We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mini Break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Crown Hotel Napier

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Crown Hotel Napier to your Saves list
The Crown Hotel Napier
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr Bridge St & Hardinge Rd | Ahuriri, Napier 4144, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Hamilton, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Mini Break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Great Location.
Very helpful staff, nothing was a problem.
Excellent restaurants within walking distance, recommend hiring a bike there are brilliant places to bike ride.
Michelle was very helpful and sorted out our stay at Christmas. we are looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicheleCole, General Manager at The Crown Hotel Napier, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Steph

Thank you for your comments regarding our staff and team and pleased to hear that you will be back to stay with us at Christmas! Ahuriri is such a great location to explore and enjoy.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Michele Cole
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    130
    12
    3
    3
See reviews for
45
240
17
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

We regularly stay here when visiting Napier and have yet to find fault. A great location, always clean, good service - you can't ask for much more.
Recommended.
I have to add extra characters, so: If you like wine and stunning New Zealand scenery, then HawkesBay/Napier should be on your itinerary

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicheleCole, General Manager at The Crown Hotel Napier, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear TMBear

Thank you for taking the time to post your lovely feedback and glad that you enjoy your stay with us every time.

We look forward to welcoming back to The Crown Hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards

Michele Cole
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

My wife and I were doing a tour of the North Island and, unfortunately, could only stay at the Crown Napier for one night. If we had known how good it was at this hotel we would have definitely arranged our itinerary to have at least three nights there. Great view from the 3rd floor front and the room was exceptionally clean and well furnished.. Ate at the restaurant below, "Milk and Honey" which we would also recommend. Definitely would give this hotel top marks for everything.

Room Tip: Try a front room - the views are great and the traffic noise is minimal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicheleCole, General Manager at The Crown Hotel Napier, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Dan

One night is never enough when visiting Hawkes Bay! So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hopefully we may see you back here at some stage in the future.

Warm Regards

Michele Cole
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Just out of Napier this hotel is on the water front. Rooms were clean and spacious with a hugh bathroom. Just what we needed for our relaxing 4 night stay in Napier. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful. Hugh comfortable King bed that let you get the best night sleep ever.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicheleCole, General Manager at The Crown Hotel Napier, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Msellie

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and great to hear you had a wonderful sleep experience. Thank you for the comments regarding our team at the hotel, as it is always nice to pass on guests comments to them.

Kind Regards

Michele Cole
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greytown, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

One of the nicest NZ hotels we've stayed in. Had a 2 bedroom room as traveling with our 7 year old. Found this a great option. Balcony with lovely views. Found no fault with any aspect of the room. Mini bar available, we didn't use it but I was surprised how reasonably priced it was. Usually mini bars are a complete rip off.
There are plenty of cafes and restaurants nearby. We had breakfast every morning at Milk and Honey restaurant on the ground floor of the hotel. Really good food and lovely staff there.
And finally Ahuriri is such a lovely place to base yourself. Like a little seaside village but only a few minutes from Marine Parade and the city.
We are already planning to go back in the spring.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicheleCole, General Manager at The Crown Hotel Napier, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Cassandra

Thank you for taking the time to post your lovely feedback during your recent stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back in Spring!

Warm Regards

Michele Cole
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dargaville, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Nice and easy to get around, lots of nice restaurants close by. Friendly staff. Warm rooms. Big bathroom. Secure building, would like to get an ocean view room next time. Short drive to city centre :)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicheleCole, General Manager at The Crown Hotel Napier, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Deb and Tom

Thank you for your lovely feedback and glad that you a 'nice and easy' stay in Napier.

Warm Regards

Michele Cole
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Very nice double room, with an absolutely sensational view of the bay, very clean, lovely bathroom, the restaurant Milk and Honey had very friendly stall and lovely food, would recommend this hotel, just one draw back a bit too far from town centre.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicheleCole, General Manager at The Crown Hotel Napier, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear 5star199

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. It was a pleasure to have you stay at the hotel during your recent visit.

Kind Regards

Michele Cole
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Crown Hotel Napier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Hotel Napier

Address: Cnr Bridge St & Hardinge Rd | Ahuriri, Napier 4144, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Napier
#7 Romantic Hotel in Napier
#9 Business Hotel in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Crown Hotel Napier 4.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the picturesque seaside village of Ahuriri. The Crown Hotel Napier is only 5 minutes to Napier and a short drive to the award winning vineyards of the Hawkes Bay. The hotel offers 39 contemporary guestrooms and suites with an additional 3 new luxury executive apartments. Choose from the elegant heritage suites in the original 1932 Crown Hotel building or the contemporary designed rooms overlooking the ocean. The Crown Hotel offers the ultimate combination of classic opulence and history to modern luxury and design. Offering full conference facilities, complimentary carparking, access to fitness centre, 2 bars and an award winning restaurant Milk & Honey…relax and indulge at a boutique hotel with timeless charm and genuine personalised service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Crown Hotel Napier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Hotel Napier

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crown Hotel Napier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.