We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Delight Plus Chinese Restaurant

Delight Plus Chinese Restaurant
249 Dickens St, Napier 4001, New Zealand
(06) 835 6505
Improve this listing
Ranked #86 of 126 Restaurants in Napier
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Whangarei
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Awesome food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Dont let the inauspicious exterior and simple interior put you off, Service is great - very friendly.
But the food - OMG the food. Deeeeeevine authentic chinese - try something different - you wont be disappointed

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    6
    5
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Randwick, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Very good food; look beyond the sweet and sour pork.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

I visited Delight Plus on a busy Friday night. My family live locally. Finding a Chinese restaurant in either Napier or Hastings with this calibre of authentic Cantonese (mainly) food is hard.

Don't fall into the trap of only ordering dishes such as lemon chicken, beef in black bean sauce, sweet and sour pork and combination fried rice (as the two tables nearby did). There is more to Chinese food than that. The standard of food here is very good, considering where it's located. We had called the day before and ordered two dishes, taro and pork casserole and crispy roast pork, which were of an excellent standard. We also had sauteed Chinese broccoli with prawns and a seafood and beancurd hotpot, both of which were delicious.

Having lived in Sydney and Hong Kong, and recently returned from a trip to the South Island, in my opinion the menu at Delight Plus is much better than your average menu in a run-of-the mill Chinese restaurant in regional NZ. The fact that three local Chinese families were dining at Delight Plus at the same time as us was a good sign. I agree with others that there are (authentic) dishes on this menu that you won't find elsewhere in Hawke's Bay.

The owner was busy cooking at the wok and his wife was assisting in the kitchen. Unfortunately the service from the wait staff is lacking, as other reviewers have mentioned. I wonder why it's so hard to get the right staff. I agree that the casual way in which they dressed did not add much to the experience. There were times when I wanted to give them a hurry up - it was frustrating to watch a young waitress clearing a table in a painfully slow manner, carrying only a couple of dirty dishes at a time.

Be adventurous with your food choices here and don't let the service ruin the great food experience.

P.S. Be prepared to go and refill you own teapot rather than waiting for the staff to do it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice Chinese”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Delight plus has good Chinese food and has a pleasant atmosphere. Traditional style Hong Kong barbecue gives it a point of difference to the standard Chinese take out. If you are in Napier and looking for a good value Chinese, this is the place to go

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carterton, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not up to standard”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Since our last visit to Napier, the quality of the food has taken a fall. We ordered Lemon Chicken and Beef and Black Bean. Whilst there was a large amount of chicken, the batter was quite soggy and the whole thing was tasteless. The 'black bean' was also tasteless. There were a few black beans visible in the 'stew' but that is as far as it went. It has now gone into the category of just another Chinese restaurant.
The only excuse I can make for them is there were quite a few groups dining at that time, but that resulted in my other complaint, it took over 50 minutes to get our order.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Unpretentious surroundings, awesome food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

A place I've visited dozens of times over the past few years. A bit scruffy both inside and outside, it really could do with a facelift, but without doubt far and away the best Chinese food for miles around! Huge variation on the menu with many authentic and unusual choices not to be found anywhere else in Hawkes Bay. Patronised by many local Chinese people and they should know good Chinese food! Moderate prices but generous portions, you won't leave feeling hungry! Thoroughly recommended, dine in or takeaway.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Delight Plus Chinese Restaurant also viewed

Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Delight Plus Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Delight Plus Chinese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.