We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return visit, even better” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Crown Hotel Napier

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Crown Hotel Napier to your Saves list
The Crown Hotel Napier
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr Bridge St & Hardinge Rd | Ahuriri, Napier 4144, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Return visit, even better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We visited this hotel for 5 nights on this trip. This was a return visit and was even better than the last. Our room was fresh, bright, clean and spacious. We had a spacious living room facing the water with a small balcony to sit out on to enjoy the views and sunshine. This room would be our first choice again. There was a small kitchen area with microwave, fridge and good supply of basic cutlery, crockery and glassware. The bathroom was spacious and well appointed. It was great to be able to open the living room doors to the balcony and enjoy the sunshine. There is an excellent café/restaurant immediately next door and a house bar available on site. This is a wonderful area to stay, as there are many cafes and restaurants within close walking distance as well as local shops and galleries. Plenty of car parking available on site and the city centre is only about 5-10 minutes drive along the water front.

Room Tip: The front rooms overlooking the waterfront are very attractive. There are also a few executive apar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicheleCole, General Manager at The Crown Hotel Napier, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Tabqc

It was a pleasure to welcome you back to The Crown Hotel and thank you for taking the time to post your lovely comments.

Ahuriri is indeed a great spot to enjoy the local shops, restaurants and Art deco buildings along with the lovely walks along the waterfront.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards

Michele Cole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    130
    12
    3
    3
See reviews for
44
240
16
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We travel frequently for business and always make sure when traveling to Hawke's Bay to make the Crown Hotel our base. Rooms are clean and modern, furnishings are high quality and all amenities are well thought out. Most rooms have an ocean view and the location is just across the street from a beautiful path - one you can walk or ride a bike into Napier and beyond. The staff are helpful and will go the extra mile to make your stay perfect. Most conveniently, Milk and Honey, a great restaurant, is located on site, serving a wonderful breakfast and food all day.

Room Tip: Upper floor studio rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicheleCole, General Manager at The Crown Hotel Napier, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Hi Pinot Seller

Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely comments regarding your stays at The Crown Hotel when you come back to Hawkes Bay.

Our 'staff' philosophy throughout the hotel is to provide genuine personal service and exceed our guests expectations, so it is pleasing to hear that we are delivering.

Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Michele
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Complimentary parking, hotel is located Ian great area,the rooms (especially ours) was huge. The bath had spa jets ! Great service at reception. Had a great stay. The bed was huge and so comfortable !

Room Tip: Get a room with a king bed - so much more roomier :) we had a room facing the baking store with a ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicheleCole, General Manager at The Crown Hotel Napier, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Steph

Great to hear you love the beds as it does make a difference to a guests stay.

Thanks for taking the time to post your feedback.

PS Did you enjoy one of the cupcakes from across the road? They are a staff favourite!!!

Hopefully we may see you back in Hawkes Bay at some stage.

Michele Cole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisborne, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Just recently stayed for three nights with my children in the holidays. Very pleasant stay. The one bedroom worked well, and two TV's did with the kids! The heated bathroom floor tiles just rocked - the kids spent more time in the bathroom! Loved the dish-drawer too, a bonus! All staff were fantastic and very accommodating. Would love to stay again, and would love Grab-one deal again!! I just love Ahuriri and all that it offers. What more can I say.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicheleCole, General Manager at The Crown Hotel Napier, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Jane

Great to hear that you tried the hotel through the Grab One deal and so pleased that you had a wonderful time in Hawkes Bay with the children during the school holidays. There is so much to do in Ahuriri.

Thanks for posting your comments and we may see you in the next school holidays?

Michele Cole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We had a great stay at the Crown , we had grabone voucher and found our 1 bed appartment very nice , big bed , 2 tv tvs very clean and the staff very nice.
We recomend happy hour in the courtyard sitting by the outdoor fire.
The location is greata short walk to the beach and the restaraunt area in the port .

Room Tip: choose an upstairs room overlooking the beach. as it can be a bit noisey on the ground floor with le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicheleCole, General Manager at The Crown Hotel Napier, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Angela

Thanks for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor and glad you picked up one of the Grab One deals.

The outdoor fireplace is fairly new so pleased that you enjoyed a drink in the courtyard.

We may see you back in Napier in the not too distant future?

Michele Cole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otorohanga, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We had a lovely stay at The Crown Napier, we had a Grabone voucher also and we were in a one bedroom room which had great comfy beds, was very clean and the staff were very friendily and nice to deal with. We were out mostly catching up with friends so we were only there late evening, there was quite a bit of noise from people/party walking past on the street below but was ok when they were moved on by the cops. Overall we would happily stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicheleCole, General Manager at The Crown Hotel Napier, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Sally Jennings

So pleased to hear you had a lovely stay and enjoyed the comfort of the beds. We hope to see you back in Hawkes Bay at some stage in the future.

Sorry about the noisy passersby during the night!

Thanks for taking the time to post your comments.

Michele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

This is our hotel of choice in Napier. We like the location in Ahuriri - close to bars and restaurants, nice waterfront walks nearby. It is about 30 minutes to walk into Napier itself, the start and the end of the walk are nice, but the middle is through the port, so it is a little industrial. The hotel has clean, modern rooms, many have harbour views, and most have large balconies. There is also a very good (and popular) cafe attached, and a small cinema next door.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicheleCole, General Manager at The Crown Hotel Napier, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear Kiwitraveller

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor. Ahuriri has definitely come along way from many years ago and offers everything you need on your doorstep and all within walking distance. Good to hear that you walked into town...if you come and stay again we also have the pushbikes that you can enjoy for a nice bike ride along the foreshore.

Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards
Michele Cole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Crown Hotel Napier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Hotel Napier

Address: Cnr Bridge St & Hardinge Rd | Ahuriri, Napier 4144, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Napier
#7 Romantic Hotel in Napier
#9 Business Hotel in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Crown Hotel Napier 4.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the picturesque seaside village of Ahuriri. The Crown Hotel Napier is only 5 minutes to Napier and a short drive to the award winning vineyards of the Hawkes Bay. The hotel offers 39 contemporary guestrooms and suites with an additional 3 new luxury executive apartments. Choose from the elegant heritage suites in the original 1932 Crown Hotel building or the contemporary designed rooms overlooking the ocean. The Crown Hotel offers the ultimate combination of classic opulence and history to modern luxury and design. Offering full conference facilities, complimentary carparking, access to fitness centre, 2 bars and an award winning restaurant Milk & Honey…relax and indulge at a boutique hotel with timeless charm and genuine personalised service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Crown Hotel Napier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Hotel Napier

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crown Hotel Napier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.