We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Zealand Holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Albatross Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Albatross Motel to your Saves list
Albatross Motel
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   56 Meeanee Quay | Westshore, Napier 4110, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10 Flybuys bonus points with your stay
Ranked #14 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“New Zealand Holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Nice motel, very clean. Owners were very helpful with ideas of things to do and see and where to buy dinner that night. We were only there overnight, next time I would like to stay longer.

Thought it might be a bit noisy being on main road into Napier, but I didn't notice excessive noise.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbatrossNapier, Owner at Albatross Motel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
We really appreciate your review, thank you and pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    145
    37
    7
    7
See reviews for
102
160
16
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

The owners of this motel are very friendly and super helpful, I took my 5 month pup with me fantastic location as there are good walking tracks just meters from the hotel.

The room was very clean and modern, lovely place to stay.

Next time in Napier I will be staying here.

Room Tip: Go with a deluxe room, you won't regret it
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbatrossNapier, Owner at Albatross Motel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you very much for giving us 5 in your review. It is much appreciated. Glad you and your pet enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you again to our motel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Clean and friendly place to stay, very close to main area of Napier. Daily room service and some refreshments provided, which is nice. The fact that it is pet friendly makes it even better since we wanted to take our small dog for a road trip also :)

Overall, a great experience for all.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbatrossNapier, Owner at Albatross Motel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you very much for reviewing us. Glad you and your dog enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We got a friendly welcome,and were shown to our room with a free bottle of fresh milk and everything explained which is nice when staying at a motel. The room had everything we needed for our one-night stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbatrossNapier, Owner at Albatross Motel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review, thank you very much and glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We spent one night as the Albatross Motel and found the accommodation neat and clean. Rather more cramped accommodation than we've previously found in New Zealand but good value for money nevertheless. Friendly staff. The shower somewhat defeated us with its convoluted instructions - perhaps we need a degree in 'shower' so we gave it a miss and made sure we had an extra long shower at our next motel! A little further to walk to eateries than we imagined but we found a terrific Indian restaurant about 5 minutes drive away.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbatrossNapier, Owner at Albatross Motel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. Our deluxe units are our most spacious but still great value. the califont shower system can confuse some,[ easy when you know how] but they have great pressure and will never run out of hot water, so anyone can have a really long shower
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

I had made an error while booking, and yet despite this causing a problem when we arrived.....This was sorted out with great efficiency and minimum fuss. When we add in all the other nice features of our stay, especially the clean and quiet room we feel happy to say we will stay here each time we visit Napier. There were plenty of TV channels to choose from and we like the front and back door set-up of these rooms which allows them to be aired fully when needed. The short estuary walk across the road is nice in the morning or evening.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbatrossNapier, Owner at Albatross Motel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you very much for your review and so pleased that you have stayed before and intend to stay again. We very much look forward to welcoming you to the Albatross again some time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Very pleasant weekend, despite the motel being fully booked. Great Value for Money, Studio exactly as advertised. Was very impressed with the general friendliness, in particular the cleaning staff were very helpful and showed great hospitality when we asked for their assistance to clean up after an crockery accident.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbatrossNapier, Owner at Albatross Motel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our fantastic team made you feel welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Albatross Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albatross Motel

Address: 56 Meeanee Quay | Westshore, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Napier
#4 Business Hotel in Napier
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Napier
#6 Family Hotel in Napier
#13 Luxury Hotel in Napier
#15 Romantic Hotel in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Albatross Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean, comfortable and affordable accommodation proud to have scored 9.5/10 on Target TV, Free Wifi, Guest Select 50+ TV Channels to choose from, 200m to the beach and overlooking the estuary. Range of room types to suit a variety of requirements and budgets. Refurbished rooms, Swimming pool and spa.You are guaranteed a warm welcome and friendly service at The Albatross. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Albatross Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albatross Hotel Napier
Albatross Motel Napier

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albatross Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.