bar. It also offers luxury botique accommodation in the neighbouring villa. Both the Villa and the Restaurant venue have been rated 5 stars by Qualmark and are perfect for weddings, events, conferences, corporate functions and parties.
1 review
“Family evening to dine for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2015 NEW via mobile

This place was stunning from the outside all the way in. Amazing how much has gone into restoring an old building like this and I was so please we booked in for dinner here. They had an open fire going, there was a great wine selection and an amazing menu. We sampled and enjoyed a range of the entrees and our steak meal for our main was outstanding. Loved the deserts, great finish. All staff members were efficient and polite and the price was more than reasonable. We had such a nice family evening and will certainly be looking forward to returning in the future.

Visited May 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    10
    9
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
“A Wonderful Wedding Week to remember”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2015 NEW

My Princess Chanelle, always wanted to get married at The Old Church. Moira and the team went Above and Beyond to create a Fairy Tale wedding that Walt Disney himself could not produce any better. Instead of having two nights at the Old Church Villa, we were given Four Fantastic nights in a house with so much elegance and luxury, every time we walked through those doors. Our wedding day was so relaxing and worked like clockwork. We never felt rushed and everything flowed nicely. The food was mouth-watering, a food lovers paradise, a slice of heaven if you'd like. The Old Church itself needs no decorations as on its own the ambiance from inside the venue and chandelier is breath taking. Moira is a pleasure to work with, she really knows how to treat her guest and goes out of her way to exceed your expectations. I cannot wait to visit The Old Church again for lunch or dinner, either way this place is absolutely wonderfully. I highly recommend it as a romantic getaway place or to have family and friends for an delicious meal. Thank you Moira and the team

  • Visited April 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Excellent night out. ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2015

A very great evening out with excellent company, freindly service and most importantly superb food. The uniqueness of the restraunt really makes it one of the best dining experiences around.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeppoon, Australia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2015

We dine here every time we are in the bay . It is one of our favourite destinations and always enjoy the atmosphere and the cuisine.

The seasonal menus are always a delight and a pleasant change. We enjoy trying the new tastes and delights.

Sitting in the courtyard watching the magnificent sunsets or sitting by the fireside in the winter it is always a treat.

We cannot wait to visit again .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
1 review
“Awesome lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2015

Went for lunch on Sunday, beautiful food (the lamb dish is a must) . I will definately go back soon.

  • Visited April 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Church Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to The Old Church Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Church Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.