We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A memorable night to remember... and repeat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Indonesia Restaurant

Indonesia Restaurant
409 Marine Parade, Napier 4001, New Zealand
+64 6-835 8303
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 136 Restaurants in Napier
Price range: $5 - $28
Cuisines: Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Celebrating 31 Years (established in 1983) 'Restaurant Indonesia' invites you to experience the unique dining experience of 'Rijsttafel'. We are the only restaurant in New Zealand providing this concept. 'Rijsttafel' (literally translated in 'rice table') is best described as a multitude of dishes (mostly served warm) served to your table and kept warm on candle powered heaters. 'Rijsttafel' gives you a great variety of Indonesian food and with the choice of Vegetarian, Meat, Fish or 'Supreme' (combination of Meat & Fish) options we are confident that we will tantalise your tastebuds... Apart from 'Rijsttafel' you can choose from Soups, Entrees & Mains. Indonesian food is vastly different from Thai, Indian and Chinese and is clearly a cuisine in it's own right. Very suitable for vegetarians, vegans and children. Our wine list features only local wines and is for sure the most affordable in our region! We are pretty confident that we are the only restaurant in New Zealand who has their menu available in German & French. We speak English, Dutch, German and French (un petit peu...) More detailed information can be found on our website. Why don't you check it out for yourself and visit 'the restaurant with the different taste...'
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A memorable night to remember... and repeat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

My first evening out to Restaurant Indonesia was a most memorable experience. One of the two owners of this fine establishment greated us with great humour and showed us to our beautiful table. Being a vegetarian, I was thrilled to see a fabulous rijsttafel was on offer, along with many other delicious-sounding meals. The flavours and seasonings were amazing and the meal was a banquet in so many ways. The atmosphere was relaxed, with a stunning view across the road to Napier beach.
I would not hesitate to recommend this restaurant to any visitors to Napier, meat-eaters, seafood lovers and of course, vegetarians. Well done, Restaurant Indonesia!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kees P, Owner at Indonesia Restaurant, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
As always we are thrilled to get these favourable comments from our diners. And as always we're delighted to see that we managed again to leave a lasting impression. Thank you so much for your lovely written review and your recommendation of our establishment.
Joss Lamers & Kees Peters (proprietors) and Staff - 'Restaurant Indonesia' - Proudly Celebrating 30 Years
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    661
    129
    23
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Napier, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand
1 review
“Indonesian Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Friendly, relaxed with excellent well priced food. Patrons readily chat to each other and it's nice to meet people from other parts of the world. We have eaten there several times and have never been disappointed.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kees P, Owner at Indonesia Restaurant, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Great to learn that you apparently enjoy dining with us and meeting the eclectic mix of customers we attract to our restaurant. Thanks for your review.
Joss Lamers & Kees Peters (proprietors) and Staff - 'Restaurant Indonesia' - Proudly Celebrating 30 Years
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

Dinned here after reading reviews from trip advise. Food and service was excellent. Having not eaten this style of food before staff explained each dish and gave excellent advise of choice.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kees P, Owner at Indonesia Restaurant, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thanks for taking your time to write your review and we're really happy that you enjoyed your experience.
Joss Lamers & Kees Peters (proprietors) and Staff - 'Restaurant Indonesia' - Established in 1983
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
“A memorable evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

This meal / dining experience was great. Lovely Indonesian food, attractive decor, wicked maitre de and attentive (and very sweet) waiter. What more could one want? I can't wait to return and take other people to experice the superb food and atmosphere of Restaurant Indonesia.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kees P, Owner at Indonesia Restaurant, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
We're so pleased you enjoyed your evening at our little restaurant. It looks like we were hitting all the right buttons for you. We'd love to see you back.
Joss Lamers & Kees Peters (proprietors) and Staff - 'Restaurant Indonesia' - Since 1983
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Favourite local restauant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Last week was the 6th time I have eaten at Restaurant Indonesia ..... and the 3rd time I've taken out-of-town visitors. I love the food, and always have the vegetarian rijsttafel as there are so many delicious tastes to enjoy. My one complaint is that I never have any room left for dessert, so next time I'm ordering an entrée and dessert. You guys do a great job!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kees P, Owner at Indonesia Restaurant, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Like so many other we have to classify you as one of our regulars. But one who finally managed to write a review. And yes, you've not only been dining with us several times but also have introduced new customers to our restaurant to sample the Indonesian cuisine. Thanks for that. No doubt we will see you again...
Joss Lamers & Kees Peters (proprietors) and Staff 'Restaurant Indonesia' - Proudly Celebrating 30 Years
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indonesia Restaurant also viewed

Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Indonesia Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indonesia Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.