We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic affordable feast!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Indonesia Restaurant

Indonesia Restaurant
409 Marine Parade, Napier 4001, New Zealand
+64 6-835 8303
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 136 Restaurants in Napier
Price range: $5 - $28
Cuisines: Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Celebrating 31 Years (established in 1983) 'Restaurant Indonesia' invites you to experience the unique dining experience of 'Rijsttafel'. We are the only restaurant in New Zealand providing this concept. 'Rijsttafel' (literally translated in 'rice table') is best described as a multitude of dishes (mostly served warm) served to your table and kept warm on candle powered heaters. 'Rijsttafel' gives you a great variety of Indonesian food and with the choice of Vegetarian, Meat, Fish or 'Supreme' (combination of Meat & Fish) options we are confident that we will tantalise your tastebuds... Apart from 'Rijsttafel' you can choose from Soups, Entrees & Mains. Indonesian food is vastly different from Thai, Indian and Chinese and is clearly a cuisine in it's own right. Very suitable for vegetarians, vegans and children. Our wine list features only local wines and is for sure the most affordable in our region! We are pretty confident that we are the only restaurant in New Zealand who has their menu available in German & French. We speak English, Dutch, German and French (un petit peu...) More detailed information can be found on our website. Why don't you check it out for yourself and visit 'the restaurant with the different taste...'
Tauranga, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Authentic affordable feast!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We have been looking forward to eating at Restaurant Indonesia for years (as we don't live in Napier) and were not at all disappointed. :) We were pleasantly surprised that you can book (and pre-order) via their mobile site - which worked really well. The food was really authentic & tasty (when compared to Rijsttafel in the Netherlands). And where can you get a meal where every dish is absolutely delicious at such good value?! We will definitely come back in the future.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kees P, Owner at Indonesia Restaurant, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
And a big thank you to you for taking the time to write your review. And it is also very nice to read that you think we fare well in comparison what's on offer in The Netherlands in the way of 'Rijsttafel'. We'de love to see you back at our establishment.
Joss Lamers & Kees Peters (proprietors) and Staff - 'Restaurant Indonesia' - Since 1983
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    661
    129
    23
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Napier
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“A really great meal with lots of different tastes & flavours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Our meal was outstanding & we had the Supreme Ristafilla which was a delight to experience. This is the fourth time we have dined here & it was up to the usual high standard that we had experienced on our previous visits with wonderful service & very friendly staff. We would definitely recommend & go back. We enjoyed all of the dishes served.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kees P, Owner at Indonesia Restaurant, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Every restaurant likes their regular customers because it confirms that they must be doing something right...
We're delighted that time after time we apparently manage to please you.
No doubt we will see you again.
Joss Lamers & Kees Peters (proprietors) and Staff - 'Restaurant Indonesia' - (30th Birthday Celebrations)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Beaut dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Most enjoyable meal & dessert. Many flavors & the service was great. Excellent idea of the 'rice table', meat selection was a treat, enjoyed all the dishes served.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kees P, Owner at Indonesia Restaurant, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Thanks for your review and we're happy you enjoyed your evening with us. We hope to see you again...!
Joss Lamers & Kees Peters (proprietors) and Staff - 'Restaurant Indonesia' (Since 1983)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
1 review
“Great Family Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Such a great restaurant, with fantastic food, children aged 9 & 17 were easily pleased by the cuisine. Great atmosphere, wonderfully friendly staff, would definitely recommend and go back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kees P, Owner at Indonesia Restaurant, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Thanks for pointing out that our establishment has been appreciated by your children.... We're happy you enjoyed dining with us and would love to see you again!
Joss Lamers & Kees Peters (Proprietors) and Staff - 'Restaurant Indonesia' - Celebrating 30 Years
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“good food - great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

my partner is indonesian - so we often eat indo food at home & out as well as when visiting indo.
we tried the meat rijsttafel & found we had good variety & plenty to eat.
it was like a tasting plate of different indo food - all of which we are familiar with & I feel this is a really good way to sample a variety of indo food in one sitting.
The food is not made too spicy & if like us you like it hot - there are 4 differently spiced condiments provided. Other condiments include a yummy coconut sprinkle for the rice & a pickles.
Of course I have tasted better indo food before - but what made this meal special was the super friendly welcolme & service from the owner & staff.
I also felt the meal was good value & the local wine I tried was perfect - so worth a visit if in Napier.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kees P, Owner at Indonesia Restaurant, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thanks for your lengthy and detailed review and this coming from someone who seems to know a little more about Indonesian cuisine it makes great reading. The 'Rijsttafel' is of course a great way to sample a whole array of different dishes. And as with the spice condiments we leave it to our guests to determine what heat level they'd like to make their own meal.
Teramah Kasih...
Joss Lamers & Kees Peters (proprietors) and Staff - Restaurant Indonesia - Since 1983
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indonesia Restaurant also viewed

Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Indonesia Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indonesia Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.