We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our 2nd time at the Albatross” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Albatross Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Albatross Motel to your Saves list
Albatross Motel
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   56 Meeanee Quay | Westshore, Napier 4110, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10 Flybuys bonus points with your stay
Ranked #14 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Taupo, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Our 2nd time at the Albatross”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

I had made an error while booking, and yet despite this causing a problem when we arrived.....This was sorted out with great efficiency and minimum fuss. When we add in all the other nice features of our stay, especially the clean and quiet room we feel happy to say we will stay here each time we visit Napier. There were plenty of TV channels to choose from and we like the front and back door set-up of these rooms which allows them to be aired fully when needed. The short estuary walk across the road is nice in the morning or evening.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbatrossNapier, Owner at Albatross Motel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you very much for your review and so pleased that you have stayed before and intend to stay again. We very much look forward to welcoming you to the Albatross again some time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    145
    37
    7
    7
See reviews for
102
160
15
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Very pleasant weekend, despite the motel being fully booked. Great Value for Money, Studio exactly as advertised. Was very impressed with the general friendliness, in particular the cleaning staff were very helpful and showed great hospitality when we asked for their assistance to clean up after an crockery accident.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbatrossNapier, Owner at Albatross Motel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our fantastic team made you feel welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

My husband and I booked this hotel at the last minute so wasn't expecting too much but we were pleasantly surprised. We got a lovely friendly welcome, shown to our room with a free bottle of fresh milk and everything explained which is rare when staying at a motel. The room had everything we needed for our two night stay, small kitchenette, shower room and comfortable bed, we watched movies on the TV too. Convenient for Napier but in a quiet spot. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbatrossNapier, Owner at Albatross Motel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you very much for your great review. It makes us very happy when guests appreciate our efforts to make them feel welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We visited the Albatross after seeing other reviews. We were warmly welcomed by Graham who managed to give us a well appointed appartment which catered for our needs. As a standard room wasn't available we were upgraded at no extra cost. The location is opposite an estuary within easy reach of Napier which is about 5km away. The rooms are decorated in a contemporary style with plenty of space and a very good wet room. Housekeeping also do a very good job and ensure you aren't inconvenienced, as well as keeping you well stocked on all the essentials.
Graham and the team there are a credit to the Albatross and I would recommend this place to anyone who is looking for value for money.

Room Tip: Try to get one of the single storey rooms to the right of the office, these are a little more expens...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbatrossNapier, Owner at Albatross Motel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our motel. It is much appreciated and it is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Airport
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

a convenient stay for an overnight visit to Napier, clean room, comfy beds, friendly staff, good kitchen arrangement, nice weather, not the greatest outlook, but we were only there to sleep. In all, a positive experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbatrossNapier, Owner at Albatross Motel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. The best views are from the upper floor studios, where they look out over the estuary with it's ever changing tide and great sunsets.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

As AA members we saw this motel in their accommodation directory and decided to check it out.
It also,is a "FLYBUYS" member. Our greeting/welcome by the motel owner was very friendly and helpful. Our accommodation was most comfortable and convenient to the places we wanted to go !
We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floor have views and a very pleasant balcony with comfortable tables and chairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbatrossNapier, Owner at Albatross Motel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
We appreciate your review, thank you. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Our every need was attended to, the staff was friendly and provided all the little extras we needed. We slept well, took lovely walks right from our room and could walk to a fish shop for dinner. The bikes for hire at Albatross gave us the extra exercise and touring we always look for while traveling. It was clean, quiet, and very comfy.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbatrossNapier, Owner at Albatross Motel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you very much for your positive review. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and that you were well looked after by Graeme and Sarah.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Albatross Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albatross Motel

Address: 56 Meeanee Quay | Westshore, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Napier
#4 Business Hotel in Napier
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Napier
#6 Family Hotel in Napier
#13 Luxury Hotel in Napier
#15 Romantic Hotel in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Albatross Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean, comfortable and affordable accommodation proud to have scored 9.5/10 on Target TV, Free Wifi, Guest Select 50+ TV Channels to choose from, 200m to the beach and overlooking the estuary. Range of room types to suit a variety of requirements and budgets. Refurbished rooms, Swimming pool and spa.You are guaranteed a warm welcome and friendly service at The Albatross. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Albatross Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albatross Hotel Napier
Albatross Motel Napier

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albatross Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.